Roms, Wads, and help needed

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by dori2o, Oct 13, 2009.

Oct 13, 2009

Roms, Wads, and help needed by dori2o at 9:52 PM (933 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. dori2o
    OP

    Newcomer dori2o Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK.

    I've got loads of ROMS on my PC that I have had for years. My wife loves playing them, something about taking her back to her youth (Didn't realise the games were that old......... don't tell her I said that..LOL)

    So, now that she had discovered the Wii, and I've dragged her kicking and screaming into the 21st Century, I was hoping there was a way to put these roms onto the wii.

    The loves the old Sega Mega Drive games, street fighter etal,and Paperboy on the C64.

    Can anyone suggest a way to get these to play oin the wii? Can they be converted to WADs?
     
  2. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
  3. dori2o
    OP

    Newcomer dori2o Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK thanks.

    1 question. Does the ROM have to be the same regiopn as the Wii, or are roms not usually region coded

    I'd also like to apply the same question to making wads via autoinjectuwadinjectorv3, i.e. does the rom have to be ion the same region as the wii, or is there no region coding on roms?
     
  4. xaxa

    Newcomer xaxa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Country:
    United States
    no, if you're using an emulator. I'm not sure about wads.
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wads are regionlocked. But that's easy to defeat.
    preloader for example can make the system menu regionfree.
     
  6. dori2o
    OP

    Newcomer dori2o Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    OK, but if I am using a ROM injecxtor, is it the ROM or the WAD I am injecting into that needs to be the correct region?
     

Share This Page