rom regions

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by gcstr, Oct 26, 2007.

Oct 26, 2007

rom regions by gcstr at 6:14 AM (1,069 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. gcstr
    OP

    Newcomer gcstr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    I have yet to buy one - most likely the m3real or cyclods but with regards to roms, does it matter what region they are? I would think not but just want to be sure. - Meaning I can use (jap)(us) and (europe) roms on my Australian DS.

    (sorry if this is posted in the wrong area)
     
  2. sonic209

    Member sonic209 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    All the DS are the same meaning yes you can [​IMG]
     
  3. gcstr
    OP

    Newcomer gcstr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks sonic.
    what about real ds games, are they regionised?
     
  4. sonic209

    Member sonic209 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean like in different languages or something?
     
  5. gcstr
    OP

    Newcomer gcstr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    i mean, if I buy a real game in Japan will it work with my Aus DS? (like how xbox you can't)


    And Just to make sure I understand - before you said ROMs will work on any DS and any region problems - thats good.
     
  6. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Both ROMs and real DS carts are region-free meaning they will work on any DS.
     
  7. Chevreuse

    Newcomer Chevreuse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Singapore
    Besides, DS carts aren't the same as DVDs which some are region-locked.
     
  8. backlash

    Newcomer backlash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Australia
    Any ROM/game will work on ANY DS. Japanese ROMs are obviously Japanese with the occasional English option. USA ROMs have just English, whereas European ROMs normally have a variety of European languages.
     
  9. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Just a language/grammar difference. All ROMs work on all DS flash carts.
     
  10. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    If you use a Japanese game, it will change your language settings in the DS Firmware to Japanese. Just a heads up, nothing big that would destroy your ds or anything. (Just change it back afterwards).
     
  11. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Not true. I play Japanese ROMs all the time, and my DS firmware is still English.
     
  12. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Mine changes all the time, it started happening after I bought Pokemon: Pearl in Japanese for kicks. Now every time I use a real... WAIT, I meant card. Hmm, I guess I misread the topic.
     
  13. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Same here.

    The DS isn't region locked.

    ~Nero
     
  14. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I thought Chinese real DS cards only run on Chinese systems? But anyway... The region does matter. Some titles have different selectable languages, etc. Others will only connect to same-region GBA or Wii games.
     
  15. Freaker

    Newcomer Freaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    That's strange. I bought Meteos in Japanese and my language settings have always been English. Played (J) Roms as well without having any language change.
     
  16. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DS has a built in language setting, but not all games use it.
     
  17. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    I remember all sorts of problems with the japanese carts. It turned my Sonic Rush into Japanese too (well, the starting menus). It was an English cart, the language settings in the DS just changed to japanese after the cart was put in. Like I said before, it's not like it's a problem.
     

Share This Page