Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
461
Country
Canada
So with the megascript, I press 6 then 16 to get to the saturn inject menu, I press 2, the menu comes up, I select cotton2.nsp, then it just kicked me back to hte previous menu asking:
1. Show help
2.Inject

I have title.keys and prod.keys in the same folder as the megascript.bat

Halp plz
 

Levine91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
337
Country
United States
do what i do, if the original cover was already a shit Design, find a better picture from wallpaper or from Japanese promo or concept art and use that as the new cover, dont try to remake the same boring cover unless it was already a great design

if its a game you really love, then find the art book or the Official website and create an original cover image with it

To each his own, I LOVE the Saturn cover.
I try to find the original cover illustrations if available (in high quality) or the closest high quality alternative to the cover.
Is this game as good as I want it to be from the cover?

Of course it is! I wouldn't personally create covers of games that aren't good! (Usually).


"Motteke Tamago with Ganbare! Kamonohashi"

A arena based multiplayer game in the same vein as Bomberman except the goal is to collect egg's and let them hatch in order to bring them back to the nest.
 

lingbergh

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
59
Country
Germany
So I can't get the USH Saturn script to work. It throws some warnings, that it failed to match some keys. But I guess this is not the problem here (166/166 in key validation). So it's creating the NSP image. The resulting NSP file is installable (no errors here). The icon and info I set in the USHS creating process are correct (no placeholder errors, icon loading loop, etc.). When I launch the game/program I have to choose a user account first. Is this correct? Some NSPs like SM64 jump right into the game, without selecting a user. The game/emu won't load and keeps saying a software error has occurred (black screen). No error codes here.

When I extract the created NSP again the files seem to be in place. Is there something in AMS/hekate that needs to be enabled like nosigchk, old acid patches?
 

EddieRiggs

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
27
Country
Russia
press any Button to skip the logo screen (this was the Player Guide showing you the controls
if you use the Script to inject, you will skip all intros and go straight to saturn logo
Sorry to bother you, is there's some kind of trick to make a png file right? I'm creating one (same color settings, size & resolution settings as yours), then I add one line of header in hex editor. But the game keeps crashing on startup. I've tried both Photoshop and GIMP, but still no luck...

temp.JPG
 

shadow256

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
498
Country
France
So with the megascript, I press 6 then 16 to get to the saturn inject menu, I press 2, the menu comes up, I select cotton2.nsp, then it just kicked me back to hte previous menu asking:
1. Show help
2.Inject

I have title.keys and prod.keys in the same folder as the megascript.bat

Halp plz
For you and those who want to test the script, I will not help anymore if you don't attach the full log report file when you encounter a problem.
 

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,865
Trophies
0
Location
Zebes
XP
2,477
Country
Germany
I managed to build an NSP with the script. New icon is there and it loads, however to errors come up, then some sort of frame with a menu that I can navigate. But the middle stays black. It seems the ISO isn't loading. I used Guardian Force.

Just to clarify, in the step of the script, where it asks for the cue/bin, I choose the folder containing those files, ricght? What name are the cue/bin expected to have?
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
843
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry to bother you, is there's some kind of trick to make a png file right? I'm creating one (same color settings, size & resolution settings as yours), then I add one line of header in hex editor. But the game keeps crashing on startup. I've tried both Photoshop and GIMP, but still no luck...

View attachment 280369
send me a PM with the image you tried to edit
 

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
205
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
461
Country
Canada
For you and those who want to test the script, I will not help anymore if you don't attach the full log report file when you encounter a problem.
Sorry about that, here's the log, I didn't even realize a log was generated. Sorry for the inconveneince.
Many thanks
 

Attachments

  • Thorhax-Saturn-Inject-Script-error.zip
    6.4 KB · Views: 13

EddieRiggs

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
27
Country
Russia
send me a PM with the image you tried to edit
Well, since I'm newbie it appears I cannot send you image or link to it via PM.
So, I'll attach it here. It's nothing personal, just japanese style saturn logo for splash screen =)
I'm not sure which editor was used for this particular pic, cos I've been trying a lot (to reduce size as well), but all of them are crashing the game the same way. Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • saturnlogo.png
    saturnlogo.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 10

Zephir1991

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
420
Trophies
0
XP
1,171
Country
Germany
The script is working - even if it throws errors at you like "failed to match key". Just ignore them. I've created 10 games so far using the script (all the same game) and installed them with Tinfoil. Tinfoil gave me an error every time I installed a game - and most of them didn't even work (blank icon loading thingy) but one game finally worked flawless.
No clue why - I've created every game the same way with Guardian as a base.

So if you get the script errors while creating your new NSp game, just try it out and check if it's working.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,225
Trophies
1
XP
8,685
Country
United Kingdom
If people want to get rid of the "failed to match key" warning messages, then edit the copy of prod.keys that you're using with the script (keep an unmodified copy elsewhere for safekeeping) and remove each line that has a key name from the warning messages.
 

Zephir1991

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
420
Trophies
0
XP
1,171
Country
Germany
your custom image is not working, use a different image, or open/edit/save it as a different type png/jpg, and/or resize it to something like 256x256
The Icon works correctly. The icon loading thingy is something that happens after installing the nsp. And well, it works if tinfoil installs those nsp games correctly.
Also Tinfoil throws errors like "failed to create placeholder" no clue why.
 

shadow256

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
498
Country
France
Sorry about that, here's the log, I didn't even realize a log was generated. Sorry for the inconveneince.
Many thanks
Your problem is the path where you have installed the script, it is a long path but the real problem is that it contain spaces. I've fixed this, your language problem will not be after an update and the problem of return to menu of injection also, even with spaces in your script's path. If you use an other function of the script and have some problems it could be the spaces in the installation path, I'm not sure that this bug isn't somewhere else in the script. With the new debug function I want to review all of the code, I will pay attention to this problem also to fix it everywhere (I'll also fix the parentheses problems in path witch is a frequent possible bug, not present anymore in the Saturn injection).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thorhax

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
834
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
2,278
Country
United States
Just discovered that it recognizes FDD saves from the PC emulator.
Recreate the Backup/FloppyDisk/Partition0/1 folders in romfs and add your bins.

Though you can read the saves, you can't write to FDD unfortunately.
2021101808524900-F6B98A8E3D88E9176AA9241DCAD1B777.png
I was toying with this about a week ago - it never occurred to me to use SSF to create the save image, though using the Floppy Disk... disc software you can move saves back and forth if you use the same .ini file per game
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
843
Country
United Kingdom
Well, since I'm newbie it appears I cannot send you image or link to it via PM.
So, I'll attach it here. It's nothing personal, just japanese style saturn logo for splash screen =)
I'm not sure which editor was used for this particular pic, cos I've been trying a lot (to reduce size as well), but all of them are crashing the game the same way. Thanks!
i was remaking it in 1080p, ill make you 2 versions of it
 
Last edited by ZER-O,

xYuunax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
1,453
Country
Hong Kong
I was toying with this about a week ago - it never occurred to me to use SSF to create the save image, though using the Floppy Disk... disc software you can move saves back and forth if you use the same .ini file per game
my ini doesn't save in the savedata, I have a workaround for it. But it's not ideal, as it breaks savestate.
I also use the same save file for all my games, as i've moved to using SimpleModManager to switch games.

But yes, you need to create the saves in the PC emulator, switch emu crashes when it tries to write to FDD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: matt!
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://imgur.com/gallery/JtV1pqy +2