ScummVm on DS...

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by wohoo, Jul 23, 2006.

Jul 23, 2006

ScummVm on DS... by wohoo at 12:53 PM (2,385 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    yeah, i know there's lots of topics about ScummVM on the DS but i've tried to read them and get something out of it but i can't get the games to even run at all... what am i supposed to do? is there a step-by-step guide out there somewhere for dummies like me? or can anyone try to help me? [​IMG]

    i got a black DS Lite, (if that matters) M3 CF and flashme V.7

    i got the 0.61 version (newest? got it yesterday from their page...)

    here's what i need help with... i get the ScummVM thing to run on my DS but what am i supposed to do with the games to get them showing up in the ScummVM menu? i checked out the ScummVM page and i couldn't fix my problems after reading what it says there... i don't seem to get smarter ;P

    but anyway... in the zip/rar file or whatever (scummvmds0-61) there is that file "builddata-a"... is that some kind of converter or anything? i don't get it...

    btw, the game i've been trying to run is Monkey Island 1 [​IMG]

    please excuse me for being stupid, but i can't help it ;P
     
  2. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,788
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    in the readme u can see u are supposed to zip in all ur games in a big zipfile

    thx for mentioning it.. i'm going to try to fit in talkie of simon sorceror 2 on my ez4...
    then again, saving didn't work on ez4s did it?
     
  3. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    i've tried to make it to a big zip file (with the compression method "store") and then what? it's there i'm stuck.. i forgot to mention that i got the files in a big zipfile
     
  4. gaiyachu

    Newcomer gaiyachu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    from their website:

    "How to Get ScummVM DS Onto Your DS - With a GBA Flash Cart

    * Download the binary release of ScummVM DS from this page. Unzip the archive into a folder.
    * Store your game files into a zip file, making sure to choose the 'No compression' option. If you don't do this, it won't work. If you have more than one game, put them in different folders in the ZIP.
    * Check to see whether the games you have are supported by build A or B, using the table of supported games below. You cannot mix games from builds A and B in the same Zip.
    * Put the zip file into the directory with ScummVM DS, calling it 'scummdata-a.zip' or 'scummdata-b.zip', depending on which build you're using. Make sure the games will fit on your flash card. The total size off the games cannot exceed 30Mb because of the limitation of the GBA cart bus.
    * Double click on the builddata-a.bat or builddata-b.bat as appropriate file to build your ROM image
    * Using your GBA flash cartridge software, burn 'scummvm-a-widthdata.ds.gba' or 'scummvm-b-withdata.ds.gba' onto your flash cartridge.
    * Boot your GBA using PassMe, FlashMe, or WiFiMe as appropriate
    * Enjoy!"

    i've been there but i'm still to stupid to get it....

    my zipfile is 23.2 MB after fixing the soundfiles to what they say on http://scummvm.drunkencoders.com/

    Format: WAV
    Compression: IMA ADPCM
    Samplerate: 22050 Hz
    Channels: Mono
    On the fly encoding: On

    what is on the fly encoding? is it necessary? because i couldn't find any options for that while converting...

    and when i click on the "builddata-a.bat" file with my zipfile with the name "builddata-a" it's becomming an 1.2x Mbyte file (scummvm-a-withdata.ds.gba) wich is a normal scummvm ds file just like the "scummvm-a.nds"/ "scummvm-a.ds.gba" and there i am...

    edit: fixing stupid error...
     
  6. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,788
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    m3 is not a gba flashcart... scroll down even further on the page
     
  7. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    i know, i know.. but look what it says...

    "How to Get ScummVM DS Onto Your DS - With an M3 or Supercard

    Using the Supercard and M3, you will put your data anywhere on the CF card, as with the GBAMP V2.

    I don't have either of these devices so I can't really be of help with the details, but there is a guide for booting the Supercard here.

    and a guide for booting the M3 here.

    If anyone would like to write a step-by-step guide and send it to me, I'd be very grateful!

    For the supercard, you must use the .ds.gba version of ScummVM, but renamed (not converted) to .nds."

    and when i click "here" up there i get to a m3 review and it doesn't say anything about scummvm?
     
  8. Hunter

    Former Staff Hunter i'ma stuffup the board

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    614
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    all you do is put the .nds file onto your CF
    then put the folder of the game you want on the CF also
    do not zip the games

    then load scummvm and add the game in there

    if you need help adding the game try read the scummvm website
     
  9. wohoo
    OP

    Member wohoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala
    Country:
    Sweden
    hunter i love you! i got it working! WOHOO! this round is on me! [​IMG] [​IMG]

    just one thing.... i get this scratchy sound that makes the sounds unhearable and it's so f*****g annoying ;P

    does anyone know how i get rid of it?

    edit: i get the game running fine without sound but when i add the soundfiles it gets that crispy machinegun sound that is 99 times higher than the other sound so i can only hear that it is sound beneath it... anyone got a solution?
     
  10. SpikeRocks

    Newcomer SpikeRocks Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Sweden
    But i dosnt work for me [​IMG], i put all the files extracted from the .zip in afolder called Scumm, then i put the day of the tentacle game (not zipped) in a map called Tent, i start scummvm-a.nds and i select the folder tent and press choose, and ScummVM says it cant locate any games, i even tryed putting the game in a .zip and even tryed with builddata-a.bat, what am i doing wrong?
     
  11. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Which method are you trying to run? gba flashcart or m3/sc style?
     
  12. SpikeRocks

    Newcomer SpikeRocks Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Sweden
    i use M3 (movie player) SD, with Passcard 2 (but are using it as an Passcard 1), and using the latest firmware (21 i think).
     

Share This Page

Loading...