RoFage 1.3.1

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Schyzophrenic, Jun 30, 2008.

Jun 30, 2008

RoFage 1.3.1 by Schyzophrenic at 12:30 PM (4,349 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    RoFage is a rom manager supporting Offline List Dats.

    Developped in Java, it works on Linux, Mac & Windows. Available in both english & french it gives you the ability to easily manage your roms :
    - import roms by drag & drop of your files or directory
    - scan your roms based on the CRC (or the serial if it's a trimmed NDS rom)
    - rename your archive (and inside your archive) based on the pattern you gave
    - clean your archives
    - export your archives
    - manage duplicate : you can choose to always keep the prefered version of a rom. For instance, you may choose to have USA, EU, JP as your prefered order. The game will only keep the USA version of the rom if you have it. Or the EU version if you don't have the USA version...

    The list may be updated automatically, as the roms' images.

    You need Java 1.6 or later to use RoFage

    This software is open source, so if you feel like you can contribute in any manner (coders or translators)...


    Offical Site
    Direct Download
     


  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "scan your roms based on the CRC (or the serial if it's a trimmed NDS rom)"
    Very nice. I do not have java worth anything on this machine right now.

    I will leave it on your site for now so as to help your stats and up it to the front page.

    Edit: got bored and grabbed java, will post some screens as soon as.

    Edit: Screens up shortly but some links for people from the post if they did not come via it
    [​IMG] Java download (check any repositories if you run linux and the like for distro specific builds)
    [​IMG] ADVANsCEne, GBA and DS offline list dats available
    [​IMG] Offline list homepage (dats for several systems)
    [​IMG] no-intro offline list (multiple systems)
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It looks quite good! PM me if you'd like a Dutch translation [​IMG] I can translate it if it's some kind of easy editable file.
     
  4. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Thanks maikelsteneker !

    I'd really appreciate a Dutch translation, I'll pm you with the details

    And by the way, if you feel like something is missing (or something's wrong) please let me know.
     
  5. SkankyYankee

    Member SkankyYankee GBAtemp Advanced Skank

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    Country:
    United States
    this is a great use of Java, as someone who has taken college Java classes this is impressive.
     
  6. redman3000

    Newcomer redman3000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Jonquiere, QC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    GREAT!!! Thanks! An alternative to the old OfflineList!

    Are you gonna try to have the same options? Like update the dats on startup? compress duplicates to one 7z file (like GoodMerge) to save space without the need to delete duplicates? OfflineList Beta 2 have so many bugs with 7z that I don't use it. The author didn't update the program for months if not years...

    At least it's opensource so everyone with the skill can add something (I don't know Java so I can't help...)! Thanks for this great project!
     
  7. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Yeah the development of Offline List has stopped 2 years ago if I remember. As long as I were on windows I used it, hoping for the development to go back on tracks... But now, I switch to Linux and the old version of Offline list is not compatible. So I took my little hands and coded this [​IMG]
    RoFage does not yet support 7zip, only zip files. This is something I'd like to add, but I need some more work to do it. It will come, one day [​IMG] If someone wishes to help me on the 7zip support he/she is welcome !

    I decided to give away the code even if I am still coding the app because it can help someone, someday [​IMG]

    Concerning the options, I was a very simple user of Offline list, doing basic tasks. So I don't know all of them. If you wish to have an additional functionality you can ask me (with details on how it should work though [​IMG])

    Just a point concerning the update. You can update at startup your dat files, just like offline list does. But there is an additional option : "Download while browsing". Since downloading everything at once can take some time, you can also download images while browsing your collection. It will download the images related to the game you just selected. [​IMG]

    Concerning the duplicates I only added the functionality to keep only the most prefered version. It shouldn't been hard to add the compression of all those files into one zip (only zip today remember ? [​IMG]), but I don't know... Is this something useful ?

    Anyway, thanks for your feedbacks which keep me improving RoFage !
     
  8. IsSuE_

    Newcomer IsSuE_ Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Austria
    Really nice app! Like it, as there is no good rom manager for linux. If you want a German Translation, i can do that!
     
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Any way to make it only download the images that you have in your collection?

    -Bri
     
  10. dirty_harry

    Member dirty_harry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    awesome awesome awesome.

    Nice work here buddy.

    One little thing, the advanscene images, on my laptops widescreen display, i get some clipping of the images. I can pop screenies if you want.
     
  11. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    To Bri : Well, there is no such option as "Download only images for the roms I have", but you can choose to download images while browsing and filter the list to the games you have, so it's about the same.

    To dirty_harry : I am not sure to understand, could you do a screenshot for me please ?
     
  12. xenon

    Member xenon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Italy
    I am glad to see a multiplatform ROM manager coming out. This morning I gave it a try and wasn't too lucky: at home, on Linux, I got the following error:
    Code:
    xenon@cosmos ~/Rofage $ java RoFage.jar
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: RoFage/jar
    Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: RoFage.jar
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:200)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:276)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:251)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂat java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:319)
    Here at work, on XP, I got a popup message with title "!Engine.1!" and body "!Engine.0!", with a menacing red cross. Clicking OK I get a "Configuration" panel with an "Add" button and an empty drop-down menu. I can only close the panel and reach the main window, which looks pretty emtpy and useless. What's wrong?
     
  13. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Xenon, you should use the command java -jar RoFage.jar
    Concerning the !Engine.0! There is indeed a bug on OS which are not in French or English Languages. This will be fixed in the next version.
    Nevertheless, it doesn't prevent you from using the app, since it will only happen once. Just click on "Add" and select the DAT you want.
     
  14. xenon

    Member xenon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks for the ultra-fast reply! I'm not really handy with Java, as you can see. [​IMG]
     
  15. wattsy

    Newcomer wattsy Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Running on OSX 10.5.3 i get this error, any ideas? I'm sure its something stupid that I'm doing

    java -jar /Users/mlwatts/Downloads/Rofage/RoFage.jar
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:675)
    at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:124)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:260)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:56)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:195)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:316)
    at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:280)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:251)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:374)
     
  16. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    Well, I'd say you don't have the good version of java [​IMG]
    try to update your java version to the latest one and it should be fine. If not, let me know, I will help you to make it work (it has been tested on MAC OS X and reported as ok...)
     
  17. gabesword

    Newcomer gabesword Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I've been looking for a Linux rom manager. This will be great. Now I can't wait to get home and try it out.
     
  18. Flagcarrier

    Newcomer Flagcarrier Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    I experienced the same problem, and it's quite easy to fix.

    First run Software Update to make sure that you have the lastest version of Java (if nothing is mentioned of Java, you should already be set)
    Then, go Applications -> Utilities -> Java -> Java Preferences.app.
    In the "Java Application Runtime Settings" section, drag the "Java SE 6 (64-bit)" entry to the top of the list.
    Press the Save button at the bottom of the window, close Java Preferences, and try again.

    By the way, is it really supposed to look like this?
    [​IMG]
     
  19. gabesword

    Newcomer gabesword Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    It is very cool so far. I do have a couple of questions though.

    What does an icon of a disk with a red question mark in it mean? How do I turn filtering on and off?
     
  20. Schyzophrenic
    OP

    Member Schyzophrenic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    France
    To Flagcarrier : Thank you for giving a quick "how to" for MAC OS since I didn't know how to do it (People said it was ok but not how they did [​IMG])

    Concerning the picture you sent, thank you again because I've seen no screen of the "MAC version" yet. It looks better than on my Linux [​IMG] But let's get to the weird stuff you point. There is indeed an issue on screen with small resolution (and NDS DAT) because the screenshots are quite big.
    Well I cannot say it *should* be like this because it's not good at all, but I guess we can say it's a bug of this version. It only happens if your window is too small. I will correct it in the next version.
    I am sorry about that, since I run on a 19" monitor I didn't really take this into consideration [​IMG]

    To gabesword : The icon with a question mark means that this rom does not have the good CRC and has been identified by its serial instead. Since I cannot guarantee this is a good dump which has been trimmed those roms have this icon. Roms with the good CRC have a green tick icon instead.

    At last, concerning the filtering you can filter and search using the filter panel located in the bottom right corner. For instance you don't want to display demo, you just have to unselect "Demo" AND click on "Filter". You can also search for a title (or a part of it, i.e. "mario"). And, of course, you can combine all those filters together to get what you want.

    For instance, you want to see all the mario games you have which are wifi capable and not demos : you have to unselect demo, populate the title field with "mario", check the wifi checkbox and select the checkboxes "owned, good name" and "owned, bad name" (and of course, unselect "not owned"). (I hope I am clear [​IMG])

    Thanks to all for your feedbacks, if you want more functionalities in the application, just let me know, I'll see what I can do.

    (I already know about the 7-zip reading / packing, but it may take a while since no public libraries can be currently plugged in RoFage [​IMG] But I'll keep working on it [​IMG] )
     

Share This Page