Gaming Screwed up fixing DS lite, could use advice

mindlikeachild

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I should note that I have very little experience with electronics, and while I'm not a complete idiot (i think, anyway) there's some stuff I just don't know about.

Anyway, I was trying to replace the touch screen in my NDS and then replace the shell. I replaced the screen well enough and ended up with the following:

-LCD screen at the very bottom
-Round rubber buffer from old touchscreen restuck on top of old LCD screen
-On top of the rubber buffer sits the new touchscreen, with it's four pin (is that what those little lines in the ribbon are called?) ribbon coming out from the top *right.

The little hinge connecting the four-pin ribbon to the bit on the motherboard broke off, is there any way to glue it down?

Apparently it's possible that setting up the touchscreen wrong can short circuit, or somehow screw up, the entire NDS. Along with breaking the four-pin ribbon cover, I've also tried turning on the NDS and the green light flashes on, gets brighter for a second, then turns off, Neither of the screens display anything during that period. Aside from the four-pin ribbon, which i can't tell if it needs the little cover to hold it down, all the ribbons are connected and nothing's loose.

From what I can research I probably either A) blew a fuse (f1 or f2) or B) Screwed up putting the touchscreen back together, or both. I'm pretty positive nothing else on the NDS motherboard broke.

So, if anyone can make sense out of this conundrum I created for myself, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Also, sorry if this is in the wrong board. First time posting here :P

*edit: the ribbon comes out of the top RIGHT of the touch screen, not top left.

yusuo

Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I think you've kinda hit the nail on the head you've either blown the f1 or f2 fuse or you havent connected everything properly.