Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

Draico

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
22
Country
Russia
Solved my problem with encoding. Had to recompile npdm_and_nacp_rewrite.py. Now I'm trying to remove Options replacing the Texture.tex but the menu gets jumbled:
 

Attachments

  • fJHlNSVYzR8.jpg
    fJHlNSVYzR8.jpg
    212.6 KB · Views: 11

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,268
Country
United States
Ahhhhhh I'm a dumb dumb. I assumed it would create a file with the same name but with .tex, it does not lol It creates a file with "tex" as its name. You must rename it and give it the .tex. Thanks a ton!

EDIT: Also should I be replacing them in both the English and Japanese folders?
Actually, that didn't work. With my compiled game, I now just get a black screen until I get the classic "A software error occurred". I'll just wait I suppose.
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
863
Country
United Kingdom
Ahhhhhh I'm a dumb dumb. I assumed it would create a file with the same name but with .tex, it does not lol It creates a file with "tex" as its name. You must rename it and give it the .tex. Thanks a ton!

EDIT: Also should I be replacing them in both the English and Japanese folders?
Bravo!
you can replace both files, JP will only show if you switch language, i change both language to avoid having any reference to to cotton images
 

cucholix

Banners guy
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,884
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
3,817
Country
Chile
Solved my problem with encoding. Had to recompile npdm_and_nacp_rewrite.py. Now I'm trying to remove Options replacing the Texture.tex but the menu gets jumbled:
What base are you using?
Post your Texture.tex to check if there’s any difference.
 

Prb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
766
Trophies
1
XP
1,878
Country
United Kingdom
You people are using the wrong texture.tex you can't just use any one
I can't remember the exact post it's around about #350 to #390 or something like that use that one and it will not be a messed up
 
  • Like
Reactions: PhyChris and Rikua

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,268
Country
United States
You people are using the wrong texture.tex you can't just use any one
I can't remember the exact post it's around about #350 to #390 or something like that use that one and it will not be a messed up
@Prb is correct, If its for hiding the Options menu, it is post #385
 
  • Like
Reactions: Prb

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
474
Country
Canada
Road Rash works perfectly, no custom .ini
Finally got it working, a Sonic 3D Blast, no custom.ini working perfectly. Therefore trying it on yuzu it gets buggy and flickering, but in switch it runs w/o issues
Emulators on top of emulators don't tend to work well, its like emulator-ception.
So I also wouldn't expect the saturn sega ages games to work well with this either
 

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,268
Country
United States
surprise Attack
they are Full Ports, not emulated!
This makes me wonder...is the Castlevania Advance collection just a set of roms? or are they native?

EDIT: Upon booting the CAC shows the M2 logo, and they are known for creating accurate emulation. If this is an emulator and roms, it has 4 games, 3 GBA and 1 SNES, plus the Euro and JP versions. So 12 games, 9 GBA and 3 SNES. I know we have emulators for those already, its more like curiosity about modding the Title artwork and such. If Capcom won't give me a Megaman Battle Network Collection, I'll do it myself lol
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
863
Country
United Kingdom
This makes me wonder...is the Castlevania Advance collection just a set of roms? or are they native?

EDIT: Upon booting the CAC shows the M2 logo, and they are known for creating accurate emulation. If this is an emulator and roms, it has 4 games, 3 GBA and 1 SNES, plus the Euro and JP versions. So 12 games, 9 GBA and 3 SNES. I know we have emulators for those already, its more like curiosity about modding the Title artwork and such. If Capcom won't give me a Megaman Battle Network Collection, I'll do it myself lol
they are direct ports, but using the same code from GBA, old Game shark cheats dont work native, but can be converted

gba games are easy to port if you have the source code, no need to run emulator
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rikua

Draico

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
22
Country
Russia
What base are you using?
Post your Texture.tex to check if there’s any difference.
Here are the texture files from the nsps I used. They are taken from GuardianForce and Cotton2. The result is the same. Also I included the texture I got from the important post with better writeup. They are different sizes by the way.
 

Attachments

  • textures.rar
    2.1 MB · Views: 15

Levine91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
343
Country
United States
Attached Highly Recommended Config for "Touge King the Spirits 2"
In addition to this, set CPU Overclock to 1224.
Added to Compatibility Spreadsheet (coming soon)
 

Attachments

  • Touge King the Spirits 2 Config.zip
    1.9 KB · Views: 13

lingbergh

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
60
Country
Germany
Just an update, compatibility sheet is still being worked on. It's not going to be complete when it comes out obviously, but trying to tackle any games of even minor note.

Additionally, I've added more icons/covers over the past couple of days. Go check them out.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1_rjVgGDuTv0KTlYIRzhtCo_LBCfJXp6i?usp=sharing


Lastly, after a handful of configuration adjustments I was able to get Mr. Bones (USA) to work.
You'll find the config attached. Sadly the Japanese and European versions still do not work.

Dragon Force II would be a nice addition.
My results while playing around with imagemagick to eliminate stretching of the source image are...not that great. :lol:
dragonforceii-cover.png
 

MDashK

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
280
Trophies
0
Location
Internetus Exploratis
Website
www.mixwaves.net
XP
640
Country
View attachment 281477View attachment 281512

i made over 20 boot screens, i didnt make a .tex for each, be spicific, i dont remember which one you want, i have attached:
Boot intro 1920x1080P
View attachment 281471
View attachment 281472
Credits Screen 1920x1080P:
View attachment 281473
Wallpapers 1280x720P use these as wallpaper 02 and 03 and 04, 01 is your Plain Black Wallpaper, these will hide behind the game screen, and will show up giving the illusion you booted a sega saturn before a game loads
View attachment 281513View attachment 281514View attachment 281515
use Botik PNG2Tex converter install python runtime app, and then drag the PNG to Botik's converter

The Digital Players guide, its not ready to be shared, there are over 40 images done for 5 games and havnt tested them inside the game yet, here is a screen image of nights player guide from Xbox live arcade version, i show 3/8 pages
View attachment 281474View attachment 281475View attachment 281476
Special Thanks to botik for making my life easier to quickly convert my images to tex

I'm just leaving this here, for someone who wants to use it. :D

1kmNpoU.jpg
 

Attachments

  • sega_entertainment_saturn_desktop_3072x2048_hd-wallpaper-582835.jpg
    sega_entertainment_saturn_desktop_3072x2048_hd-wallpaper-582835.jpg
    839.6 KB · Views: 6
  • Like
Reactions: hippy dave
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    And audio technica
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    hmmm what to order for dinner
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Lrn2cook :angry:
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I can cook great. But the depression kind of drains me of all motivation to do anything
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I feel that but I beat it out cause the fees on apps make me more depressed
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    And you may get extra creamy sauce if you refuse to tip
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    god wtf is it about facebook that just makes you (me) doomscroll for ever? Fucking glad I rarely touch it anymore but god damn I've probably spent more time on FB today than in the past 3 months combined.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I usually just use messenger cause someone always tends to comment something extremely stupid on my status like I don't wanna see that on my page then I'm all like well you know what to do if you don't want to see it and they get all butthurt even more
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I keep Facebook around for oauth2 (though Google largely fills the same roll for me these days) and Messenger. I rarely ever use the website, the app is set to not run in background on my phone and has all notifications disabled. Hopped on today to list a few things for sale/free in my area and just spent more time today scrolling up and down than I ought to
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I guess I keep it around for FB Dating too though I rarely use that. Maybe I should change that since I've had more success there than anywhere else lol
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    What's urehandle 😏
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    xXBigPapi42069Xx
    Gift
  • Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I always get fat girls on dating apps but that's okay nothing wrong with a fat chick they deserve love
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I gotta delete and recreate the profiles I got. Reset all those swipes and what not
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    The new scam thing seems to be stock photos of hot Girls asking for WhatsApp
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Two more likes from breaking 1k and it only took like 8 years lol
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I have more likes than I have posts 😳
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    dawg I didn't realize you did a name change I thought you were just some other rando that got let into the chat while I've been gone for months smh my head
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    name change AND new pfp got me shook
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Well I'm a naughty and meanie users gotta rep it some how
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I do remember a user I haven't seen in forever either Brian or Even? Can't remember his username exactly
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Doesn't ring a bell
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Could be Devon
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    What does this have to do with porn? Lol
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: What does this have to do with porn? Lol