ROM Hack RELEASE Risk of Rain 2 60 FPS mod

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,936
Trophies
2
XP
8,478
Country
Poland
Edit: game in last update supports now 60 FPS. Mod is dumped.

Mod raising FPS Cap to 60. If it can't achieve 60 FPS, it drops to 30.

Recommended OC settings:
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=1224
handheld_charging_gpu=768
handheld_charging_mem=1600

Works only with versions:
1.0.2 - RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.2.zip
1.0.3 - RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.3.zip
1.0.4 - RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.4.zip
1.0.6 - RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.6.zip

For versions 1.0.2-1.0.4:

Copy folder 010076D00E4BA000 to sdcard folder

atmosphere/titles (Atmosphere 0.9.4 and older)
or
atmosphere/contents (Atmosphere 0.10.1+)
or
reinx/titles
or
sxos/titles

Restart Switch.


For versions 1.0.6+:
Copy folder exefs_patches to sdcard folder

atmosphere
or
reinx
or
sxos

Restart Switch.
 

Attachments

  • RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.2.zip
    662.4 KB · Views: 190
  • RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.3.zip
    668.4 KB · Views: 253
  • RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.4.zip
    742 KB · Views: 286
  • RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.6.zip
    365 bytes · Views: 273
Last edited by masagrator,

UsableLoki

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
88
Country
United States
Is there a discrete way of knowing that this mod was applied properly? -added folders to the atmosphere folder, and I created a new entry in the sys clock config file copying the values you shared and putting [010076D00E4BA000] above it, right?
I'm pretty sure I noticed an improvement and I just want to be double sure lol. Thanks for your work!!
 

UsableLoki

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
88
Country
United States
But how can we trust our vision if our eyes arent real??
I reran it on sx and, oof, yeah it works. Sorry, I was just being overly cautious to make sure I had done it right. Its awesome- thanks so much for what youve done!!
 

SuperHans111

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
210
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
548
Country
Australia
Mod raising FPS Cap to 60. If it can't achieve 60 FPS, it drops to 30.

Recommended OC settings:
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=1224
handheld_charging_gpu=768
handheld_charging_mem=1600

Works only with versions:
1.0.2 - RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.2.zip
1.0.3 - RiskOfRain2-60FPS-1.0.3.zip

Copy folder 010076D00E4BA000 to sdcard folder

atmosphere/titles
or
reinx/titles
or
sxos/titles

Restart Switch.
When you say drops to 30fps, do you mean locked 30?
 

NekoNoor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
58
Trophies
0
XP
653
Country
Netherlands
I can't really figure out what's wrong, i diffed the dumped globalgamemanagers from the romfs in update 5 vs 6 and they differ a lot but i think that's just normal asset updates. I don't have much experience with modding games so I don't think i can make it work for 1.0.6
 

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,936
Trophies
2
XP
8,478
Country
Poland
I can't really figure out what's wrong, i diffed the dumped globalgamemanagers from the romfs in update 5 vs 6 and they differ a lot but i think that's just normal asset updates. I don't have much experience with modding games so I don't think i can make it work for 1.0.6
Some Unity games are forcing vsynccount in exefs and are ignoring what is in globalgamemanager. Maybe they edited code.
I will check it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NekoNoor

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,936
Trophies
2
XP
8,478
Country
Poland
Ok, it looks like they switched to using directly nvnWindowBuilderSetPresentInterval to lock game to 30 FPS.

I have uploaded exefs patch for 1.0.6.

Remember to delete folder 010076D00E4BA000!
 
  • Like
Reactions: NekoNoor
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Can't remember the last time I had cheese whiz and crackers