Safe to download off Shop Channel?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by 8BitWalugi, Jun 23, 2011.

Jun 23, 2011
  1. 8BitWalugi
    OP

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    My Wii is on version 4.3, and with the recent announcement of the Kirby TV Channel (And the lack of Right Back At Ya rips on the internet) I was wondering if it's safe to connect to the Shop Channel with the HBC and hacked IOS's.

    Yes, I'm still noob when it comes to Wii soft-modding.
     


  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it is safe.
     
  3. arogance1

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you 100% sure?
    If it was safe, there wouldn't be apps for installing channels once you've hacked your Wii
     
  4. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    it is safe if you can do it without online update
     
  5. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im sure it's safe to connect to the shop channel with a softmodded wii. i've done it before.
     
  6. BenRK

    Member BenRK GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    709
    Country:
    United States
    I've also connected to the shop channel and bought stuff with a softmodded Wii. Nothing bad happened.
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Your logic is flawed. Apps used for installing channels, such as a WAD manager, are often times used for installing custom channels, pirated channels, and etc.
     
  8. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ABSOLUTELY 100% SAFE, make sure you have the lastest Shopping channel though.
     
  9. arogance1

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on 4.2E and when I try to open the shop channel, it says I need to do a system update before I can use it
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Block updates with Priiloader. If you already have them blocked, then use ModMii to update your Shopping Channel. It should work fine then.
     
  11. manrayboy

    Newcomer manrayboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    No guys sorry but that does not work anymore nintendo has gotten a lil smarter I have done everything from Blocking updates on priiloader, reinstalling shop channel and even updating ios56 from the nintendo servers and still nothing. I was also about to download the kirby tv channel until i stumbled on this. Btw all of my ios are updated and everything so its something else
     
  12. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It is likely you missed something since no one else with the up-to-date files seems to be experiencing this problem. Did you try using ModMii to install the latest versions of your IOS files and the latest Wii Shop Channel? It is very easy to install the wrong version of something. [​IMG]
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it's just the cool kids who don't have problems. [​IMG]
     
  14. arogance1

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Installed PriiLoader, and installed Shop Channel again, both from ModMii and now I have Kirby TV Channel.

    Channel 2 only available until Monday and one of the eps not available in English
     
  15. manrayboy

    Newcomer manrayboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Im telling you i used modmii and did update wii shop channel from mod mii and i also updated ios56 what else is there to do?
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Go into Priiloader, System Menu Hacks, enable "Block Disc Updates" and "Block Online Updates", then hit Save.
     
  17. grifter.be

    Newcomer grifter.be Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi, i am on 4.1e. Do i need to update the wii? Everything works fine, but i would like to have all the channels... Like the Kirby +Channel, i also have lots of Wii points on my system, so the shop channel would be great. I have priiloader, but i have no idee if i got the ModMii... Is there any way to check this?
     
  18. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Modmii is a computer program to help mod your wii
    run modmii wizard to remod your wii, and this will update everything to reccomended versions
     
  19. grifter.be

    Newcomer grifter.be Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Belgium
    And how does that program know, what my wii is now... I mean, how does it know, what version and stuff i am using?
     
  20. ilman

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    umm you give it your system menu version and boom
    you've got a guide
     

Share This Page