run backups gc on wii ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shayan, Dec 19, 2006.

Dec 19, 2006

run backups gc on wii ? by shayan at 7:51 PM (2,363 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. shayan
    OP

    Newcomer shayan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France
    how to play the backup gamecube on the wii ?

    it is possible yes or not with the action replay and reader sd of the gamecube ?
     
  2. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    it not as of now


    it is "possible" though
     
  3. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    wha? how do you know its "possible"? For now it isnt possible to run any backups on the Wii, either Gamecube or Wii's.

    Although homebrew from the GC scene is possible, such as emulators and stuff.
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If so backups are too (I would say). Just need to know how [​IMG].
     
  5. pinbi7

    Member pinbi7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Canada
    you could run linux on a toaster,"just need to know how" [​IMG]

    alors vous pourier vous grignoter la biscote entre copains [​IMG] [​IMG]

    get it? toaster...biscote

    MAIS CE-QU'IL EST DROOOOOLE! [​IMG]
     
  6. Helmut

    Member Helmut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    France
    Could be possible since a GC backup fits into a 2GB SD. Could someone with all the stuff required test?
     
  7. Tedorama

    Newcomer Tedorama Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You cant boot a GCM (gamecube image) from a SD card only a *.dol file (gamecube executable) usually the process is to boot the dol from memory/SD card, swap for a backup dvd then boot (or stream over BBA from a PC).
    there is no way to boot a GCM from SD. (yet?) although I would have though the Wii>SD interface would be to slow
     
  8. deufeufeu

    Member deufeufeu GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
    too slow... some games runs fine by broadcasting them on the gamecube. So it could work.
    But one has to reroute every drive access routines to sd, a bit like hd loader on the ps2. It could work because these routines where already retouted by the net loader. If it wasn't done before is maybe because it is too much bother.
    I don't think right now that major groups are interested in the running of gc backups, they are all focusing on the wii (playing tennis right now [​IMG]).
    If the wii scene is completly still for another 2 or 3 months, maybe some will make some gc backups loader to revive a bit the scene...
    My 2 cents, only guessing...
     
  9. inter4ever

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    But do the older methods such as Max Drive Pro work?
     
  10. Wizzcat

    Newcomer Wizzcat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Norway
    Completely different dvd drive, so no.
     

Share This Page