Hacking SCL questions and impressions

jigaboo

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Location
Toronto, ON
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
Canada
Got my SCL from kicktrading on Friday (yay, only took three days!), and had some questions and impressions. I'm sure you've all read the reviews, so I'll refrain from reiterating common knowledge. That said, I noticed some surprising things...

Impressions:
1) It's not _quite_ flush. This may be a manufacturing issue with mine, but while the top of the SCL is flush, the bottom juts out a small amount (small=miniscule). I don't really mind though, it's all but unnoticeable. What it comes down to is that the DSL GBA cover is more rounded than the SCL (the part that constitues the "handle").
2) When I heard that there may be some issue with the TF card falling out due to it being front load (as opposed to side load), I thought I'd just put some tape on it or something. I'm glad to say that I have no qualms not bothering with the tape. I find it hard to believe that it would EVER fall out without some vicious pounding (or if you dropped the whole unit on a hard floor or something).
3) This thing is TIGHT. For my unit, rocking it right to left does NOT work. You just have to pull on it HARD. This may only be an issue if I buy the DS browser (which I may not, as I want to take it on vacation, but I'm leaving pretty soon). Initially, I wasn't too concerned with it, but after trying to take it out, I'm pretty sure I'll be picking up some sandpaper...
4) Superkey from Kicktrading has a splashscreen (thought they thought it did not). *shrug* I don't like it, but it's not worth complaining about.

Just a quick question so far....
Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan! - love this quirky game, but everytime it's about to start the music, there's a long pause. Feels like 10-15 seconds? Is this normal? Annoying when I have to retry it after failing a level due to laughing. I'm patching all my games with IGR only (nothing else) btw.

Sweet product, and great service by Kicktrading.
J

ps. BTW, there's a new version of DSOrganize (2.2 Final - Blue) which works better than the SCL patched version that's floating around. Only problem is that it currently doesn't save.
 

meangreenie

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
639
Trophies
0
XP
85
Country
Patch all you're games with 'restart' 'trim' 'fastergameplay' all on leave 'ique' and 'gba linkage' off (unless trying to run an ique rom or actually trying gba linkage function). The 'enable patch cartidge access' option only needs to be on for new roms un-supported by the client which need it (test by experiment), FF3 and the Rune roms need it on, but when the client updates you probably won't need it on anymore for those 2 roms.


Tthe 'fastergameplay' option you turned off is probably the reason you're game pauses for so long.
 

FifthE1ement

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
603
Trophies
0
XP
-28
Country
United States
Got my SCL from kicktrading on Friday (yay, only took three days!), and had some questions and impressions. I'm sure you've all read the reviews, so I'll refrain from reiterating common knowledge. That said, I noticed some surprising things...

Impressions:
1) It's not _quite_ flush. This may be a manufacturing issue with mine, but while the top of the SCL is flush, the bottom juts out a small amount (small=miniscule). I don't really mind though, it's all but unnoticeable. What it comes down to is that the DSL GBA cover is more rounded than the SCL (the part that constitues the "handle").
2) When I heard that there may be some issue with the TF card falling out due to it being front load (as opposed to side load), I thought I'd just put some tape on it or something. I'm glad to say that I have no qualms not bothering with the tape. I find it hard to believe that it would EVER fall out without some vicious pounding (or if you dropped the whole unit on a hard floor or something).
3) This thing is TIGHT. For my unit, rocking it right to left does NOT work. You just have to pull on it HARD. This may only be an issue if I buy the DS browser (which I may not, as I want to take it on vacation, but I'm leaving pretty soon). Initially, I wasn't too concerned with it, but after trying to take it out, I'm pretty sure I'll be picking up some sandpaper...
4) Superkey from Kicktrading has a splashscreen (thought they thought it did not). *shrug* I don't like it, but it's not worth complaining about.

Just a quick question so far....
Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan! - love this quirky game, but everytime it's about to start the music, there's a long pause. Feels like 10-15 seconds? Is this normal? Annoying when I have to retry it after failing a level due to laughing. I'm patching all my games with IGR only (nothing else) btw.

Sweet product, and great service by Kicktrading.
J

ps. BTW, there's a new version of DSOrganize (2.2 Final - Blue) which works better than the SCL patched version that's floating around. Only problem is that it currently doesn't save.

1. It is flush, just check my review: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=35982
lecture.gif

2. Your right its in there tight!
smile.gif

3. It is hard as hell to get out but goes in ok.
hate2.gif

4.SuperKey has a a splash screen for quite a while now although you can still find batches of the old model marked as," Old Version" usually.

Your not using "Faster Play Game"? That option is a must have with the SC Lite and what type of memory are you using?

I hope you are enjoying your SC Lite!
grog.gif


FifthE1ement
yaynds.gif
 

jigaboo

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Location
Toronto, ON
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
Canada
I appreciate your review, FifthE1ment, but I have one too. Mine is not completely flush. The bevel on the handle on the DSL slug is more pronounced than the SCL - hence the stick out. As I mentioned before, it does not detract from the product in the least.

Well, the reason I mentioned the Superkey having no splash is because I asked before I ordered, and Kick mentioned that it didn't have one. So, just a note to those ordering it from Kicktrading.

Hmm. Reason I didn't use the "Faster Game Play", was I thought the game would be speeded up or something! I'll try this out when I have the chance. Oddly enough, this is only "slowdown" (more like load-time) I've encountered in about 15-16 games I've tried...! I'm currently using a Kingmax 512mb TF card (supposedly up to 12.5MB/s). It was the cheapest I could find.
BTW, I've heard varying reports of instability using "Trim Rom". I figured it was pointless, as I do have 512MB to play with, and hence didn't use it. What are your success rates like? Does anyone have replicable failures with the "Trim Rom" option?

And yes, I'm certainly enjoying it. Cheers!
J
 

jigaboo

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Location
Toronto, ON
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
Canada
Here's what I mean:

Close up of the "lip" of the SCL:
T0_-1_1551794.jpg


Close up of the 'lip" of the DSL "slug" or cover. Notice, the bevel closely follows the contour of the DSL.
T0_-1_1551797.jpg


Finally, a comparison of both. It's obvious that the SCL "handle" or "lip" could be thinner and more bevelled to more closely mimic the DSL slug. As I said before though, it's really not a big deal...
T0_-1_1551799.jpg


J
 

meangreenie

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
639
Trophies
0
XP
85
Country
use trim rom for every game... I'll be shocked if you find a rom that has trouble with it on as I have had SC's for over 6 months and have yet to find one
 

gokong

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
77
Country
United States
It is not completely flush.. its not a big deal and is a non issue really.. but the truth of the matter is it is not flush.. so ppl saying it is flush plz stop.
 

FifthE1ement

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
603
Trophies
0
XP
-28
Country
United States
Mine sits out no where near as far as your lip. I will have to take a pic tomorrow to show but I think you need to push yours in just a tad more.

FifthE1ement
yaynds.gif
 

jigaboo

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Location
Toronto, ON
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
Canada
Kingofnoobs, look at the pictures - it ain't flush and your denials won't change it. FLUSH = DS slug. And I already said it twice - I don't find it a problem.

Fifte1ment, this mother aint budging a nanometer. Not with my hands, not with a hammer. Don't really care either way - probably just a batch that's got slightly poorer tolerances.

J
 

KINGOFNOOBS

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2006
Messages
702
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
186
Country
United States
Jigaboo, if you sand it a tiny bit. Then its completely flush. And besides its just random. I have anothin SCL thats completely flush without sanding. Errors.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    do you look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    why do your friends look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they dont it's just that they saw the outside of my mouse and said it was disgusting
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    oh wait I understand my braincells have increased
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    by 1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    funnily enough when i was telling my openly femboy furry bf and my friend(we talk about femboys sometimes) they said "nope we don't wanna hear that that's disgusting"
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    why is cheeto dust of all things
    the subject that crosses the line
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wait, Switch Online now has Super Mario 64, right?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i really hate to say this but
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i dont think it does
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Huh, makes sense; they did sell that through the 3D All-Stars collection.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Which, last I heard was removed from the eShop...so they might as well offer it again, I guess...
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Will they use the same Shindou-translated ROM, or the original English ROM?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    googling it, it seems that mario 64 is on the service
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    in japan they use the shindou version apparently but in the states and elsewhere they use the original rom
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
    J @ Jephter: Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but...