Save game switch out?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by deba94, Jun 16, 2008.

Jun 16, 2008

Save game switch out? by deba94 at 11:44 PM (2,129 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. deba94
    OP

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I just recently borrowed a retail copy of pokemon pearl from a friend for use with pokemon ranch. I read somewhere here at gbatemp that the save game can be dumped with some tools (which I have already done), backed up, and replaced with my R4DS .sav. My question is if anyone has successfully done this. I've looked around everywhere for a save sender PC application but have had no luck. I'm doing everything by wi-fi by the way, I don't own a slot 2 device.

    Thanks in advanced [​IMG]
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I took a save from the official cart of FF3 and transferred it to my R4 a long time ago. But I have a slot2 card and used NDS_Backup_Tool_Slot2 to get it, so I guess all I really did was bump your thread for you, since you don't have a slot2 and can't use that option.

    I would imagine the WiFi version of the above mentioned program could do it....but I never used it.
     
  3. deba94
    OP

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I can back up the cart no problem, but what I'm trying to do is put the save from my computer onto the retail cart [​IMG]
     
  4. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You can use this tutorial. It uses wi-fi.

    http://www.monroeworld.com/myfaq/index.php...&artlang=en

    It will involve setting up a basic FTP server, but if you follow the instructions, you'll be fine. Put your save files in the directory that you set the FTP server to default to. (eg. c:\temp)

    Once you get it set up, press R once, to open save restore, and restore the save file back to the orignal game card.
     
  5. deba94
    OP

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks [​IMG]

    But if been getting an error when dumping the save. Is there a limit to the amount of writes to the save portion of the game cart?

    Thanks again [​IMG]
     
  6. Hammerfel

    Newcomer Hammerfel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    That link goes to a 404 for me. Have another?
     
  7. Hammerfel

    Newcomer Hammerfel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
  8. kend7510

    Newcomer kend7510 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I was able to do all that except it didn't work. The save restores (onto the retail cart), and DS shuts off. But when I turn it back up and go into the game, it's like nothing was restored. Are the save formats (of R4 and retail cart) compatible? If not where can I download a converter? The one in the sticky doesn't have a retail cart option...
     
  9. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes the R4 save are comapible with retail cart.
     
  10. kend7510

    Newcomer kend7510 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    one is 64kb(retail) one is 256kb(r4), how are they compatible? I tried backing up one of my retail card saves and put it in and r4 with a rom and r4 reported save corruped [​IMG]
    I'm using the 3-in-1 version of the backup tool btw.
     
  11. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I havent tried that tool, i'll give it a go now.
     
  12. kend7510

    Newcomer kend7510 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    so were you able to get it to work? I tried a few more times and no luck [​IMG]
     
  13. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just successfully copied my 512K R4 Mario Kart save to my retail Mario Kart and it works fine, and without having to resize my R4 save first.
     
  14. kend7510

    Newcomer kend7510 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm...so let me make sure I'm doing this right.
    First you execute the backup tool via r4, you go to save restore menu, and you press a, you select your save, press a until it asks you to switch slot-1 cart, and you switch then press a again, after the progress bar you press a and ds turns off. This should be it right?
     
  15. kend7510

    Newcomer kend7510 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I see what the problem for my save file backup was. I had to set the save file size to 512 in the ini file which I didn't...
    As for the restoring, I tried Apollo Justice and it worked, the first game I tried was Professor Layton, and it still doesn't work... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page