Rom trimmer

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by hbk2015, Jan 3, 2007.

Jan 3, 2007

Rom trimmer by hbk2015 at 3:51 AM (8,877 Views / 0 Likes) 72 replies

  1. hbk2015
    OP

    Newcomer hbk2015 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Australia
    Ive just ordered a R4, and 1gb Kingston card. Im quite new to all this, and Ive heard a couple of ppl talking bout rom trimmer, I was just wondering what this was, and what the point of using it was? thanx.
     


  2. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    A rom trimmer removes the empty space inside a backed up game (the rom), so it will save space
     
  3. Densen

    Newcomer Densen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Australia
    To expand on that, when roms are dumped, the complete size of the game's cart is copied, even if only a portion of that cart has game data in it. So a rom might be 32mb but the game only really uses 26mb. The rom trimmer will find the unused space and remove it, without touching the actual game data.

    I hope that makes sense [​IMG]
     
  4. Philosophy

    Newcomer Philosophy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any downsides to rom trimming? I'd like to cram more stuff on a card, but don't want to compromise performance. (probably a newb question)
     
  5. Rayout

    Member Rayout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    No, trimming won't affect the gameplay at all (at least not with the Supercard trim-rom). All it should do is remove all the "filler" data that normally fills the rest of the space on a regular game cart.

    You might accidentally trim out game data if you did it normally like people had to do at the start of the NDS scene but the provided software shouldn't do anything nasty like that.

    Edited for grammar...D*mn you commas!
     
  6. rippon

    Newcomer rippon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    Really, it should be "D*mn you, commas!", because the commas are the subject, like you would say "this is my friend, Steve" or "please, feel free to fornicate with my sister, Gloria", or "please damn my smelly hillbilly father, Stinky Whistleteets".

    Or smth... I just wanted to be funny [​IMG] Also sorry about the off topic post [​IMG]
     
  7. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can trim roms for those *new* slot-1 devices. I personally would only trim roms that don't have download play or if download play doesn't work. Sorry for the sloppy response.
     
  8. Rayout

    Member Rayout GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    Reverse grammar nazi'd ;(
     
  9. Philosophy

    Newcomer Philosophy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Rayout and thaigrocer for the answers. Trying to get 15+ on my card to have a nice variety. I decided to say screw it and go cheap online for my sd versus best buy, so I have a 1gig Kingston coming on Thurs. A bit off topic, but how many roms on average have yall been able to get on a 1gig? And if anyone who hasent' trimmed vs. trimming can answer would be cool.
     
  10. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I'm currently in the process of putting a few roms on my card right now for when my R4 ships this week (I've got a Kingston 1GB as well) and so far, I've got 17 roms on there (trimmed) and I've still got about 276MB free. Really depends on what the size of the games you're putting on there are, but if you're trying to fit a lot, I'd definitely say to trim them first. There's apparently no disadvantage to doing it, and like I was telling someone in another thread, Pokemon - Diamond (128MB) got trimmed to 58.5MB and FFIII (128MB) got trimmed to 97.9MB. So a lot of games actually do wind up having useless padding space.
     
  11. Philosophy

    Newcomer Philosophy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. Leave a little space for the save files and I'm good. Thanks
     
  12. Nestea80

    Member Nestea80 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Canada
    I think there's a disadvantage for trimming Mario vs Donkey Kong 2. I remember reading somewhere that the game uses that "empty space" when you download levels or something like that.
     
  13. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Once, I trimmed REDS with the ROM Trimmer provided by the R4 and it gave me white screens... Maybe REDS won't work trimmed?
     
  14. hydouken

    Newcomer hydouken Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    what option should I chose when trimming a ROM? Isnt there 3 options to choose from?
     
  15. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    Nah. Just download the ROM trim tool from the site (link). You just specify the rom path and filename as well as the output path and filename (a default one with _trim appended to it will be automatically generated) and trim.
     
  16. HayateSlash

    Newcomer HayateSlash Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    i'm pretty new to DS scene too and so, its 100% safe in terms of usage? i mean

    any chances to get a rom corrupted using a trimmer tool?

    idiot question as usual for me lol


    thx [​IMG]
     
  17. hmvh1

    Newcomer hmvh1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    this their anyway to create a script that will do a batch trim on all my roms at the same time.
     
  18. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes found this http://forums.ds-xtreme.com/showthread.php?t=1050 on the ds-xtreme forums. (All credit for software goes to ShortFuse)

    To use the software with an R4:

    1: Create a folder [flash drive letter]:\apps\ (this mimics the ds-x structure)
    2: Place your roms in there! Now you can use the tool to manage your roms.

    The trimming algorithm is more fullproof than the one the R4 trimmer uses so it won't give you white screens.

    The code has been posted for anyone whos interested. I'm thinking of creating a new tool similar to this but with the idea of being more generic instead of only catering for a single cart. [​IMG]

    CODE/*
    * NDS Trimmer (ndstrim) v1.0
    *  written by ShortFuse
    */
    #include
    #include
    using namespace std;

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    ÂÂÂÂif (argc != 3)
     cout
     
  19. nico402

    Newcomer nico402 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Italy
    thanks 4 the code! i was going to start writing one by myself!
     
  20. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    On average, I have around 20 to 25 roms on a 1gb microsd (with trimming on my supercard).

    And It's my guess that trimming won't let you use the rom to its full potential on slot 1 devices, since you'd be editing the file and it wouldn't be a 1:1 copy anymore.
     

Share This Page