1. fixingmytoys

    fixingmytoys GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Australia
    Can I see a photo of the whole thing including the switch, from what I gather is going five volts to the switch then to USB right ?
     
  2. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Wrong, 5v is going directly to the usb port. Sense and ground is going to the switch while sense is standing in the middle.
     
    fixingmytoys likes this.
  3. fixingmytoys

    fixingmytoys GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    Australia
    It the way it was written just confused me, so the switch is just to join the sense to ground to put it in to otg USB
     
    Hekel likes this.
  4. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Correctly. I added a additional led which lights up when you leave otg mode, for that you can use the last pin of the switch.
     
  5. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Hmm strange i can reflash everything with no issue in the log file and still the system doesnt boot :-(..

    Any help?
     
  6. WD_Gaster

    WD_Gaster Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    put your usb switch out of OTG mode. then disconect everything and reboot.
    sounds to me like you are shorting the board and forcing your own unit into bootloader mode.
     
  7. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Its not the unit with the switch, its the first one. There its only made a usb mod nothing else. I can try to remove 5v from the port but i dont think this is the problem.
     
  8. WD_Gaster

    WD_Gaster Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    if its not even looping at the android screen that means the boot.img can be shot. may i ask what was the last thing you were doing before it did this?
     
  9. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I just reflashed to asper cfw. Everything worked well and the message OK was written in the tool. Then i rebootet my console since then im stuck.
     
  10. WD_Gaster

    WD_Gaster Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    a different hardware revision perhaps? can you upload a picture of the board just out of curiosity?
     
  11. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Its the same i type i posted back earlyer when i performed the usb mod. Strangely i flashed it before with successes.. dunno why this happened :-( now. But i can redump all img and theyre identical with the flashed ones and i didnt changed anything on the dumps. I just cant get out of this mode
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  12. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure the param file is the one with original partitions and not the resized one or viceversa?
     
  13. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Yes i used the dump i made myself. But the console doesnt give out any signal on the hdmi port. And as i sad its only be recognized as LOADER Device :-(
     
  14. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States
    I think you wrongly flashed the uboot partition (not the boot one) or the wrong loader. Try to reflash ALL partitions with their correspondant parameter file and retry.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Loader mode starts automatically if it cannot find anything to load at start. Look at the boot process i wrote in the wiki.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018
    fixingmytoys likes this.
  15. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States
    I give up with WiFi (for now). Waiting for something to arrive from china... it will take 1-2 month to arrive (if it will ever arrive...).

    The problem seems to be in the kernel and only 2 cores seems to be correctly compiled (and already loaded) by the system.
    The solution can be a kernel recompilation but it is too much work; if someone good wants to try feel free to share their recompiled .ko modules !
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018
  16. Ckunak

    Ckunak Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    what wifi chipsets did you order?
     
  17. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States
    I ordered an rk3036 board.
     
  18. Ulmez

    Ulmez Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Spain
    Hey @Hekel, what can you tell us about Retroshield's arrival to our little nifty machines? Any news? We're so excited about it!
     
  19. Excalibur007

    Excalibur007 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Seconded!!! :)
     
  20. Jojse

    Jojse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Third!!! :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Megadrive, (Genesis), Flashback