Safest way to unistall homerew?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ice God64, Feb 28, 2010.

Feb 28, 2010
  1. Ice God64
    OP

    Newcomer Ice God64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    East Coast
    Country:
    United States
    So yeah, I messed something up somewhere along the line. My Wii can no longer run GC backups, and for some reason, I can't install my AC:CF save anymore(Using Waninkoko's Savegame Manager). In addition to this, my Wii can no longer even install the Preloader. It crashes on the installer. My Wii still works fine for everything else, but not having the preloader both annoys and scares me, as I don't have the ability to install Bootmii. My console is too new.

    I am using system menu 3.2U, and wish to remove all homebrew, and start with a clean slate. What is the best way of doing this? If I have to update, how safe is it honestly?
    The last thing I did before these random problem occurred was use AnyRegionChanger. I think I accidentally selected an option I shouldn't have or something, because if I try to use it now, it never asks if I want to install system menu hacks or whatever. It also warns me that there is a country/region mismatch every time. I'm pretty sure that's a bad thing. Will updating to 4.2 fix it, or is that to risky?
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    There's a revirginize section in the complete softmod guide
     
  3. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    you cant install bootmii as boot2 but your on 3.2 firmware?

    impossible.
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    He might have downgraded from 3.4?
     
  5. Ice God64
    OP

    Newcomer Ice God64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    East Coast
    Country:
    United States
    Well, from 3.3.
     
  6. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    nope, woulda bricked.

    boot2v4 models cant have system menu or IOS past firmware 3.4

    install bootmii as boot2 asap!
     
  7. Ice God64
    OP

    Newcomer Ice God64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    East Coast
    Country:
    United States
    "The installed boot1 version prevents a boot2 install (-2)"
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Boot2 version has nothing to do with being able to install BootMii as Boot2, it's the boot1 version.
    Also, "Boot2v4" wii's aren't the only wii's that can't have BootMii as Boot2 [​IMG]
     
  9. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    don't uninstall anything, just install all new stuff. upgrade to 4.2 using xzxero's guide on this site, its the first sticky in the wii hacking section. deleting and uninstalling leads to bricks. if you want to be safe, just overwrite and update everything.
     
  10. Ice God64
    OP

    Newcomer Ice God64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    East Coast
    Country:
    United States
    So basically, I don't even have to update.
     

Share This Page