SD Card not reconized..not your normal situation

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Riicky, Dec 31, 2009.

Dec 31, 2009
  1. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Well I've been using the same SD card for about a year now, and everythings been working fine up until now. I've changed nothing whatsoever on the SD card! all I did today was turn on the wii with the sd card in, bootmii popped up, and loaded the system menu (4.1U), once I tried to access the HBC, none of my apps were showing up, so I just exited and tried again to no avail. Just being curious I tried to move a save file to the SD and that said "SD Card Can Not Be Used"...So I popped the SD card in the PC,transfered everything off, and formatted with the SD Formatter that Wiibrew describes, formatted to fat, transfered everything back, and the same issue occurs! I don't know if its the SD card or the SD reader in the Wii (as bootmii is able to access it and I can browse the files on it)...any help is greatly appreciated!! thanks guys in advance

    Wii specs are:

    4.1U
    Cios38 Rev16
    Hermes Cios Rev4
    HBC 1.0.6
    Bootmii IOS/Boot2

    SD Card in question is a 2GB Samsung, also have tried a 2GB Pny to no avail.
     


  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    have you tried sending a dol with transmitmii or something say wiiexplorer and see if it can access the sd card to see if the wii sd card reader is sh*!ged
     
  3. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Since I have FTPii installed as a channel, I booted that up and on the PC, I could'nt see the SD...I could see the nand and the disc that was inserted into the wii

    I don't know if its the SD card or the SD reader in the Wii (as bootmii is able to access it and I can browse the files on it)...
     
  4. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you got priiloader installed and changed wht IOS the SM uses?
     
  5. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    have prillloader installed running off the system menu IOS60 (4.1U)

    Tried using Trasnmitmii with wiixplorer and wad manager (to possibly browse the wad folder) neither worked...but bootmii is able to access the SD Card
     
  6. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    bootmii runs on it's own sd drivers I think

    try dop-ios and check/update IOS's
     
  7. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    IOS's are all updated as of 2 nights ago lol
     
  8. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    what have you recently installed/uninstalled??
     
  9. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    nothing much, last thing I really did was DOP IOS like I previously said, after that SD card still worked, just today..bam....the last major thing I did was go from 4.2 to 4.1(to test cioscorp with region free as 4.2 didnt have region free until now...which I then uninstalled cioscorp and updated all IOS's with DOP IOS)

    EDIT: Used DOP-IOS through TransmitMii, only IOS that was outdated was IOS36 v1042 (for hackmii installer after corps) updated that and nada
     
  10. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    only thing I could say is make a fresh backup and then try an older backup where the sd card slot was working see if it makes a difference
     
  11. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I am currently using a copy of what was on the SD card prior to it not working lol

    tried a nand restore (to an almost virgin 4.0 wii minus HBC and Bootmii) and nothing

    tried a nand restore (to where it pretty much is now, but never had corps installed) and nothing
     
  12. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    got me stumped don't know what else to try

    if you've restored your nand and it didn't affect the sd card reader it would have to be hardware issue but bootmii works and reads and writes to the sd card
     
  13. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    just tried reinstalling the HBC via TransmitMii....after uninstalling then installing, when trying to flush the log, it can't mount the SD card
     
  14. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    had you tried a flashdrive in the HBC
     
  15. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    even using a USB Stick to replace the SD card in HBC, loading of the USB stick is sparatic, sometimes it loads, sometimes it doesnt

    I mean it would be no big deal to not use the SD card, but all my covers for wiiflow load off of sd because i have no fat partition on my WBFS Drive, and really don't feel like formatting my HDD to re-partition Fat/Wbfs, and re-adding 127 games
     
  16. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    tryied a diff sd card?
     
  17. wiihacker3000

    Member wiihacker3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    was just bout to say dat...
     
  18. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    tried 2 cards already and a sandisk 1gb micro sd to sd adapter...no go
     
  19. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Card reader's down the drain, I suppose. Do you have anything on your card (SNEEK, etc.) that might be interfering with it?
     
  20. Riicky
    OP

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    nope...any repair option other than ninty?
     

Share This Page