Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

Zomorph

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
92
Country
United Kingdom
No, you need to do so via sys-clk, Tesla Menu, nx-ovlloader.
You can learn more about that here.



Yeah I'm aware.
It's just a personal preference. I love the NA stylization for the Saturn and wanted to give games that look, regardless of region, while maintaining a jewel case size/icon size

So just did this and XvsSF and MSHvSF both work like a dream with the OC settings as per the google doc table. Thanks so much @Levine91 for your help with this!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ganons and Levine91

SuperS

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
42
Country
Germany
I try to build an NSP with the config.ini files provided here. The games boot and work fine. They even save and load states, but when I try to change the button mapping (because the default one is very clunky) it softlocks the entire app and I have to force close it. Any idea as to why the configs aren't playing along?

Edit: Changing the language to English on the options menu and then changing the buttons seems to solve the issue, but it still makes the game waaaaay more crash prone when entering/exiting this menu. Tried to make a save state and return to the game. Softlock.

This does not happen if I don't use an ini file when building the NSP, however. I've built NSPs of Panzer Dragoon and Guardian Heroes with no config.ini files and rewind/save states/button mapping all work perfectly, so I dunno which setting in the config is making the game go haywire.
Finally! This is my problem exactly! Without ini files everything is fine and as soon as I use one I have either the problem you just described, or the game wont even start
 

chobochobo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
50
Country
Hong Kong
Report on Baku Baku Animal. I overclocked according to the DarkFlare video and i maxed everything out and the music plays fine. Yay. Gameplay is still a bit sluggish but I'd have to do a side by side with mednafen on PC to define it more.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zomorph

Levine91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
337
Country
United States
Off-World Interceptor Extreme has been upgraded from "Partially Playable" to "Playable".
You will need to use the attached config. No Overclock needed. Updated Spreadsheet.
 

Attachments

  • Off-World Interceptor Extreme Config.zip
    1.9 KB · Views: 10

invisiblekid0

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
23
Country
Spain
  • Like
Reactions: XC-3730C

SuperS

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
42
Country
Germany
Does anyone know how it is possible to save the games?
Save states crash the game for me and regular saving wont save the game.
do you use a custom ini when you build your games? For me and the user musgora custom inis break save states and/or other parts of the menu for some unknown reason..
 

ganons

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
3,037
Trophies
0
XP
2,215
Country
Marvel Super Heroes vs Street Fighter
 

Attachments

  • mv.jpg
    mv.jpg
    386.5 KB · Views: 9
  • Like
Reactions: kof_k

Levine91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
337
Country
United States
Does anyone know how it is possible to save the games?
Save states crash the game for me and regular saving wont save the game.

If your config has 4MB RAM applied to it, save states will crash the game.
What game are you trying to do a regular save for and is it via internal memory or backup memory?
 

iLL wiLL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2013
Messages
267
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
419
Country
United States
does anyone have a video tutorial on how to change guardian into any other saturn game??? it's allot easier with a video tutorial.
 

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
466
Country
Canada
How's input lag on Street Fighter Zero 3? I'd like to play it but I really can't do V-ISM stuff with lag.
Dunno, but zero 2 felt a little off for me, I ended up just going back to the retroarch ps1 version, it feels way better.
I don't call me self an input lag sensitive person as I can usually adjust, but zero 2 was weird.

Oddly enough the vs street fighter games felt fine.
 

iLL wiLL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2013
Messages
267
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
419
Country
United States
looking for someone who knows how to patch Castlevania Dracula X twice (if you know what i am talking about, PM)
there are 2 patches i would like to combine, or at least use one patch fully as is, and extract only the script translation from the second one and apply it

there is a good patch that doesn't have English menu or Dialog, if someone knows how or which Sega Saturn ISO tools i need to extract the english translated dialog and menu and combine with another patch etc, send me a PM

View attachment 281927
i have been remaking The English Black & White Manual With Colors, (text isn't redone yet)
View attachment 281931
View attachment 281926
View attachment 281930
View attachment 281925
have done 4 Pages from the USA Instruction Manual and 4 Pages from The Japanese Manual

Also if i see these Distributed in Piarte sites with injected NSP, ill only share in Private Group


i would like help in Figuring out how to use a secondary Game patch on an already patched game before i share the complete RomFS file for SOTN Asset Swap, Send me a PM
I patched it already!!!I just don't know how to build the dam game and swap it with cotton guardian!!!! This is frustrating.
 

iLL wiLL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2013
Messages
267
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
419
Country
United States
I got the English translated version of dracula x were you can open the map at anytime and all weapons fixed etc problem is there's 2 tracks meaning there's 2.bin tracks and 1cue.idk what to do with thisbut this is the best version of dracula x if I can get it working.I already patched it.I need help.
 

SuperS

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
42
Country
Germany
I got the English translated version of dracula x were you can open the map at anytime and all weapons fixed etc problem is there's 2 tracks meaning there's 2.bin tracks and 1cue.idk what to do with thisbut this is the best version of dracula x if I can get it working.I already patched it.I need help.
go to Post #1,196 there is a little tutorial on how to convert files with multiple bins. this worked nicely for me.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I hear if you talk too much you have to cut off a finger... What parts do you cut off for other...