Rolling back homebrew channel to 1.03 from 1.06

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Am0s, Nov 16, 2009.

Nov 16, 2009
  1. Am0s
    OP

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all I dunno if there is a guide but I couldnt find 1 and wanted to share this as I had this issue some weeks ago.

    I updated my homebrew channel to the 1.06 version and while it looks nice I tried to use the preloader to go straight to homebrew and it cant find it, so I tried to update preloader as it says an important update, and it hangs itself when you click it, even tried to get the update to 0.30 and loaded it through pre laoder and got a crash dump.

    All I wanted was a bit of protection and homebrew working through preloader and this is what I did

    I click load/install file and chose the boot.dol which was hbc 1.03 version I think, then I click load install file and the hackmii installer worked again, and I installed the homebrew channel again, and now the homebrew channel works from preloader, but as a side affect I have 2 homebrew channels

    I just wanted to chare this if somone is in the same situation as I was
     
  2. oddgriffin

    Newcomer oddgriffin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    akron, ohio usa
    Country:
    United States
    come to think of it. i finally clicked that damn update thing cause i was tired of it prompting me all the time, and i never did check to see if all the files and their dependencies would work together, it never occured to me so i guess i better look and see lol
     
  3. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    the update feature on preloader doesn't work

    HBC 1.0.6 has JODI as it's ID
    HBC 1.0.3 has HAXX as it's ID

    preloader .29 and below looks for HAXX
    preloader .30 and priiloader look for JODI first then HAXX

    don't downgrade HBC
    update priiloader
     
  4. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Country:
    Philippines
    i thought priiloader also checks for HAXX if JODI is not found?

    btw i also got that problem when i updated homebrew channel cause it keeps bugging me to update. but i just read somewhere about haxx being chaned to jodi because of the 4.2 update and you gotta allso update preloader so i just installed the preloader .30 and everything was fine
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    thats correct
     
  6. wiiuser2

    Member wiiuser2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I did, but with priiloader .30 the forwarder dol to start the CFG USB loader at startup doesn't work anymore. Very annoying.
    So I switched back to Preloader 0.29 and HBC 1.03. This combo does all I want (on 4.1E)
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    DeadlyFoez... I just searched like crazy and can't find the Haxx to Jodi Forwarder wad, all i could find is another post by you referencing it here.

    If you happen to have the wad, can you post or PM me a link?

    thx a lot.

    ~xflak
     
  8. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Sweet, thanks guys. I am going to try to use hide and seek to make this channel invisible, if I manage to get it to work i will post my findings (unless I forget, lol).
     
  10. mooseknuckle2000

    Member mooseknuckle2000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Country:
    United States
    on a slightly off-topic note, I prefer the older version of the HBC as well, but mostly because I hate the new "delete" button when starting an app. Readily accessible delete buttons and small children don't mesh well.
     
  11. wiiuser2

    Member wiiuser2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Downgrading from HBC 1.06 to 1.03 is very simple:
    1. from HBC 1.06 start the installer for HBC 1.03 (ignore the upgrade warning).
    you now have two HBC channels in your Wii menu
    2. exit HBC 1.06 and start HBC 1.03 (the newly added channel)
    3. run the HBC 1.06 installer and select the option to uninstall HBC. This will remove HBC 1.06
    4. your HBC 1.03 channel is now probably at another location as you want it in the Wii menu. Grab it in the Wii menu while holding A and B to drag it to the original location.

    Thats's all
     
  12. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you forgot the JODI forwarder dol for preloader if you have it installed
     
  13. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    do u mean JODI forwarder dol? older versions of preloader have a HAXX shortcut embedded don't they?
     
  14. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    my bad sorry typed in a hurry as was going out corrected now
     
  15. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    is there a way to update to HBC 1.0.6 but keep the HAXX HBC instead of the new JODI HBC?
     
  16. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States


    is this the post that you are referring to?
     

Share This Page