RPG Maker DS and Kaiju Busters Powered Translation Topic!

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Naito-Tanuki, May 22, 2011.

  1. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Introductions
    Don't you get annoyed by the fact, no one has made the slightest effort of even thinking to translate your favourite games? When Nintendo can't be bothered to localize them for western players... So, I am taking my time to try and translate the titled games because they are great to play and have fun with.

    Why RPG Maker DS?
    If you are familiar with the PC Versions (2000, 2k3, XP and VX), then it's just enjoyable to have the DS version to play on the go. But a bit boring, when the game is in another language and you really can't progress much without the need for English integrated in the game.

    Why Kaiju Busters Powered?
    I just love watching the old Gojira movies (I have all 28 on DVD! [​IMG] ), so I decided to have a go and translate this aswell. The Godzilla Unleashed DS Game was terrible in my opinion.

    Who's helping out?

    No one. I kinda like the idea of doing it by myself because that way, I am sorta learning, but I will ask for help when I needed.

    Any Progress so far?

    RPG Maker DS - Changed the DS Info into English from Japanese. [​IMG] Not much.
    Kaiju Busters Powered - Changed DS Info into English from Japanese and slowly editing Title Screen.

    PS. I suck at CrystalTile 2.
     


  2. Shiro09

    Member Shiro09 AAI2 Localisation Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    764
    Country:
    Australia
    Good Luck! [​IMG] You'll need it.. jk. But seriously Good luck to your translations.
    EDIT: Just opened up RPG Maker DS and there seems to be plenty of folder/sub folders so this will probably take a while.

    PS: CT2 is very handy.
     
  3. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using Tahaxan now, CrystalTile 2 is just too challenging.
    [​IMG] The middle piece says 'Trial, but I wonder what the rest is, care for someone to help?
     
  4. link491

    Member link491 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    if you need help, i am pretty farmiliar with rpg maker ds and if you send me screens, ill gladly translate them ( i cant ds rom hack) pm me if your interested! [​IMG]
     
  5. bejiman

    Member bejiman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Philippines
    Sweet! Here's hoping you can break the language barrier for us. [​IMG]
     
  6. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am completely sucking at this!!!!
     
  7. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    so list the problems you are having and or the questions so we can help.
     
  8. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Everything!!!!!!!!!! o.O
     
  9. link491

    Member link491 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    again, my help is extended to translate most of the menus in rpg maker ds via screenshot! :.|
     
  10. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, so what language code is Japanese when using the hex editor in CrystalTile2?
     
  11. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,809
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
    Should be code page 932 in CT2, but.... shouldn't it tell you? :wtf:
    http://puu.sh/2h6S
     
  12. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine just shows up as Code Page - (Language Number). Do I need to download something?
     
  13. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,809
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on your CT2 version.

    I have the latest with these files: http://puu.sh/2h7e
     
  14. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The logo's a different colour to mine (pink). Where do I get this version?
     
  15. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,809
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
  16. kosheh

    Member kosheh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    United States
    Not to shit on parades here, but I have to say for a single person to take on two projects this big at once is pretty....ambitious. Especially if you're just starting out with romhacking!

    Nonetheless, I wish you the best of luck - you're like, fighting dinosaurs here :| I don't mind offering a little help - by that I don't mean writing custom tools for you or anything, but if you need me to check out how a file's encrypted or methods of going about editing things, I'll take a look and make some suggestions as to how to tackle it.

    You probably had problems with CrystalTile because the image files in question use some sort of data compression. There's a tool called "LZSS Data/Huffman Compression" within CT2 I believe in one of the Alt menus somewhere that deal with the LZ77 image compression found in most DS games. However you'll need to have extracted those files first in order to best work with them.


    SHIFT-JIS won't always work with the text data though - I've found Unicode to be pretty prevalent as well.

    also whoa, PG I didn't know a newer version of CT2 existed; I'm gonna have to pick that up to see what they've changed. I remember there was one version, locked so it wasn't fully usable and this one apparently is ~unlocked~ :V

    so uhm, a thank you from me as well.
     
  17. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  18. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,809
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
    Please note that not all files will be LZ compressed. At times they may be different, in which you have to find out how to view it and which part has the palette or if the palette is even in that file.

    If I were you, I'd look up other topics involving the two games you want to translate to see what they've found out and/or why they stopped. Maybe they ran into a hacking snag. If you're just starting romhacking, you may want to drop the most difficult game or have the thread locked and unlock it once you have enough hacking/translating done to actually announce anything. If you don't know Japanese or have a Japanese translator helping, you may just want to get the hacking out of the way and/or wait until you do have one so you're not machine translating, which turns out to be... bad.


    Regardless, good luck. For two projects, you'll need it, especially for RPG Maker.
     
  19. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyway what is the best settings for this?!
    EDIT:I heard that Normatt did a small translation and somehow released his works somewhere....
     
  20. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,809
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the game. It's best if you find settings suits each file. You can dump the text with CT2, but you'll have to insert it via hex editor, which is by hex codes and even then you have to make sure the text fits and you didn't mess anything up.

    GBAtemp has a search feature that you can use or you can search via google and just add "gbatemp" at the end so only searches within gbatemp will popup.
    You may want to learn more about romhacking, though. That's my advice, take it or not, it's up to you. I'm suggesting what will help you the most, though.
     

Share This Page