RoFage v1.3.2a

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Tempbot, Oct 16, 2008.

Oct 16, 2008

RoFage v1.3.2a by Tempbot at 12:08 PM (5,473 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. Tempbot
    OP

    Contributor Tempbot Tunnel Snakes rule

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] RoFage v1.3.2a
    Multiplatform OfflineList-like program written in Java
    [​IMG]

    Schyzophrenic has released a new version of RoFage, his rom manager which is very similar to OfflineList. It uses the same DAT-files and works in the same way, but it's written in Java, meaning it's multiplatform. In other words: a very interesting program for Linux users.

    A changelog is not (yet?) available, but a number of improvements have been made. Problems with the file browser are fixed, and a Dutch translation (by me) has been added.
    The complete changelog:
    Changelog:
    [​IMG]Source
    [​IMG]Download
    Contributed by Maikel Steneker
     


  2. Schyzophrenic

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Here is the changelog for the 1.3.2 version :
    Code:
    Added functionality : Add an overall indicator while checking images
    Added functionality : Add version number to the log file (start line)
    Added functionality : Redirecting standard output to RoFage.log 
    Added functionality : Dutch translation by Maikel Steneker
    Added functionality : Changing of the default Java icon
    Added functionality : Send an e-mail to the author
    Added functionality : Report a bug button opens a browser to the relevant web page
    Added functionality : Export list to a file
    Added functionality : Credits for german translation
    Added functionality : The release nb can now either be located in the comment field or the releaseNb field. The configuration must be deleted then readded or the dat must be updated
    for this modification to take effect
    Filtering has been updated accordingly
    Added functionality : German language available
    Added functionality : Compress roms while importing (if the "delete source files check box is not checked, original files will still be in the directory)
    Added functionality : The release group is now showed in the rom info panel
    Added functionality : Tooltips were added in the rom infos panel
    Added functionality : Tooltips were added in the game list on icons
    
    Bugfix : English is now the default language if no language file has been found (or a text is not translated)
    Bugfix : (issue 12) images are now scrollable if they are too big
    Bugfix : Some texts in some windows were not updated when we changed the language
    Bugfix : The warning test if there is no configuration was not displayed properly on non english / french platforms.
    This software is also open-source which means you can participate if you are willing to help. [​IMG]
    Thanx Maikel for the news ^^
     
  3. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I get a "Could not find the main class. Program will exit" when I run the jar.

    Then, I went to the author page, and it says "Java 1.6 needed", to bad I'm still in 1.5 [​IMG]
    1.6 have some problems with cache not cleaned correctly (especially for oekaki picture edition), so I downgraded to 5.

    If I have time, I will install 1.6 to test you application [​IMG]
    it's a good thing it reads offlinelist/advanscene xml
     
  4. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    I really liked this application, but I stopped using it some time ago because of the database having completely different release numbers then GBAtemp( which is the one that counts for me ).
    Maybe I choose the wrong dat file to beguine with, perhaps somebody could help me to get the right one ?
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    NDScrc and now RoFage, use both Advanscene dat which have the good numbers.
     
  6. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    It's a must download then...thanks.


    EDIT

    Just tried it out, and still the release numbers are completely different from GBAtemp, it's like 60-70 numbers ahead.
    Can I do anything to manually point it to a dat file with the same release numbers as GBAtemp ?
     
  7. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    why would you need something like this? get release news? do people actually collect roms?
     
  8. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Well it's actually goos to collect roms.
    In fact think about the future: With faster computers and better emulators you might like to have a large number of games on your hard drive and be able to browse trough your collection without having to redownload stuff that you already had and got rid of.
    Even snes romsets where once to big to keep on my harddrive and where usually downloaded as I needed them. Now they just sit on there waiting to be organized just like RoFage does for gba and ds......


    P.S Can anybody point me out to a dat file ( if there is any ) compatible with gbatemp releases numbers ? I found out that the one currently implemented is like 60-70 numbers ahead....
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Take NDScrc, it has the good dat, I'm using it and it's same number as GBAtemp.
    you can find it on advanscene.com

    Sorry to promote another renamer on your thread.
     
  10. kmihalj

    Newcomer kmihalj Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    It does not work in Mac OS X 10.5.5 [​IMG]

    Edit: .... well I'ts working [​IMG] .... I just need to start Java Preferences and put Java SE 6 to top of list ..
     
  11. Schyzophrenic

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Well, it's ok but I think this is just a matter of .dat files. I enclosed gba and nds dat files to RoFage but you can add any OL compliant dat files (such as PSP for instance). So if you get the dat of NDScrc (I never tried it), it should work if it has the same format than other dat files.

    There might be a SNES dat somewhere too [​IMG]

    If something's wrong with those files, just let me know and I'll try to integrate them as well.
     
  12. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Hank Chill should release his Rominator dat. I'm not sure if thats how his renaming goes. but I bet his would be most accurate.
     
  13. Schyzophrenic

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    We could also ask the admin if they want to export their database to a dat format (and create the folders for downloading images), so that the content would be exactly the same as the one online...

    But, I had a closer look on the GBAtemp's release numbers and the one included in the DAT... As far as I can see, they ARE the same as long as you use the "comment" field instead of the releaseNb of the dat. This is an option in the configuration window of your dat.
     
  14. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I already asked for a dat generator on gbatemp database, but it missed all the crc for DS release.
    it could be easily added with a dat, but some releases may be inverted between gbatemp and dat crc, so someone need to check them all manually first.

    second, some fields in gbatemp are fantasist, especially the "Genre" field, and many others are incorrect, like screenshot inverted between games.
    (I know it's hard to maintain, I'm not criticizing database admin, and I think users doesn't report errors so you can't correct all of them)


    The advanscene dat are always corrected on each update, even on very old releases. I think it's easier to use it for DS.
     
  15. Lenneth

    Newcomer Lenneth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Belgium
    It's work on windows ?
    If yes what i have to do to launch it plz ? I don't find...
     
  16. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France

    You need Java 6 installed
    then, just double click on RoFage.jar


    edit :

    "Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 Update 10"
    here :
    http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp
     
  17. Hiroshi21

    Member Hiroshi21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is there an app similar to this that can actually view ONLY the roms you own?

    -edit- Found it, sorting wasn't working at first.. another question, does this update it's database that often? Three of my games don't even appear due to the fact that it's not in the database.
     
  18. Schyzophrenic

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Well, most of the time the database is updated on a very regular basis, thanks to the work of Advanscene.
    Nevertheless, they indicated that they had some technical issues updating the dat lately. But this should be fixed very shortly I assume.

    The database is updated when you click on "Update" under the "?" menu... or each time you start the application if you have checked the box "update at startup" for this dat in the configuration menu.

    Hope it helps ! [​IMG]
     
  19. kmihalj

    Newcomer kmihalj Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    I tried to use few No-intro DAT-s (for SNES, N64, etc.) but these DATs are not working .... [​IMG]

    I later do a manual edit of these DATs ... and discover that these DATs does not have release number .... and that number is needed for RoFage to work correctly (they work in offline list without it, ... but OfflineList is for Windows only ... and I'm on Mac [​IMG] )
    ... I manualy added few numbers and that DATs are working now...

    Also I enable FolderActions so afther I extracted ROM to specified folder I't instantly loaded into emulator [​IMG]

    So for any DAT to work release number must be unique for each game ... and must exist...
     
  20. Schyzophrenic

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Hmmm... It doesn't work that's true... And it's due to the release number, good analysis. I never tried those dats before. I'll see what I can do. As you say it's a mjaor drawback (in my opinion), not to have those dats working !

    Thanks for the feedback !

    Btw, what do you mean by "Also I enable FolderActions so afther I extracted ROM to specified folder I't instantly loaded into emulator [​IMG] ", I am not sure to understand what you mean.
     

Share This Page