Running Boktai 2 and 3 on EZflash IV

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by Archangel12, Jun 5, 2010.

Jun 5, 2010
  1. Archangel12
    OP

    Newcomer Archangel12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Morgantown, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible? So far I've had no luck, I only get white screens after attempting to load them. Any help would be appreciated as I've seen in random topics that people are able to run them.

    Unrelated I also get the same white screen on Pokemon hacks such as Pokemon Ash Gray and Lightning Yellow. Is it a patched game thing? Because I'm able to run Boktai 1 with the solar patch just fine.
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,660
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Try to SRAM patch them using GBATA [​IMG]
     
  3. Archangel12
    OP

    Newcomer Archangel12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Morgantown, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, still nothing, white screen on Boktai 2 after SRAM patch from GBATA, what in the world am I doing wrong?
     
  4. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    It depends on... do you know how to transfer roms? You´ve got to use EZ Client, otherwise, no roms will work.

    Also, make sure you download a EZClient with updated romlist as client without any updated list won´t recognize any roms and might cause save garbage.

    here:

    http://filetrip.net/f4753-EZ4-Client-2009-04-03.html

    Steps:

    1. Unzip in any folder.

    2. Run "updatelist.bat" BEFORE you run the client.

    3. Run EZclient and choose (of course you´ve got flashcart´s microsd plugged) the Micro SD letter.

    ; )
     
  5. Archangel12
    OP

    Newcomer Archangel12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Morgantown, KY
    Country:
    United States
    No I mean I know that much, all my other games run just fine, and so does Mother 3 that I just saved to NOR. But I mainly bought the cart to specifically run Boktai games and Pokemon hacks, and I'm having trouble running exactly that lol.
     
  6. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    Try that, then you post some results.

    lol ( ? )
     
  7. Archangel12
    OP

    Newcomer Archangel12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Morgantown, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, try what there pal?

    You mean what you posted? The exact thing that I've already done, and posted the previous results?

    My previous post was telling you that all of that has already been done, the games still won't run.
     
  8. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    Yes try that. You should be at least thankful as we´re "trying" to help "you".

    However that doesn´t matter. Pretty weird patches won´t work, it may be a kernel issue.

    Then try switching olders kernels. On EZflash IV newer kernel improves NDS compatibility but degrades GBA´s.

    I don´t really remember but EZ4 kernel 1.6 actually seemed the best one for me, as i could run games such yoshi´s island and super mario bros 3 (MA:4) while other versions couldn´t.

    pd: i´ve been looking for some kernels but i can´t find them for now.

    I´ve got backups of them anyway so if you´re still interested i can mp them
     
  9. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Boktai had a solar sensor if memory serves, while the patching DLL does have a fix for the first two in (hangover from the EZ1-3) it was not implemented into the EZ4client.

    Long story short some extra patches are needed beyond the usual save:
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/bubbz/?syst...p;section=patch (first and second game)
    http://s4.zetaboards.com/BoktaiOnline/topic/426993/1/ (translation and patches for the third).

    Once you have those in there run it through EZ4client (any version should work).

    As Coto says you might also want to drop down in loader versions, for the EZ4 lite and original versions (not lite compact and lite deluxe) the http://www.ezflash.cn/zip/EZ4loader060906.zip is pretty good (you will however lose the ability to stick a GBA game on the NOR and have a DS rom (run from the EZ4) detect it.

    @Coto if you are having trouble with super mario try 8:3 naming.
     
  10. Archangel12
    OP

    Newcomer Archangel12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Morgantown, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Never said I wasn't thankful, never even implied it, those are just things you practically have to do to get started, and I was trying to say that I'd obviously been using the client, as the games wouldn't have worked otherwise.

    So far I've had Boktai 1 with the solar patch work fine, Tales of the World 3 with english patch work fine, Mother 3 with english patch work fine, and I'm just puzzled as to why Boktai 2 and 3 just gives me a white screen. As of right now I'm using the exact kernel that you linked me to, as that's the most up to date one I can find.

    I suppose an older kernel might actually assist me as I have no need for DS support with this, so if you have the files then I'd greatly appreciate them.
     
  11. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    Yep FAST, first i want to congratulate you for the whole job you´ve been doing here, you´re one of those who LOVES to help others =).

    Ehm, yep, but 8+3 format didn´t work either (i don´t own EZ4 anymore) so a temporal workaround for this was to burn rom to NOR then i could run everything fine, then after months of investigating I found that downgrading kernel was my answer.


    BTW, archangel no problems =) peace , and as soon as i get my bro´s sd (where are kernels being stored), i´m sending MP to you.

    AND it´s always a good deal to have firmware in root of SD card, because sometimes EZ4 (at least mine) ran in corrupting because of bad save game or random problems and ´d corrupt firmware, meaning blank screens and whatsoever. This way, when you turn on console and keep pressing L (or R, i don´t remember) you could easily restore firmware.
     
  12. Archangel12
    OP

    Newcomer Archangel12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Morgantown, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I really don't get it Fast, I had all of my games pre-patched from the get go, they worked on VBA and the PSP emulator, but after applying the ones in the link, all of a sudden they work. I greatly appreciate the assistance guys.

    *High fives Coto and Fast

    And if you manage to find the 1.6 kernel feel free to send it to me, that might be my answer to my Pokemon hack problems(though chances are, they just won't run lol).
     
  13. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    Well.. As I promised:

    Here:

    EZ-FLASH IV 1.6 KERNEL


    http://www.mediafire.com/?iddhamiihzf

    TO EVERYONE WHO HAS SOME GBA COMPATABILITY ISSUE WITH EZ-FLASH IV, YOU MIGHT TRY THIS. Will fix mostly GBA Compatability problems which even EZ_Client can´t fix.

    However the more GBA Games are supported, the less NDS Games will be. Due to fixes


    USAGE:

    Unzip ezfla_up.bin in root of SD, then while you´re turning on GBA/DS system, keep R button pressed. A black update screen will appear with a percentage number upgrading firmware. When it´s done just turn game console off and enjoy.
     

Share This Page