Screwed up the Homebrew and I want to reset.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jran Sakarra, May 20, 2009.

May 20, 2009
  1. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    I want to reset my Wii to get rid of all the Homebre and custom stuff on it.
    i have not used it in awhile and the SD card got lost and I want to start over.
    How can i do this?
    No my Wii is not bricked.
     
  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Format Wii System Memory is the easiest way.
    I need to know what stuff you have if you want to uninstall manually.
     
  3. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Shoot I do not even know myself.
    What do I loose by formatting my wii?
    Is there anyway to backup my pokemon ranch?
     
  4. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, I think you lose:
    -saves
    -channels (includin HBC)
    -Wii Shop content
    -settings
    -cIOS? (idk)
     
  5. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I had a few of the backup loaders on it for the disc.
    The GC backuploader.
    Afew games that I bought and the only main issue is that I want nonthing left of the homebrew on it.
    I can sav my Pokemon form my pokemon ranch
     
  6. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    YOU ONLY LOSE GAMES DOWNLOADED FROM THE SHOP CHANNEL IF YOU ELECT TO DO SO! When you format your system it will ask you if you want to clear your Wii Shop data. If you chose not to clear the Wii Shop Data, you will be able to go to the Shop channel and re-download all purchased games. YOU WILL NOT LOSE THE ABILITY TO RE-DOWNLOAD ANY GAMES YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR! Sorry for all the caps but I wish people would be more clear on this topic. I personally have formatted and not lost the ability to re-download anything I had paid for.
     
  7. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I never actually formatted that's why.
    Back ontopic...
    You can use WAD Manager to uninstall the cIOSes (above IOS200 generally) and then you can just delete the HBC, backup loader, etc. channels off your Wii.
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    NO NO NO! Formatting only screws things up, seriously. Earlier a guy lost his System Menu because he had Preloader installed, which changes the order of the titles installed to your Wii. Since the format option doesn't know about that, things can get ugly when you try it. Also, I've read countless accounts of guys formatting and being unable to reinstall the HBC afterwards.

    I swear there needs to be a sticky saying that formatting is lame and should be avoided like the plague.
     
  9. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    OKay then how would I go about doing this then.
    Oh ya I also have starfall installed
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It depends on what you have installed. Do you know what's in there? Like someone else said you can use Wad Manager or AnyTitleDeleter DB to get rid of any custom channels you have, then you can use ATD again to uninstall cIOS (IOS249). Finally, you can use ATD to nuke the HBC, though I recommend you don't delete it because from there you can just start all over.
     
  11. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I do not hav TP anymore so I would like to keep the homebrew channel so I can start over, but I lost my SD card awhile back (I hate siblings who like to see what small objects are in game systems are) AND i HAVE BEEN able to remake a but of it just to run some homebrew apps.
    Do I need to knwo the wads I had on there before?
     
  12. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Well yeah. Are there any custom channels aside from the HBC? Do you remember downloading and installing any VC/WiiWare titles with Wad Manager? Those are the ones you'd want to get rid of.
     
  13. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Ya there are some custom channels I need to get rid of.
    1What all do I need to kill besides the HBC which I want to keep.
    i am gonna restart and install everythign over once I am done.
     
  14. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Use WAD manager to uninstall any cIOSes and custom channels.
    As for Starfall, I have no idea (though maybe you could reinstall the System Menu IOS?)
     
  15. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    For starfall, you can run the app and uninstall its hacks from there.
     
  16. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Good time to also point out I have no Wifi to use anyregionchanger.
     
  17. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think you need to use AnyRegionChanger for this though.
     
  18. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Should I install the SystemMenu-v289.wad?
     

Share This Page