1. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Yes this is possible this was already made by @asper in the cfw. I use the same method. First it loads the original dashboard. Then it dumps the cartridge and open my dashboard. Its just not very eye candy :-D
     
  2. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    United States
    Well, we just don't do anything because at start the original launcher automatically dump a cartridge when one is insterted so we just copied the .bin file without need to use any "hacking" ability at all. I suppose there is a method to use the original launcher libraries to ask for a dump and it is a thing I am investigating right now.
     
    Last edited by asper, Jan 27, 2018
    Hekel likes this.
  3. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    This would be amazing, would be great if its possible to inject this function before the apks starts.
     
  4. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    United States
    I think I found where the check is performed; can you please send me scrrenshots of the 1st 0x200 bytes of your unlicensed rom dumps ? PLEASE provide dumps screenshots done with your dumper and not dumps found online, thank you.
     
  5. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    This will be a problem because it does not dump the carts. Its simply recognized as no cart insert.
     
  6. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I supposed you own a retrode2; if not i will try to patch the code and send you the new file but do not expect it too soon :P
     
    Hekel likes this.
  7. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I thought youre talking about rhe flashback HD xD yea the retrode can dump the files.
     
  8. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    United States
    You told MD Flashback it is not able to dump the unlicensed cartridges... I read all the posts ;)
    If you can provide unlicensed dumps created with retrode2.
     
    Hekel likes this.
  9. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    That shouldnt be a problem. Will send you a pm.
     
    asper likes this.
  10. WD_Gaster

    WD_Gaster Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    there is also a flaw with this method. it has to do with how android handles memory. if your app is not registered as launcher, and lets say you decide to play a game for an extended period of time, say several hours, its possible that androids "garbage collector" service which is used in clearing used ram for applications that are not in use after an extended period of time (launchers are exempt) that have not ran for a while, may terminate retroshield. since android handles memory different than other OS. Now i really dont know what the odds of this happening per session are, but it leaves itself open to possibility. Android sadly loves to determine "what app should be running" in the background if its a non-essential app.
    Now for the good news, since i am guessing retroshield is a modified kodi, if it has any services running in the background this may prevent it from being terminated, but i have not looked into what services if any kodi runs on start.


    Asper's cfw was clever in the sense that retroarch uses itself as an emulator so it forces android to keep it running since it has its own emulation built in, so its active at all times. awesome stuff.
     
    Last edited by WD_Gaster, Jan 27, 2018
    DarthDub, asper and Hekel like this.
  11. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for the informations, so far i didnt had any troubles. Retroshield is basiclys a modified kodi/spmc version. Will take a look if theres any troubles. I will anyway start soon a closed beta to test all out.
     
    Last edited by Hekel, Jan 27, 2018
    YONKE and asper like this.
  12. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    United States
    Try to leave it open for 24 hours and see if any crashes and/or sudden closes happens. I doubt someone will keep the console on for 24 hours ;)
     
  13. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I already did that .. even longer and i did not had any issue so far. Everything runs like it should be.
     
    asper likes this.
  14. WD_Gaster

    WD_Gaster Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    technically that wont do, i suggest you launch a game, keep it running so ram is doing its thing and then after a long period of time, say several hours then try to return to your dash.
     
  15. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    As i sad i did that today spiderman was running for 4h, then i quit the game with my home button and i came directly back to my dashboard. No problems.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    But even if youre right and some apps haves this problem.. the worst case would be that the apk will reboot or not? Dunno if it re-initialize the sh commands
     
  16. WD_Gaster

    WD_Gaster Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    France
    no. android will return to home (in this case the default atgames launcher) android presumes that you can relaunch the app again from your launcher. however since the default atgames dash has no such options, you can see how this is a problem.

    also afaik the sh only runs post boot. once.
     
  17. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    As i sad i did not have this problem and i have retroshield installed on a second console since over s week. So for me it doesnt matter as long it works.
     
  18. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Allright, i created now a script which dumps the original games on the hardware and creates a new folder that contains all files needed to put on the sd card. With this youre directly able to use my dashboard with the original included games.
     
    fixingmytoys likes this.
  19. Hekel

    Hekel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Hey There
    This is a little Patch for the Original Dashboard to replace some Covers.

    FIXES:

    SEGA GAME GEAR:
    - Change all Covers to PAL (Looks like ATGAMES preffered the US Ones..)

    SEGA MASTER SYSTEM:
    - Updates the SNAIL MAZE Cover
    - Updates the ASSAULT CITY Cover (There is no Zapper support)

    SEGA MEGA DRIVE:
    - Updates the VECTORMAN 2 Cover (From Genesis to the Brasil Mega Drive Release)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. asper

    asper GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    United States
    You are a real sega fan my friend ;)
     
    Hekel likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Megadrive, (Genesis), Flashback