Run GBA Roms w M3 DS simply

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by efaustus9, Jul 18, 2007.

Jul 18, 2007

Run GBA Roms w M3 DS simply by efaustus9 at 6:41 PM (10,762 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. efaustus9
    OP

    Newcomer efaustus9 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    Country:
    United States
    Just today I received both my new Ds lite w the M3 DS simply slot 1 flash loader. I updated the firmware to 1.6 and so far DS roms and DS related homebrew works fine. My problem is that I can not get GBA roms and GBA oriented homebrew to load from this slot 1 loader. One of the selling points of the M3 DS simply for me was the fact that it could run gba roms but up to now I cant figure out how. So if you could please excuse my nativity and help me out if you would. Thanks in advance.

    ~Evan
     


  2. yoshi43

    Newcomer yoshi43 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    you can't run GBA things from a slot 1 device.... *runs far far away*
     
  3. KeitaroBaka

    Member KeitaroBaka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    France
    Your first post and not using the search button. You'll be flammed soon. [​IMG]
     
  4. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    Flame suit on. [​IMG]

    Always do a search first and then ask.
     
  5. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    One of the selling points? Where/who said it could run gba roms?
     
  6. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OMFG THESE RETARDED NOOB QUESTIONS ARE ANNOYING

    first of all, youre buying a flash card to pirate ds games
    WHY NOT BUY A GBA FLASH CART TO PIRATE GBA GAMES????

    secondly, the ds is not capable of doing that. gba games require a very fast speed and thats why they are flashed to a special kind of ram on a flashcard before playing, whereas ds games can run at a lower speed.
    the internal ram of the ds is only 4mb

    and NO

    the ds slot 1 cant play ; ps1, ps2, ps3, ps4, xbox, xbox360, xbox720, n64, ngc, wii, gba, psp, gp2x


    LOOK AROUND BEFORE BOTHERING US
     
  7. KeitaroBaka

    Member KeitaroBaka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    France
    Couldn't have said better [​IMG]
     
  8. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A little harsh I think as I have seen many sellers advertise the M3 Simply and others as being able to run GBA games on them. Would be nice if people remembered that not everyone who owns a DS knows all about this.

    Now if they were asking about N64 emulation then you can bitch and moan.
     
  9. - Wrath of God -

    Member - Wrath of God - God

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Country:
    United States
    Really? Like who?
     
  10. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only one I remember the name of was Mr Modchips, they said the M3 Simply could play GBA titles when I was looking at prices a couple of months back, but then that site has said many lies.

    Anyway even if it didn't say its not that silly to assume that they would play them seeing the DS has a GBA cart. Of course people should really ask or do research FIRST but you know we were all newbies once.

    Think I'm going soft in my old age.

    EDIT: Just checked that site and they don't say it now.
     
  11. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Hadrian you said"I have seen many sellers that advertse it as being able to run gba titles." But when asked which ones, you could only think of one. One isnt many.
     
  12. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lewl.....rant on.
    awwww honey calm down. [​IMG]
     
  13. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well ignore me then!! Do you jot down every site you go on?

    Just sticking up for the newbies.
     
  14. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i apoligise

    ignore the rant.

    btw, does anyone know about Bamboogaming having

    "THE R4 CANT PLAY GBA"
    in big red letters when your on the r4 page?
     
  15. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To the topic owner, I think you've had your question answered. To be honest, flashcart retailers don't make it clear enough that slot-1 cards can not and will never be able to play GBA games. I would report your own post asking one of the mods to close this topic.

    - Sam
     
  16. efaustus9
    OP

    Newcomer efaustus9 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    Country:
    United States
    To thoughts who provided constructive feedback, thank you for help and patience. I am a little disappointed that I cant play gba games but more so that most of the worthwhile home brew emulators are gba based. Im currently using dsnester for my emulation needs with marginal success (most games run slow, and many dont run, notably SMB & MTPO). Do you have any suggestions that may help me get my rom collection mobile. I am not completely adverse to the idea of procuring a cheap slot-2 loader that will not detract from my new ds lite's ascetic appeal if such a thing exists. Thanks again [​IMG]
     
  17. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A EZF4 deluxe is your best bet if you want the best GBA compatibility
    if youre leaning towards homebrew and emulator, an SC lite is great and cheaper too. the GBA support is horrible though.
    Said RAM in which GBA games must be flashed to before being able to play them is very slow on the sc lite, thus giving lots of slowdowns.

    the EZ4 deluxe however has good ram that allows you to play any game (this is what makes it deluxe, previous versions could only load GBA games under 128mbit because that was the size of the RAm) And you can also flash a game to NOR storage, which is what you had to do in the nondeluxe version if the game is larger that 128mbit or uses a 1mbit save, which is only a handful, but takes AGES to do (256mbit rom takes upwards of 5 mins). The advantage of this is that the cart will act like a real cart, allowing for ds/gba connectivity (pokemon needs a patch though) and instant startup if you select it from the ds boot menu

    the EZ4 deluxe also has the same glossy finish as the dsl and is available in many colors. i think its just about flush in the ds, not sure though
     
  18. flai

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's no need to be snappy. Slot 1 devices cannot play GBA games. Slot 2 devices can but you need to buy a Passcard 3 to make it work for DS ROMS. Slot 1 is for DS ROMS and homebrew only. The ease of use and the higher ROM compatibility rates are the selling points of Slot 1 cards.
     
  19. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the place you brought it from says it plays GBA games then they may be unaware of the error in their product description. So if you can drop them an email to ask them to change it that'd be great [​IMG] They probably haven't even noticed it, and it'll stop other people from being caught out in the future. (I do a similar job, and it's really useful when people point out things like that. Better to hear it from a customer who is happy with their purchase anyway than from an irate one demanding a refund. [​IMG] )

    (I will confess to rolling my eyes at the topic title, but when you've explicitly read someone say it can then it's not really your fault so I'll let you off [​IMG] )
     
  20. nds_gamerz

    Newcomer nds_gamerz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    noobs..........
     

Share This Page