Rock Band (USA) released on newsgroups

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Lazycus, Jun 27, 2008.

Jun 27, 2008
  1. Lazycus
    OP

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    There has been an independent release of Rock Band on a.b.g.wii. Since it's not an official group release delivered through 'proper' channels it won't be listed on the front page. There is no nfo but the filenames are 'Rock Band.part0nn.rar'. I'm sure somebody will package it up and release it proper. But then again I thought some group would have released it already. Then again, I also thought someone would have posted a proper rip of Wall-E (USA) by now. Oh well, at least it's out there.
     
  2. blueskies

    Member blueskies GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet! anyone know if a) you can use the guitar hero guitar with RB and b) if you can buy the drums separately and c) if you can play alone or with one other person? ? ? Thanks!

    found my answers.
    a) no
    b) yes
    c) yes

    hmm.. gonna wait because I don't want to buy a new guitar. maybe Guitar hero will start making drums..
     
  3. CosmoKramer

    Member CosmoKramer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Guitar Hero is gonna have drums in Guitar Hero: World Tour in October.. and they most likely WILL NOT work with Rock Band.. Because the drums are totally different... There will be 6 buttons instead of 5.. Check it out Guitar Hero: World Tour Drums Picture

    Hopefully someone can hack the ISO to work with the GH Guitar. Someone hacked the Nintendo DS version of GH so that you don't need the little attachment that came with it, letting you use the actual DS buttons. Fingers Crossed [​IMG]
     
  4. lolsjoel

    Member lolsjoel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    930
    Country:
    United States
    I'm hoping for the same, CosmoKramer, though I have no idea what kind of effort that would actually take! Hopefully minimal, since GH instruments essentially just use the Wii remote for input! One can hope, right?
     
  5. crezwell

    Member crezwell GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Cannock,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I asked the question a few months ago now on here, cant find the thread tho, but basically people "in the know" reckoned itd be too much work to hack the controls of Rockband to make it work with the GH Controller, as the GH Controller uses the Wiimote and the RB one doesnt. But id like to think some of the top hackers would be able to figure it out. fingers crossed....
    I've been waiting for this to get released for a week now, so if anyone sees it in the wild torrent wise, then just give the thumbs up.
    Im purely hoping to have a singalong (unless controllers are hacked), ill wait for GH4 for the full band experience i think rather than get this gimped RB version.
     
  6. scousethief

    Member scousethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another case of being ripped off completely by developers , i wont be buying the game , i played it on the 360 and thought it was far too easy and so did my 7 year old i also thought a quite a few of the notes were not placed very well. Ill wait for the release of GHWT hopefully it will be worth the wait .

    I also dont want to have 4 guitars and sets of drums lying around the house because of the developers greed.
     
  7. crezwell

    Member crezwell GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Cannock,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, has anyone seen this about at all yet?
     
  8. Lazycus
    OP

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said, it's on the newsgroups but nobody ever picked it up and released it 'proper' through ftp and then to torrents or anything. Very odd right now. Wall-E is still a broken rip. GH:Aerosmith, Top Spin 3, Big Beach Sports, etc. are out in stores but haven't been released by anybody. Maybe everyone is out enjoying the summer instead of ripping games [​IMG] For sure there is no real competition to release first on the Wii. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate every release no matter who does it or how long it takes.

    For Rock Band, you can't do anything unless you have a mic or guitar or drums anyway.
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    kinda related but not Wii hardware ......


    With the PS2 version of ROCKBAND you CAN INDEED use GUITAR HERO GUITARS and you CAN use SINGSTAR MIC's with it but ... need to use the PS2 MULTI TAP to have 2 guitars in use at the same time!

    .... guessing that the DRUM KIT for ps2 rockband quite possibly uses a joypad port ? but not got a Drumkit for it to test [​IMG]

    ......although at £60-£70 for the DRUMKIT SOLUS which is just plain EXTORTION!! considering the full set works out less! ....I'm not going to be getting the DRUMKIT unless its at least half that price/preowned!

    Its a BIG con if you poor Wii owners cant even use the hardware you have already [​IMG]

    Yes you can play SOLUS on PS2 version .... with just guitar or just MIC/Singing ....Or if you know the words of the song or pretty kewl on the guitar you can Solo sing and play guitar at the same time!!! lol (note tho some sections of singing need the mic to be tapped or clap over the mic between verses/chorus sections ?! if that makes sense? ) ......

    don't see why you couldnt do the same and play solus on the Wii ??
     
  10. tpformbh

    Member tpformbh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Panama
    I found that I was having to do as you say, with multitaps and wires dangling everywhere.

    You don't need the multitap for just two guitars, but you need it for when you plug a controller in to choose the microphone. I'm using singstar mikes and GH guitars. The drum set from the ps3 works - it's USB (hence why they give you a multitap with the instrument set) but if you're using 1 usb for the Singstar blue mike, one for the drumkit, you'll just need a multitap if you want 2 guitars.
     

Share This Page