Running other region GC games from SunDriver

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by midget, Apr 10, 2011.

Apr 10, 2011
  1. midget
    OP

    Newcomer midget Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have 2 Wii's as follows:

    White Wii
    Broken DVD Drive [​IMG]
    Softmodded to hell with all sorts of CIOS and MIOS but runs Wii games from my external hard disk great
    Wii Menu Version - 4.0E

    Black Wii
    Softmodded with banner bomb exploit + bootmii installed IIRC
    Wii Menu Version - 4.2E
    DVD Drive is a D2/D3? so cant play GC Games.

    I bought a SunDriver and have now tried it in both Wii's but it will not run anything but PAL gamecube backups. I have been reading about 4.2 upwards not having the ability to run other region games which would explain it not working on the Black wii. However the White Wii is only 4.0E so whats going on?

    is the softmod interfering? should I even have a softmod and a SunDriver installed at the same time?
    What would you do to get Gamecube games working? [​IMG]

    Thanks for any help [​IMG]
     
  2. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I doubt the softmod is interfering... (Maybe MIOS?) It may be that the SunDriver doesn't have the ability most modchips do to run other region games...

    You can probably region free or force pal on the Gamecubes using your softmod and play them region free, but I'm not sure about GC
     
  3. midget
    OP

    Newcomer midget Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi M1ro,

    Thanks for the reply [​IMG] I have tried PAL patching NTSC GC iso's to PAL with HPatch but that didnt work, I will try removing all MIOS from both Wii's and see what happens. Since it doesnt play GC games anyway there is nothing to lose [​IMG]
    I will let you know what happens once I have had the time to implement and test this

    Thanks again
     
  4. midget
    OP

    Newcomer midget Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok removing MIOS from Black Wii didnt work, I then downgraded to Sysmenu 4.1E and thats not worked [​IMG]
    strange.. I will try an NTSC wii game and see if this is specific to GC or not...
    Thanks


    EDIT:
    Same occurs with NTSC wii games, so I bit the bullet and used AnyRegion changer to switch my Wii to American and lo and behold my NTSC GC game runs perfect!
    I guess I will just have to switch region to run this game unless there is a way to be completely region free?....
    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  5. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    use neogamma to load discs and use priiloader for region free
     

Share This Page