Homebrew Send a game from 3DS console to another 3DS Console , is it Possible?

Is there a way? (read thread first plz)

  • Yes there is.. It's Easy

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I'm sorry .., No

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    5

Kaan3DS

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
51
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
Belgium
Today I saw my little brother downloaded a game on his 2DS XL via Freeshop , I played it for hours , but eventually it's his 2DS XL , and I want to play it on my 3DS XL as well but I don't want to hack it because I'm planning to sell it , I might hack it tho , but is there anyway my brother can send the game with the data to my 3ds? It doesn't matter Cfw or not , Thanks for taking your time and reading :D (or commenting)
 

swabbo

Wot u doin readin dis m8?
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
814
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
East Yorkshire/ A Bin
XP
2,300
Country
Today I saw my little brother downloaded a game on his 2DS XL via Freeshop , I played it for hours , but eventually it's his 2DS XL , and I want to play it on my 3DS XL as well but I don't want to hack it because I'm planning to sell it , I might hack it tho , but is there anyway my brother can send the game with the data to my 3ds? It doesn't matter Cfw or not , Thanks for taking your time and reading :D (or commenting)

His 2DS has custom firmware, which means his console can play games with patched signature checks, your console can't, so no, even if you could transfer the game over to your 3DS, you wouldn't be able to play the game, doesn't take much to hack a 3DS nowadays, just do it and remove it when it comes to selling it
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kaan3DS

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
Is there no other way than system transfer to get one specific game with it's data?
Installed games are encrypted per console. Only a system transfer will change the encryption on the target so it can read the SD card of the source.

Otherwise why do you think people would bother buying games on the eShop? They'd be able to just download the installed files and put them on their SD card and play the game without paying.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kaan3DS

Kaan3DS

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
51
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
Belgium
Is there no other way than system transfer to get one specific game with it's data?
With cfw
Installed games are encrypted per console. Only a system transfer will change the encryption on the target so it can read the SD card of the source.

Otherwise why do you think people would bother buying games on the eShop? They'd be able to just download the installed files and put them on their SD card and play the game without paying.
And it's not possible to send a game with it's data if we both have cfw??
Like a homebrew app or something??
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
With cfw

And it's not possible to send a game with it's data if we both have cfw??
Like a homebrew app or something??
No. And even after the system transfer you need CFW so you can install the ticket and have the game show up on the home menu (easier to just install it with freeShop yourself rather than system transfer).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kaan3DS
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
98
Country
Netherlands Antilles
No. And even after the system transfer you need CFW so you can install the ticket and have the game show up on the home menu (easier to just install it with freeShop yourself rather than system transfer).

What if both consoles are on cfw, source dumps game as decrypted cia using gm9, put that over to target and install using fbi?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
What if both consoles are on cfw, source dumps game as decrypted cia using gm9, put that over to target and install using fbi?
That's the same as installing a cia. It doesn't move the installed files (but a perfectly legitimate option if you don't have internet available, and might be faster than using freeShop anyway).
 

Kaan3DS

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
51
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
Belgium
That's the same as installing a cia. It doesn't move the installed files (but a perfectly legitimate option if you don't have internet available, and might be faster than using freeShop anyway).
I found a way to do it , it is possible . ;
 

Kaan3DS

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
51
Trophies
0
XP
202
Country
Belgium
Not possible without extracting the CIA with CFW or transferring everything with a System Transfer.
Can I ask you something else ? , how do you get the Mewtwo of Gbatemp under your name? Some have different things and stuff , how do I do it as well??
 

PrincessLillie

(Future) VTuber
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2013
Messages
2,884
Trophies
1
Age
19
Location
Virtual Earth
Website
lillie2523.carrd.co
XP
4,188
Country
United States
Can I ask you something else ? , how do you get the Mewtwo of Gbatemp under your name? Some have different things and stuff , how do I do it as well??
You can only get it after you hit a certain number of posts. I think it's when you become an advanced member. When you do, go to "Personal Details", and under Custom Title, enter whatever you want! For example, on mine I put in "GBAtemp's Mewtwo™".
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7oQCRliu-w +1