Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
834
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
2,281
Country
United States
my ini doesn't save in the savedata, I have a workaround for it. But it's not ideal, as it breaks savestate.
I also use the same save file for all my games, as i've moved to using SimpleModManager to switch games.

But yes, you need to create the saves in the PC emulator, switch emu crashes when it tries to write to FDD.
Are you using the disc?

I'm able to copy to and from the FDD without problems

2021101223550700-0C87AADF5C7669AB4F25F77B3E61F738.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: stranno and xYuunax

stranno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
590
Trophies
0
XP
1,742
Country
Spain
my ini doesn't save in the savedata, I have a workaround for it. But it's not ideal, as it breaks savestate.
I also use the same save file for all my games, as i've moved to using SimpleModManager to switch games.

But yes, you need to create the saves in the PC emulator, switch emu crashes when it tries to write to FDD.
That could have solved the multi-disc games without saves in between.
 
  • Like
Reactions: xYuunax

lingbergh

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
59
Country
Germany
The script is working - even if it throws errors at you like "failed to match key". Just ignore them. I've created 10 games so far using the script (all the same game) and installed them with Tinfoil. Tinfoil gave me an error every time I installed a game - and most of them didn't even work (blank icon loading thingy) but one game finally worked flawless.
No clue why - I've created every game the same way with Guardian as a base.

So if you get the script errors while creating your new NSp game, just try it out and check if it's working.
Can you tell me what game worked for you using Guardian as base?
 

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
468
Country
Canada
Your problem is the path where you have installed the script, it is a long path but the real problem is that it contain spaces. I've fixed this, your language problem will not be after an update and the problem of return to menu of injection also, even with spaces in your script's path. If you use an other function of the script and have some problems it could be the spaces in the installation path, I'm not sure that this bug isn't somewhere else in the script. With the new debug function I want to review all of the code, I will pay attention to this problem also to fix it everywhere (I'll also fix the parentheses problems in path witch is a frequent possible bug, not present anymore in the Saturn injection).
aaah, thank you, I'll move to closer to the root of my drive and shorten folder names. Thank you for looking into it.
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
846
Country
United Kingdom
A little confused when he says "it's not known how well Dreamcast runs on the Switch" considering we've had full speed Flycast emulation for well over a year or more now.

Hey MVG I know you're here bro. Flycast! Retroarch and standalone!
he didn't try it, i respect his work for Diablo port, but this video he is just quoting what he found here, Dramcast is running perfect on Switch either from FlyCast or the Core, if sega wanted, they could add it to nintendo Online Sub

its okay, we can hook you up with premade files MVG
we have a problem maybe you might want to solve for us!
since Zebra Engine Clever Programmers encrypted the GuardianForce.ini settings which was already decrypted by a user here Thank you cucholix !

we were wondering why they went the extra effort to hide the Emulator Config settings! now we want to know how are they hiding the Sega Saturn Bios, we tried several ways to load it, no go, i know this Emulator lives and feeds from Saturn Bios, they must have implemented it and removed the intro, i dont fully believe they remade SSF to work without it

can someone find out or decrypt the main and find out the truth
 
Last edited by ZER-O,

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,865
Trophies
0
Location
Zebes
XP
2,479
Country
Germany
I managed to build an NSP with the script. New icon is there and it loads, however to errors come up, then some sort of frame with a menu that I can navigate. But the middle stays black. It seems the ISO isn't loading. I used Guardian Force.

Just to clarify, in the step of the script, where it asks for the cue/bin, I choose the folder containing those files, ricght? What name are the cue/bin expected to have?
Here's my full log. The game I'm trying to inject is Shining The Holy Ark (is this even compatible)? Any help is appreciated :)
 

Attachments

  • Ultimate-Switch-Hack-Script.zip
    14.2 KB · Views: 8
Last edited by SpaceJump,

matt!

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
591
Trophies
0
Age
44
Website
www.gingerbeardman.com
XP
1,077
Country
United Kingdom
Just discovered that it recognizes FDD saves from the PC emulator.
Recreate the Backup/FloppyDisk/Partition0/1 folders in romfs and add your bins.

Though you can read the saves, you can't write to FDD unfortunately.
2021101808524900-F6B98A8E3D88E9176AA9241DCAD1B777.png
Interested to know more about this setup.

I've never really used a Saturn so what is this doing? Storing save games outside of the Switch's save data?
 

xYuunax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
1,457
Country
Hong Kong
Interested to know more about this setup.

I've never really used a Saturn so what is this doing? Storing save games outside of the Switch's save data?
pretty much, although I can't seem to figure out why I can't write to FDD, only read.

If your interested in trying, you will need to locate the Sega Saturn FDD operator disc, EnableFDD="1" in settings, create folder in romfs/Backup/FloppyDisk/Partition0 & Partition1
 
Last edited by xYuunax,

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
463
Country
United States
A little confused when he says "it's not known how well Dreamcast runs on the Switch" considering we've had full speed Flycast emulation for well over a year or more now.

Hey MVG I know you're here bro. Flycast! Retroarch and standalone!
the issue is they both love to freeze randomly for no reason at all. its an issue thats been known for a long time but never fixed. I have to use Lakka to avoid the issue.
 

matt!

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
591
Trophies
0
Age
44
Website
www.gingerbeardman.com
XP
1,077
Country
United Kingdom
I've just set this up.

I put the folder structure Backup/FloppyDisk/Partition0/1 in my atmosphere/contents/etc folder

I set up a new item with only cue file in SimpleModManager for FDD operator disc.

FDD bin goes in atmosphere/contents/etc

And I can copy item from system/top/purple to cartridge/floppy/bottom/blue.

The bottom says that it contains 8080 slots.

One question, where is the file that represents the FDD contents located on my Switch filesystem?

00005134.jpg


the options are the same as in system Memory Manager
00001411.jpg
 

xYuunax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
1,457
Country
Hong Kong
I've just set this up.

I put the folder structure Backup/FloppyDisk/Partition0/1 in my atmosphere/contents/etc folder

And I can copy item from system/top/purple to cartridge/floppy/bottom/blue.

The bottom says that it contains 8080 slots.

One question, where is the file that represents the FDD contents located on my Switch filesystem?

View attachment 280393

the options are the same as in system Memory Manager
View attachment 280394
you will need to press left and right to switch memory
 

xYuunax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
1,457
Country
Hong Kong
Sorry you'll have to be a little clearer? left/right on dpad? on what screen?
on the main screen pressing left or right will change to external storage if present, if nothing happens, then FDD is not enabled in your settings. Also keep in mind the ini is saved into the savedata, and changing ini will not do anything. you will need to export the save using JKSV, delete 'SaveData00088000.bin' and restore for the system to recreate the settings using ini again. Sorry if my explaination is not very clear.
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
463
Country
United States
so I havn't tried but I assume you could just delete the game files from the NSP and rebuild it without replacing them to save space and then just use layeredfs to replace them with the games you want to use
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Not really related branches, are they?