Sega Saturn Emulator for the Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by djbubba2002, Jun 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jun 12, 2008
  1. djbubba2002
    OP

    Member djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    Haiti
    [​IMG]

    http://www.mediafire.com/?dywxodoyzrj
    a valid Sega Saturn bios file must be placed on the root of your SD card and it must be named bios.bin
    is not in the file
    what is in the file is
    boot.elf
    icon
    meta

    I got it from a site ..
    enjoy
    If you use homebrew channel

    apps\yabause\bios.bin
    apps\yabause\boot.elf


    Place in the same folder your game (must have a cue and a iso)
    rename the cue file to game.cue (your iso and mp3's can keep their original name)


    1. You need a USB keyboard for input
    2. a valid Sega Saturn bios file must be placed on the root of your SD card and it must be named bios.bin
    3. The ISO files of the games must be placed on the root of your SD card
    4. Again , ALL I DID WAS COMPILE THE SOURCE CODE , ALL CREDIT GOES TO THE YABAUSE TEAM
     


  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you actually tried this out?
     
  3. harrybuttox

    Member harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    hows the compatibility?
     
  4. Gnimm

    Newcomer Gnimm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Can you even play many Saturn games on the PC? I seriously doubt it's worth more than a fun experiment.
     
  5. isoptera4

    Newcomer isoptera4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    With sff you can play them just about perfectly and with great compatibility.
     
  6. harrybuttox

    Member harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to use it now with nights...I get to the menu and whenever I press 2 nothing happens..when I press "start emulation" I get to a black screen and when I press the power button I get a code dump.
     
  7. elm

    Member elm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    If this does work, what games are worth playing on the Saturn. I did buy a Dreamcast and liked a few games on that system, so I'm not too familar with Saturn Games, any good ones that haven't already made it to other consoles... (like Sonic,Nights)


    [​IMG]
     
  8. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    Sega Rally
    Panzer Dragoon Saga
    Guardian Heroes
    Nights into Dreams
    Burning Rangers
    Grandia
     
  9. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shining Force 3
    Virtua Cop
    Virtua Fighter 2
    Magic Knight Rayearth (the SNES version is different)
     
  10. Nekobibu

    Newcomer Nekobibu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    France
    I cannot believe nobody mentionned Radiant Silvergun. [​IMG]
     
  11. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Parodius
    [​IMG]
    saturn bomberman
    [​IMG]

    now i need to searh for all my saturn disc as i have know clue where they have got to
     
  12. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is this a joke? can anyone confirm that this works?
     
  13. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
  14. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    awesome, i will wait for a more stable build though, this looks very promising, i won't even need to buy a sega saturn anymore now [​IMG]
     
  15. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its really hard to find iso for alot of the games online thats the only problem.
    luckly ive got a real copys of my favs and a saturn [​IMG]

    im hoping that i will just be able to whack the disc in my wii to play the games [​IMG] but very unlikey to happen
     
  16. Eternal Myst

    Member Eternal Myst Back from the Myst.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    I have a bomb alallalallala
    Country:
    United States
    Good to hear it's in the works.I have always wanted to play Nights again.
    Does this guy take donations?

    Also I don't think that there are any playable games currently it's in the works.
     
  17. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    So....to play a game, using the HBC, I need to:
    - put the bios in the apps/yabause/ dir
    - put the game in the same dir???
    or
    - put the game in the root of the SD??
    but in a dir or just like this, cue+iso+mp3 ??

    the cue must be named game.cue, but if I have more than one game? I can only have one game each time?
     
  18. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it's the first one. You might want to wait, this seems like barely an alpha
     
  19. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    yeah yeah....I've managed to get this emu working: tried with a Euro bios, put the cue+iso+mp3 in the same folder of the HBC apps dir, and I've discovered it doesn't need the USB keyboard...I've used the wiimote...

    The bios starts, the game seems to start, but it don't go further the SEGA screen...
    Maybe it's the game...maybe it's the emu...
     
  20. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    The games i can't wait to play:

    Nights
    the Panzer Dragoon games

    and

    X-Men vs Street Fighter
    (and to a lesser extent Marvel Super Heroes, Marvel Vs Street Fighter and X-men: Children of the Atom)

    Ahhh the memories.
    Methinks the Dreamcast will be hooked up this weekend for some MvsC2 action. I miss that game [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page