Rockband 2 and AC/DC Both freeze mid-song with USB loader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by quepaso, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. quepaso
    OP

    Member quepaso GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it with normal 1.4 and 1.4 v7 final ultimate. It did it back on v1.1 as well using wanin original loader. I even formatted the drive and re-installed the games again fresh, still does it. Guitar Hero 3, meticallica, aerosmith and world tour all work perfectly. Using 4.0 dash with cios249 rev10.

    When it freezes, it freezes for a few seconds then keeps on going. Sometimes it does this multiple times per song.
     
  2. quepaso
    OP

    Member quepaso GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    United States
  3. atomike

    Newcomer atomike Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Canada
    it sometimes does the same thing for me with GH: Metallica
     
  4. FvKey

    Newcomer FvKey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Chile
    All the Guitar Hero and RB2 works perfectly for me. Ultimate USB Loader v6.7 (waninkoko's 1.4)
     
  5. Maurice10

    Member Maurice10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    No problems here either.
    It's probably your hard drive.
     
  6. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I have similar problems in different games, or used to. Your problem is most likely heat. Just keep a house fan on your external hd while its running, and hopefully you'll be fine.
     
  7. ALLSPARK

    Newcomer ALLSPARK Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    What Brand/Size hard drive are you Too
     
  8. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    How do u make the RB2 peripherals work while using Usbl? please post [​IMG]
     
  9. quepaso
    OP

    Member quepaso GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    United States
    Rock Band 2 and AC/DC Track Pack for Rock Band both use Guitar Hero guitars just fine. Its only Rock Band 1 and the earlier track packs that could not play with the guitar hero guitars. I was using a nyko frontman Wii guitar but returned it and am going to get a Guitar Hero World Tour guitar instead since id like the guitar to come apart for easy storage, and the nyko doesnt do that.

    Guys, if you are playing RB2 with many songs and hey work fine with your USB loader, please confirm as well. Id like to know if its just an issue with my setup or if its more involved then that.
     
  10. mugel0190

    Newcomer mugel0190 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Germany
    The freeze has something to do with the power management of your harddrive. It's not an issue with 3.2'' HDs, but with 2.5'' HDs. After a short time of HD inactivity the HD spins down and is going to sleep mode. When the game needs to load data from the HD, it has to spin up, what takes a few seconds. With Western Digitial HDs it is possible to tweak the spin down time. Search google for "hdparm".
     

Share This Page