Rom downloading at College

campbell00

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Here's the deal, I'm itching to give Pokemon Black* a whirl, along with some other SNES games (that I own. didn't bring it with me to college). The thing is, I'm a freshman at college, and I have no idea what is safe and what is not. I know that using P2P services like Bittorrent is asking for trouble, but what about regular downloads? Does anyone know the process in which people are detected for copyright infringement?

*I have no intention of playing the JAP version. I fully intend to buy it; I'm just really curious about the revamp battle system.

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
You're on their network, they can see what you do.

They simply look at what you're doing and determine if it's illegal or not the way a normal person does.
tongue.gif

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
Trophies
XP
Country
Just use a proxy to bypass the server, they can still catch you but it's harder+ depending on the computer techs there, you might not even get caught.

jefffisher

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
use SSL, or just don't worry about it colleges really don't care what you do on their network as long as you don't get them in trouble they wont complain if no one complains to them.

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
Trophies
XP
Country
TheDestroyer said:
Junior here, and I did download games on my campus and even play MMO lol
Lol back when I played maple, I remember me and a friend were in the school library doing our work, lol the schools net was slow so we started downloading maple (it was about 700mb then) and it said 3days, we left it on for 3 days, go to the school library later and it was complete lol, then...we played!

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States