1. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    So i used jksv on my 3ds copy of rune factory 4 and used checkpoint on rune factory 4 special JP VER and got save files for both versions. I created 3 saves on my 3ds and the switch version before extracting them. The files for both version are extremely similar, they are in the same format, 3 user saves and one system save, except they are named slightly different,
    rf4_s01.sav - rf4_s03.sav and rf4_sys.sav for the switch version
    rf4a.sav - rf4c.sav and rf4s.sav (system save) for the 3ds version.

    I renamed the 3ds saves to match the switch versions saves naming scheme and imported them and the game tries to initialize but then closes. Is there any way to get rune factory 4 3ds saves to work on the JP switch version? PS I switched back and forth between japanese and english saves using jksv on 3ds on a japanese and a usa copy of rune facory 4 3ds and never had a problem so the region difference should not be the problem. I've put in over 100 hours and really don't want it to go to waste. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Bump, Basically is it possible to use or convert the 3ds version's save files to work on the switch version?
     
  3. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,910
    Country:
    United States
    No bumping allow here on the forum.
     
  4. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I didn't know that.
     
  5. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,532
    Country:
    Poland
    You should at least upload saves if you want help.
     
  6. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to upload them to my original post, but they were not selectable on the upload a file option, I just now figured out that it had to be a zipped file, I'm very sorry about that. Here are the Saves.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,532
    Country:
    Poland
    Yeah, it looks like it uses new common save file that is different than in 3DS.
    Size of switch separate save file is little bigger than 3ds.
    Try to check this without replacing rf4_sys
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried it and the game formats itself. When you go to continue there are no saves to load from.
     
  9. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    The English Version has been leaked. I'd really like to use my 3ds save posted above if at all possible on the switch version. I've tried experimenting with both the 3ds and switch saves using hxd to match some parts of my switch save with my 3ds save and still no luck. Any help is appreciated.
     
  10. dawnbomb

    dawnbomb GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Canada
    it would be totally not possible to use your save, that should of been obvious. there is a *lot* of new content and lots of changes to the base game, and all of that is stuff the game save has to track. even if you could perfectly convert the save, the switch would look for more then the 3ds save has stored / is tracking, and crash.

    that said, i'd like to ask for a clear save of the USA version. the game has NG+ only modes / orders, and i'd like to play the NG+ only content (fucking god damn bullshit japanese developers putting NG+ mandatory on every fucking game like i have nothing better to do then to dump 70 hour per game TWICE. FFS)

    would be very appreciated. :)
     
  11. DrYoshi

    OP DrYoshi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    What are the ng+ only things, are they the same as the 3ds stuff like the mirror dungeon and the orders to recruit the wind dragon? I did almost everything in the game along with those on 3ds. Did the Switch version add new newgame+ elements or is it the same as the 3ds?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Factory, Special, version