Sandisk 8GB

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Kellicros, May 15, 2008.

May 15, 2008

Sandisk 8GB by Kellicros at 8:35 AM (3,605 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. Kellicros
    OP

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    I am thinking to get some extra space for my AK2, currently using Apacer Class6 4GB, and the performance is good, but I have been reading about problems with Sandisk 8GB Class4 cards on AK2, wonder if it is worth the switch. Also, anyone knows if a Class 6 8GB exist?
     


  2. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Most of the Sandisk 8gb cards that ive heard of are class 4 which shouldn't cause any troubles, but since you got a class 6 card you could use that for games that need that extra speed.
     
  3. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    i currently believe there is no class 6 8gb microsdhc
     
  4. OldPoem

    Newcomer OldPoem Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Thailand
    I've both and can confirm that for now some problems will arise when use Sandisk 8GB such as freezing in TWEWY.
     
  5. joshwaan2k

    Member joshwaan2k GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm thinking of purchasing a bigger card also so what a good fast 4GB or 8GB chip?

    I just don't want any slowdown at all if it can get helped.
     
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
  7. Kellicros
    OP

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Hmmm, I guess I will wait until the AK team solve the problems with Sandisk cards, or a Class 6 8G to surface...
     
  8. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Are you trimming the rom? I had a freezing issue with the end of the game until I used a clean 128MB.
     
  9. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Also I like to note that SDHC cards tend to draw more power than MicroSD cards. lso te higher the capacity, the more of a power drain. On average, a SDHC card tends to cut playing time by 30 minutes to 2 hours depending on the quality of the card and so on.
     
  10. layzieyez

    Member layzieyez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    United States
    Of the two I ordered from newegg, one was DOA and the other decided to stop working a few days later. Good luck to anyone else who orders these. Maybe it's a bad batch, but I'm never touching A-Data again. I'll hedge my bets with Transcend.
     
  11. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I've never used the A-Data (I have a 2GB Kingston microSD and it works pretty well with the AK2), but that A-Data is the one that everyone recommends, so I'm a little surprised you've had so much trouble with them.

    -Bri
     
  12. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    That's just some bad luck there. The A-DATA cards are considered the best right now for price/performance. I have one, but the rest of my microSDs are Kingston 2GB Japan (with a couple Taiwans).

    If you want reliability and service, go with Kingston. If you want speed and performance, go with A-DATA (and hope it breaks within 30 days or so...then you can use NewEgg or whoever you bought it from for support. I've heard that A-DATA is pretty bad when you have to deal with them directly).
     
  13. layzieyez

    Member layzieyez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    United States
    See, I thought all those one egg comments on newegg were either from people who didn't know their stuff was incompatible with SDHC or just computer illiterate people. I do IT for a living for the military. I trouble-shoot over half a million dollars worth of computer gear successfully on a regular basis. I figured that there was no way so many people could have bad luck. Well, bad luck or not, I'm just saying. I hope you like gambling. Luckily, it only cost me roughly $7 for my experiment with A-Data since I was able to return it for a few $ since I live in California. The only other time I've had a card corrupt on me was a Kington Japan 2GB that I tried to put too many roms onto without keeping space for a .sav file to be generated. I was able to send that one to Kingston directly because of their limited lifetime guarantee.
     
  14. SchuchWun

    Member SchuchWun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    The Burbs
    Country:
    Canada
    I have had nothing but problems with my sandisk and none with my kingston. sounds like the post above me did but were quickly resolved. I say stick to kingston so you know if there is any problems your covered.
     
  15. sushispoon

    Newcomer sushispoon Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    My problem is that most retailers don't mention the class anywhere on the order page! is there another way to tell?
     
  16. Norman3000

    Member Norman3000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Santa Rosa Laguna
    Country:
    Philippines
    What? there are 8gb microsds? i thought the maximum capacity of these micros are only up to 4gb?
     
  17. layzieyez

    Member layzieyez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    United States
    I use the 8GB microSDHC with my EDGE and there are absolutely no slowdowns in problem games or any game for that matter.
     
  18. sushispoon

    Newcomer sushispoon Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I kind of doubt this, has anyone run an actual test? I searched for SDHC Class/Size battery drain and didn't find anything conclusive. This could be a myth.
     
  19. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    It has been tested on a Cyclo DS and the info can be found at the Team Cyclops forum and was also posted here in the recent months.
     
  20. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    the 8 gb where can i buy one for a good cheap price
     

Share This Page