Running Browser wih R4 DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by wild03, Feb 19, 2007.

Feb 19, 2007

Running Browser wih R4 DS by wild03 at 1:57 AM (1,436 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. wild03
    OP

    Newcomer wild03 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Hi All, I'm new to the DS, I tried searching for the answer and spent several hours reading the forum.
    Keep up the good work.

    I ordered a DS lite and a R4 DS. I'm interested in browsing the internet with it. just for kicks.

    I read that extra memory is required. I also read of a patch. Is the patch to avoid the extra memory?
    I know that there's a company that has a 3 in 1 solution, but I like challenges and working with what I have.

    R4 and DS Lite.

    I also read about DSLinux, can this be a browsing alternative?

    BTW, I'm on the US, so far I've only heard of Japanese and European versions of Opera. true? Will there be a US release?

    Just looking for my options, Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You need a slot 2 card that can play GBA games.....either Supercard or M3, depending on which patched version of Opera you use.
     
  3. wild03
    OP

    Newcomer wild03 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I see, How about Linux? has anybody been able to run it with the R4?

    SO far I heard of the following browsers but Not sure If they will work with the R4

    http://okiwi.blogspot.com

    http://gnirfleo.blogspot.com

    Any comments?
     
  4. R-Unit 4

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    There will be a US launch...trust me...March sometime maybe...and dslinux's retawq or links browser works.
     
  5. wild03
    OP

    Newcomer wild03 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot, I jumped into the R4 without realizing that homebrew support is not as extensive as with slot 2 devices, maybe in the near future more apps will become available!
     

Share This Page