SC hacked Opera DS

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Da-Huntha, May 30, 2007.

May 30, 2007

SC hacked Opera DS by Da-Huntha at 10:39 PM (2,091 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Da-Huntha
    OP

    Newcomer Da-Huntha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is the SC hacked Opera DS browser actually faster than the retail or is there no difference?
    I believe the main reason was because the RAM expansion was just slow as hell.
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Dunno. I have the hacked for SC browser and it IS slow....only slightly faster than 56k.

    Good question though. I've wondered this myself.
     
  3. Da-Huntha
    OP

    Newcomer Da-Huntha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've tried it just now and I've got to say that to my feeling using the SC hacked Opera is indeed faster than the retail RAM pack.
    It still doesn't beat records though.
     
  4. gigermunit

    Member gigermunit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    I tried the rom version on my EZV and i find that the speed depends on the internet and routor brand. I have a 6mbps cable and a netgear routor which loads slow as hell compared to anything else i have that surfs internet in my house, but on a linksys routor with a cable or dsl connecting it goes as fast a a 3g cellphone on older linksys and on new ones it goes like a normal pc speed.
     
  5. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I imagine that using any form of WEP encryption slows it down too. I use the lowest level of WEP, but we're MAC filtered, the SSID report is turned off and I have it set to only allow a limited amount of connections matching the amount of systems in our house that connect wirelessly, which is 4.
     
  6. DS64

    Member DS64 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    thx! gonna try that.
     
  7. Da-Huntha
    OP

    Newcomer Da-Huntha Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well I tried both tests on the same setup right after each other to the same sites. Of course the overall speeds depends on that.

    I also found the hacked SC Opera lock-up more.
     
  8. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    Just a little warning. If you run a lot of homebrew that uses WiFi, SSID reporting MUST be enabled, otherwise they won't work. For whatever reason, REAL games will work that way, but homebrew won't. I don't know why.
     
  9. DS64

    Member DS64 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    cool thx
     
  10. emoo55

    Banned emoo55 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Does any one have the patch for it?
     

Share This Page