RomeR Beta Released *Update*

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Feb 3, 2007.

Feb 3, 2007

RomeR Beta Released *Update* by Opium at 12:12 AM (8,433 Views / 0 Likes) 50 replies

  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia







    RomeR Beta Released *Update*

    Add icon files & edit ROMs








    GBAtemp's very own Kyuzumaki has released the first beta of his ROM editing tool RomeR. Among other things this tool allows you to add or change an icon file for any ROM, both commercial and homebrew.



    [​IMG]




    [​IMG] Download


     


  2. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    In some cases, this program could be found to be very useful.
     
  3. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the heads up h8ter! But yeah, you have a point. Some homebrew will only boot if the gamecode is a certain string (can't remember it off the top of my head)
     
  4. Flyfishing

    Newcomer Flyfishing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Miami, FL - USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's for the EZ-V. Gamecode must be "PASS".

    Source
     
  5. antwill

    Member antwill Better Than You

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    This program looks very interesting, whats the quality of the icons? is there a certain size you must use for the image, as theres some icons that dont look very good.
     
  6. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Tested working on:

    DS-X
    R4 DS
    EZ-V

    Other cards haven't been tested yet.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Öhr

    Member Öhr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    Germany
    finally! i always wanted such an app!
     
  8. trepid

    Newcomer trepid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    tried this on some PALib files, but it screwed up the spacing seemed like it added a bunch of extra spaces on my DS-X anybody else have this?
     
  9. ros_128

    Newcomer ros_128 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    yes! thank you. now i can finally put icons on some of my homebrew apps! no more ugly blank spaces. [​IMG]
     
  10. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Thank you, thank you, thank you! Finally I can have nice icons on my M3 and R4. [​IMG]
     
  11. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    What An Awesome Idea. I can't test it yet (My loader isn't an icon showing one) but i will when i get my slot one.
     
  12. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey trepid the spaces were inserted in my last build to combat a different bug I was hopeing the ds would ignore them, what exactly is going wrong for you?

    Regarding the icons they must be 32 x 32 and have a 16 color pallete (same limits as the original icons) I suggest you make a gif image with a 16 color pallete. When i say 16color i don't mean the 16 colors forced in paint when you save a bmp the colors are described by proper RGB values so 15bits per color.

    Transparency is the issue i'm currently trying to fix some icons become transparent where you don't want them to. Still trying to figure out how the ds detects icon transparency. If anyone knows or figures it out before me lemme know [​IMG]
     
  13. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Why my custom images resized to 16 colour 32*32 bitmaps look soooo ugly(so little colours) while official icons look full of colours, anyone know why?

    Any software that can help me on this one?
     
  14. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you use adobe photoshop resize the image to 32x32 and then select File>Save for web. In the options set the format to gif, colors to 16, dither off. Thats how I created the sample icons.
     
  15. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Unfortunately i do not have Adobe Photoshop [​IMG]

    Also, there seems to be a bug when trying to edit 'embeded title' on Jump Ultimate Stars it seems to create entire blank line and icon seems to be f*cked up. Dunno why [​IMG]
     
  16. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info khan I know whats wrong, that problem was introduced with the R4 compatability working on a fix now.
     
  17. VascoAlmeida

    Member VascoAlmeida Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Portugal
    Could someone make a icon for Beup Live Messenger ?
     
  18. monkeymachine

    Member monkeymachine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Japan
    Cool idea!

    What's the 'Homebrew App' tag for? How are ROMS treated differently if this is selected?
     
  19. IHM

    Newcomer IHM Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will this effect the game in anyway? Such as, will it stop say Mario Kart DS working on WiFi?
     
  20. Flyfishing

    Newcomer Flyfishing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Miami, FL - USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, it will not change how the game acts. It just changes the header, so the "inner workings" of the game will remain untouched.
     

Share This Page