Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

Prb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
766
Trophies
1
XP
1,878
Country
United Kingdom
Working now because of I had to combine the bin files, thanks for that. I've got an nsp, can convert to xci and play?

And how do I add own images, Tex?
Best not to try and run before you can walk just install the nsp on your switch and test if it works then you can start playing around with images and so on icons are easy just use a png or jpeg 254x254 is fine tex files are a bit more complex tbh
You need to read through the main thread or you just want understand what your actually doing
 

ganons

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
3,039
Trophies
0
XP
2,271
Country
Best not to try and run before you can walk just install the nsp on your switch and test if it works then you can start playing around with images and so on icons are easy just use a png or jpeg 254x254 is fine tex files are a bit more complex tbh
You need to read through the main thread or you just want understand what your actually doing

Ok I'll look into it. Xci working perfect. I'm assuming you can change all images incl sidebar and buttons screen?
 

shadow256

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
145
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
510
Country
France
I downloaded the non master. Now I've got the master version (949mb) got select nsp, then asked me to choose my game which is street fighter alpha 2.cue and it says an error occurred during cur file analyse. Then it goes back to if you want to inject.
This error is during the analyse of the cue file and if files declared in the cue file are missing it throw this error.

And don't download the complete master version of the script, use the base version and update the functions when you launch them, it the better way to use my script.

If you read my little tutorial you know you have to rename the cue ?
No need to rename anything except if paths contain special chars lie parentheses.

Now the tex files should be copied correctly if you respect the indication of folders structures.

For the python's encoding problem I don't know why this had appened to one member, I can't reproduce the issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ganons and Prb

Prb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
766
Trophies
1
XP
1,878
Country
United Kingdom
This error is during the analyse of the cue file and if files declared in the cue file are missing it throw this error.

And don't download the complete master version of the script, use the base version and update the functions when you launch them, it the better way to use my script.


No need to rename anything except if paths contain special chars lie parentheses.

Now the tex files should be copied correctly if you respect the indication of folders structures.

For the python's encoding problem I don't know why this had appened to one member, I can't reproduce the issue.
Nice I haven't used your latest version tbh does it auto rename the cue now ?
 

Prb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
766
Trophies
1
XP
1,878
Country
United Kingdom
The script rename the cue file since a lot of version now, probably since the beginning.
That's strange the 195 version I have doesn't seem to do that for me if I try and complie without changing the cue the game just errors on loading probably time for me to upgrade the version
but I do like to do things manually you get a better understanding of how it works
Massive thanks for all your work buddy
 

shadow256

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
145
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
510
Country
France
That's strange the 195 version I have doesn't seem to do that for me if I try and complie without changing the cue the game just errors on loading probably time for me to upgrade the version
but I do like to do things manually you get a better understanding of how it works
Massive thanks for all your work buddy
Maybe I have a bug in cue renaming, my tests are only made with GuardianForce base so if you use a different one maybe it's why, I realy can't do all the tests by myself. I think that the 4.3.203 is quite stable and have a lots of new things that simplify the life. If you update from 4.3.195 I suggest you to rebuild a game with the base NSPs, the folders structure have changed and old one is no more compatible.
 

Prb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
766
Trophies
1
XP
1,878
Country
United Kingdom
Maybe I have a bug in cue renaming, my tests are only made with GuardianForce base so if you use a different one maybe it's why, I realy can't do all the tests by myself. I think that the 4.3.203 is quite stable and have a lots of new things that simplify the life. If you update from 4.3.195 I suggest you to rebuild a game with the base NSPs, the folders structure have changed and old one is no more compatible.
I'll download directly from your repository and rebuild one of my nsp's
I do use GuardianForce as my base
I want to keep the older version also
Btw if you ever need anything testing you can count on me
Thanks for the explanation
 
Last edited by Prb,

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
863
Country
United Kingdom
@shadow256 how do I create custom images? Also how do I create image shown on switch home screen?
its in the first page (Use any photo editing software eg Photoshop, Corel Painter/Draw/ Gimp) dont go over 3 MB, better if you can keep file under 1 MB size (too many colors = Bigger File Size)

Intro images like logo or Controller button guide:
1920x1080p for Player Guide folder images, max is 00 to 08 (9 Total) Same for Credits folder

for Wallpaper folder:
1280x720p
use Botik PNG to Tex converter or change it manually using the new decrypted Hex Header

Icon for Switch NSP
256x256 (edit a PNG image in 1024x1024 size or 512x512 to see what you are doing! then resize your image to 256x256)
 
Last edited by ZER-O,
  • Like
Reactions: Zomorph and Prb

ganons

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
3,039
Trophies
0
XP
2,271
Country
its in the first page (Use any photo editing software eg Photoshop, Corel Painter/Draw/ Gimp) dont go over 3 MB, better if you can keep file under 1 MB size (too many colors = Bigger File Size)

Intro images like logo or Controller button guide:
1920x1080p for Player Guide folder images, max is 00 to 08 (9 Total) Same for Credits folder

for Wallpaper folder:
1080x720p
use Botik PNG to Tex converter or change it manually using the new decrypted Hex Header

Icon for Switch NSP
256x256 (edit a PNG image in 1024x1024 size or 512x512 to see what you are doing! then resize your image to 256x256)
Thanks, where and when do you add these files in?
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
863
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks, where and when do you add these files in?
there are several ways to add them but all of them are added in a folder called RomFS
everything you replace there will be reflected in the game
you need a fully decrypted NSP of the game you plan to inject on
or colleect the files shared in here and replace, they are already decrypted
 

PhyChris

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
326
Trophies
0
XP
1,303
Country
Canada
sup! how do these translate to buttons/keys?
Pad="1/0/1/1/1/2/1/3/1/5/1/4/1/11/1/7/1/6/1/10/1/8/1/9/1/15/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/0/7/0/6/0/9/0/2/0/2/0/2/0/2/0/2/0/0"
CDOpen="0/0/0"
 

ganons

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
3,039
Trophies
0
XP
2,271
Country
there are several ways to add them but all of them are added in a folder called RomFS
everything you replace there will be reflected in the game
you need a fully decrypted NSP of the game you plan to inject on
or colleect the files shared in here and replace, they are already decrypted
So before I build my nsp, that is when I should replace them?
 

Zomorph

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
95
Country
United Kingdom
Thank f%ck I finally did it! SFZ3 is working. I created a new NSP base using Cotton. I'm gonna use this for 4MB games now and leave GF base for everything else. Thanks to everyone that tried to help. Much appreciated.

My final question, what's the best way to go about getting english patches for some of those jap only rpg classics? I have the CHD files which I will convert to bin and cue using CHDMAN. Just not sure where to get the patches and how to merge. Guessing I need to use AnyBurn to add the english bin file patches??
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: I think Psis name should be changed to Wtfionic