Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,263
Country
United States
For some reason my ripped Guardian Force folder was only 38.2MB. I managed to obtain the correct files clocking in at 123MB, however, I get key mismatch errors (Which is odd as these are my personal keys I ripped just for the script), I ignored them, maybe that's the issue? I made sure bin and cue internals match, renamed "Astal.cue" to "GuardianForce.cue", and such. I end up with a 750mb nsp, that installs and has all the correct info I typed, including the icon, and it just crashes on my switch. lol this is the weirdest issue i've run into with homebrew on the switch XD
 

Attachments

  • Ultimate-Switch-Hack-Script-LOG7.rar
    12.8 KB · Views: 12

fagnerkof

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 3, 2018
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
228
Country
Brazil
So I just attempted to make a new inject from scratch using the SUHS and I created an NSP, this time there were key mismatch errors, I read this was commonplace, so I let it ride. I then booted up said created nsp in Ryujinx, my wallpapers didn't change, but it seemed to boot Astal, which is my injected game, albeit glitchy. Buuuuuut that doesn't matter because it still doesn't boot on my actual switch lol How strange.
same issue i'm having
 

Levine91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
339
Country
United States
For some reason my ripped Guardian Force folder was only 38.2MB. I managed to obtain the correct files clocking in at 123MB, however, I get key mismatch errors (Which is odd as these are my personal keys I ripped just for the script), I ignored them, maybe that's the issue? I made sure bin and cue internals match, renamed "Astal.cue" to "GuardianForce.cue", and such. I end up with a 750mb nsp, that installs and has all the correct info I typed, including the icon, and it just crashes on my switch. lol this is the weirdest issue i've run into with homebrew on the switch XD

same issue i'm having

The reason it's so low is due to the Unity wrapper being removed. It is to save space.
 

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,263
Country
United States
The reason it's so low is due to the Unity wrapper being removed. It is to save space.
I see, so either way I'm assuming is fine? However, even when it was the 38MB, I still have the same issue with my install, even without the key mismatch errors.
 

iLL wiLL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2013
Messages
267
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
420
Country
United States
New version that should fix bugs, this parentheses problems are realy difficult to manage.

If someone could send me a pack containing all tex customized I'll make some test on that, I see someone witch have problem with copying these with the script but I have nothing to make my tests and I don't want to search in the whole topic to find the ressources that I need.
were is this new version??? and it's there a tutorial??? I really wanna play CASTLEVANIA SOTN really bad!! is there any instructions and were he's this file?????
 

fagnerkof

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 3, 2018
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
228
Country
Brazil
Looking forward to seeing some premade injections.
I second that. Even following the tutorials step by step from scratch I keep getting errors. The most I got it wat the nsps bootable on yuzu but so buggy that is almost unplayable, with heavy graphical glithces, and on switch its installing fine but just doesn't boot. A drive to keep the good injections would be nice
 
  • Like
Reactions: tatundria

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
994
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
New York
XP
1,965
Country
United States
when I install the nsp, I keep getting the unable to start software. Even though I’m getting the nsp successfully created I feel like I’m missing a step. I’m using guardian force as the base. Since I’m using the script do I still need to have a romfs folder/titled in my atmosphere folder.
 

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
469
Country
Canada
I'm using GF nsp as a base and I decided to take your advice and shorten all paths. Still the same result as my previous attempts. Attached is Log 4 with the shortened paths for those interested.
I have been using Guardian Force as well, so I can confirm it works.
I don't know if you did this but did you install the original guardian force nsp to your switch before dumping your keys.
Thats really important.
 

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
469
Country
Canada
Grab a config.ini file from this thread and edit it with widescreen '1' instead of 0 and place it in a title if folder of the xci.

Though widescreen only stretches the image it doesn't make it native widescreen. It won't look good.
People who play in stretched widescreeen are monster ;p
 
  • Like
Reactions: MDashK

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
469
Country
Canada
For some reason my ripped Guardian Force folder was only 38.2MB. I managed to obtain the correct files clocking in at 123MB, however, I get key mismatch errors (Which is odd as these are my personal keys I ripped just for the script), I ignored them, maybe that's the issue? I made sure bin and cue internals match, renamed "Astal.cue" to "GuardianForce.cue", and such. I end up with a 750mb nsp, that installs and has all the correct info I typed, including the icon, and it just crashes on my switch. lol this is the weirdest issue i've run into with homebrew on the switch XD
The gurdian force nsp I have is 302MB, its the single, not the 3set collection nsp.
You need to be careful not to use the collection nsp
 

shadow256

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
144
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
505
Country
France
I have been using Guardian Force as well, so I can confirm it works.
I don't know if you did this but did you install the original guardian force nsp to your switch before dumping your keys.
Thats really important.
Not with tha last version of the script, it don't need title.keys anymore.

For those witch have problem since 4.3.196 version of the script you can update now the function by launching it (the function, not the first update proposed by the script when it start) and accept the update, I've pushed a new version witch fix a bug in the control.nacp rewrite. This bug caused created game not working at all cause of the ProgramIndex param of the control.nacp witch was not defined correctly. This time I take the time to test with GuardianForce and the game that I have injected work. And something new in this release, now you select the cue file of the Saturn game to inject and the program verify the rest, for example if files are not present the program will throw an error and if the files are not named correctly (case problem) the program will fix it automaticaly during the game's copy.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thorhax

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
469
Country
Canada
So heres a thing I learnt. I injected what I thought was Christmas Nights, but turned out to be the special edition.
Injection is fine, no problem there.

But on initial boot up of the new nsp, Nights asked me to input the date/time, thing is, it was already correct, right down to the minute.
So somehow the emulator being used in Guardian force knows the date/time and can pass this info on to the saturn iso.
 

Attachments

  • 20211024_132827.jpg
    20211024_132827.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 11
  • Like
Reactions: hippy dave

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
469
Country
Canada
I'm still having trouble getting to following games to either launch or play correctly

Virtua Fighter Remix, NO CUSTOM .INI = plays but the ring often glitches, sending players out of bounds

Virtua Fighter 2, NO CUSTOM .INI = doesn't load. BUT using a custom.ini changing the block size=200 the game will load and play fine, but no sound fx or voices, only stage bgm

Mortal Kombat 2, NO CUSTOM .INI = black screen after the initial midway screen

Marvel vs street fighter, CUSTOM .INI used to set 5c for the 4meg expansion = black screen after the capcom screen
 

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,263
Country
United States
So this is odd, before the update, I could build an NSP, regardless of it working lol, now, I cannot. I just receive an error while its doing its thing. Log is attached. I have no clue what's wrong. It gets to step 4. "Creating game" before the errors occur if that helps any.

EDIT: Even a new/clean install of the master hack script didn't help any, I still receive this error. Attached is the log of the clean version as well.
 

Attachments

  • Ultimate-Switch-Hack-Script-LOG8.rar
    16.7 KB · Views: 11
  • error.png
    error.png
    74.8 KB · Views: 12
  • Ultimate-Switch-Hack-Script-Master-LOG1.rar
    14.9 KB · Views: 13
Last edited by Rikua,

shadow256

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
144
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
505
Country
France
So this is odd, before the update, I could build an NSP, regardless of it working lol, now, I cannot. I just receive an error while its doing its thing. Log is attached. I have no clue what's wrong. It gets to step 4. "Creating game" before the errors occur if that helps any.
Should be fixed in 4.3.200 that I have just pushed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rikua

Rikua

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,263
Country
United States
Should be fixed in 4.3.200 that I have just pushed.
Wow Thanks! That really worked! My inject works great, however, it did not take my wallpapers, but did take my Texture to hide the options. My wallpapers are in a folder with names WP_001.tex, WP_002.tex, etc. Should I be renaming those WP_GF_001.tex etc? Because in the script it asks for the first method. Or should I replace them manually in my "Saturn_emu_inject_datas" folder?

EDIT: I also do not believe the script took my .ini file either as I'm able to test it against my RomFS version of the same game and can notice difference in input lag and audio stutter.
 

Attachments

  • Ultimate-Switch-Hack-Script-LOG9.rar
    17 KB · Views: 11
Last edited by Rikua,
  • Like
Reactions: shadow256

zorokenshi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
58
Country
Cuba
Which or what tools/programs do we use to inject other games I want to try my luck with shining force III but I don’t know how can anybody lend me a hand please
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Wood would not have been enough in the past lol