Run low on NAND free blocks

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by myron0815, Aug 11, 2009.

Aug 11, 2009

Run low on NAND free blocks by myron0815 at 12:52 PM (2,227 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. myron0815
    OP

    Newcomer myron0815 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,
    did some softmodding of a friend's virgin WII (3.3)
    Worked so far.

    Unfortunately, looking into the WII data manegement, i see only about 100 free nand blocks!!!
    (got a message ingame, that there was not enough room for save game!)
    Can't imagine, what filled the complete WII!
    Any ideas, how to find the big ressource hogs?!?

    He just has a bunch of saves, all small.
    WII fit channel, nintendo channel, WorldOfGoo... but thats sums it quite up. (cant remember the exact sizes, but they shouldnt use that much)

    I'm on 3.1, have dozens of saves and many more channels, but _still_ ~1000 free blocks!
    How come?

    Any ideas where to look for some issues?
    Is there some AnyTitleDeleter mod outside with displaying the used blocks?
    Or any other filesystem lister?!?
     
  2. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Move channels and WiiWare games to the SD Card. Problem solved.
     
  3. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Wiiware take a lot of space.
    Certain channel too (especially those with sound)
    I've remove d all system channel (photo, mii, shop, news, forcast) I don't know if this can give more space
    I'm in 4.1 with, i htink 1000 free block
     
  4. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    Check saved games, some like SSBB takes a lot of space.
     
  5. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just wondering but how did u remove the system channels?

    doesnt the wii need these channels to run properly?
     
  6. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    You can remove the system channels with any title deleter i dont think it gives you thet much space though.........
     
  7. myron0815
    OP

    Newcomer myron0815 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks so far.
    will try to move some big channels to SD.
    (although i still do not know what takes so much space there, since virgin wii with no wiiware whatsoever)

    (Tried moving already some saves, but this renders them unuseable?!
    Games didn't seem to recognise them. Hope this will work with channels...
    Or will this only work on 4.x?!)
     
  8. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That video that comes on new wiis about what you can do on the interwebs takes up an awful lot of room.
     
  9. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Exact, with ATD.
    I've done this because they're, for me, useless. (so I didin't delete them for room)
     
  10. sl33p

    Member sl33p GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    If you've played Pro Evolution Soccer on the console then the save files for that alone will take up close to 200 blocks if I remember correctly (2 separate files).

    I think the Opera Web browser is another space hog.
     

Share This Page