SDL MAME?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Jaems, Jun 12, 2009.

Jun 12, 2009

SDL MAME? by Jaems at 8:31 PM (2,054 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Jaems
    OP

    Member Jaems GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    United States
    Is it any good? Any known problems that would stop me from playing?
     
  2. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    None, MvC2 runs great.
     
  3. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    You have gotten MvsC2 to run on Wii Mame? Really?
     
  4. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it takes a very long time to load as far as I know. It takes so long, in fact, that I'm not willing to download it.

    Although with tantric's efforts in porting SDL to the Wii, that may change in time.
     
  5. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Not really, the problem isn't the portability of the library (in this case sdl), but the ram management.
     
  6. Goshogun1

    Member Goshogun1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming you don't plan on playing anything beyond the early 90's or any 3D stuff you should be fine. TMNT works pretty much perfectly for me. You could technically emulate quite a few arcade games. The loading is slow sometimes, but that's usually depending on the games size.
    Give it a shot. Also, the rom list is randomized each time you start it but you can switch the list to another random grouping by entering and exiting the rom select window. Anyway, good luck.

    Edit: Also, I am highly doubtful Marvel VS Capcom works very well using this emu. I hear it takes 34 mins to load. LOL And MVSC2 won't work at all with it so don't even bother.
     
  7. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States

    Even with ram management trouble, I think the SDL port would help. After all, the current one depends on a Linux distro made for the wii to run. I'm sure a native wii version would greatly enhance everything, including load times.
     
  8. Jaems
    OP

    Member Jaems GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I was planning on playing Dungeons and Dragons: Shadow over Mystara, but uh, according to what you guys have just said, and after doing a little research, looks like each load time would be hour-long waits.

    Well, w/e. Thanks anyways, fellas.
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i wish someone would make it so this would run through the hbc and not linux
     
  10. limesherbert

    Member limesherbert GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    MAME can't run MvC2, on the wii or on the PC. Becuase it can't emulate NAOMI.
     

Share This Page