1. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,066
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I have PSTV too, but if you're using a DS4 (or DS3 for that matter) there's definitely very noticable input delay compared to a regular Vita. It became very apparent to me while playing Zen Pinball and Pinball Arcade - they're virtually unplayable on PSTV due to the input delay, but are fine on a regular Vita.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  2. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    United States
    I personally like Retroarch More.. As I have boxarts thumbnails ect my Retroarch setup on my Vita.. ( & pc WIIU ect ect). Is around 9 gigs full of stuff... But still they both work Flawlessly
     
  3. pharredd22

    pharredd22 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Does PFBN run third strike well? I remember trying out PFBN but they removed the frame skip functionality which PFBA had and without it Third Strike ran too slow.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  4. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    United States
    I think 3rd strike was playing slow on Retroarch also.. It's been a while tho.. Might be worth trying out again...

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    https://www.arcadepunks.com/ps-vita-ultimate-retro-pack-from-crazymac-fully-load-your-vita-now/

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    These guys have the full 200 gig Retroarch set up.. Mine is 9 gig.. Just imagine how many I games I wouldn't play... I hardly touch my retro games much these days
     
  5. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    One of the reasons why I've yet to install PFBN is because I'm unsure if it will replace my PFBA emulator by default.
    But to answer your question about SF3TS - I have lolita (similar to lol icon) app that makes the vita run everything faster and 3rd strike with PFBA runs with perfect sound but somewhat stable 50 FPS if you skip 2 frames I believe - It's honestly playable imo not perfect of course, but enough so that I can still have fun with it and care to beat the game. (final boss is cheap btw)

    I don't mean to rag on your TV or set up - but I happen to have a ks8000samsung tv that has very , very little input lag and I bought this tv especially for fighting games - and I can actually do all the difficult combos and play golf type of games with no issues. (actually at first - I noticed that I kept dropping combos or metal slug felt way off- like my jumps where not being timed right and kept dying ) - but I discovered game mode was off when I switched hmdi inputs for my Ps vita TV.
     
    Last edited by dragonz, Jul 15, 2020
  6. F3NR1S

    F3NR1S Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    How is it that no one mentioned SVC Chaos?, also there a few other “Marvel vs Capcom” games that didn’t share that title, Marvel or Xmen vs Street Fighter I think
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  7. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    I mean SVC Chaos never released in the dreamcast (or did it?) And it wasn't well balanced or critically praised or anything like that - I actually happen to like it, mind you - but hey - this game is properly emulated on PFBA and it runs perfect already on the vita.

    Actually, all marvel vs street fighter games and marvel vs capcom one are available to play with PFBA at perfect speeds... So I believe the hype of the thread is the possibilities of Marvel vs capcom 2 and Capcom vs SNK2 and of course the dreamcast emulation and the vast ammount of games that the DC has.

    Besides mvc2 or CVS2 - I happen to be excited about skies of arcadia.

    I wonder if the new Dreamcast emulator for Vita will take advantage of CoreUnlocker80000H.skprx
    or if it already is - this actually gives me hope that it will run games really good.
     
  8. F3NR1S

    F3NR1S Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    My bad I should’ve specified that they ran on PFBA and Retroarch
     
  9. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    United States
    SVC Chaos was that the neo geo one ? sounds familiar
     
  10. F3NR1S

    F3NR1S Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, for Neo Geo, it was my main reason for getting retroarch

    I wanted it because it had the GBA version of Zero
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  11. pharredd22

    pharredd22 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    I installed PFBN before but I can't remember if it replaced PFBA or not. But I do remember it being not as good at emulating 3rd strike because it didn't have frameskip which is a necessity as you mentioned. I find frame skip 1 good enough. I use psvshell personally for overclocking and it is definitely playable enough.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I too am hoping for this (skies of arcadia). Never got around to finishing it so having it on the vita might actually encourage me to do so.

    The coreunlocker plugin is definitely something to look forward to. It definitely raises the Vita's emulation potential if it can be implemented.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  12. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    United States
    That core unlocker sounds good I had a big read of it.. Skies of A.. Was a really good rpg... I quite liked Power stone... I remember finishing Shenmue 1 & 2... 2 twice probably I loved that game so bad... Back then... Draconus was my favorite DC game.. Everyone went nuts for the sonic games and they was good.. I was never a sonic fan back then.... But me and my older brother got very hooked on Hidden & Dangerous... Played it over and over... Was/is a great amry sim
     
    Last edited by SuperDan, Jul 15, 2020
  13. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Rinnegatamante already answered that and the answer is no. The emulator only uses 2 or 3 cores. The fourth is not needed.
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  14. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure what to make of this. I mean is the fourth not needed because it's to late to use it since the emulator is already built
    or is the fourth not needed because the emulator only requires 2-3 cores? I thought the more the merrier - LOL
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  15. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
     
  16. vfdb

    vfdb Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probs said no because it not been implemented. (hope it does)
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  17. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Country:

     
    Tarmfot and SuperDan like this.
  18. SuperDan

    OP SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    United States
    The core unlocker is still in " IF " mode ...........

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hopefully he wont need it he also hate the CBS kids who ever they are .. the flood his VitaDB all the time ...

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    The Guy is a Legend in our Hacking World not just in Vita but in many many other consoles too ... if anyone can its the Wizard
    Rinnegatamante,....
     
  19. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,066
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can understand why you might think that, but no - I too have a decent tv (Sony Bravia) that has extremely low latency in gamemode. My connected retro (ie, not natively HD) systems (Gamecube, Dreamcast, NeoGeoCD, Megadrive/MegaCD, MasterSystem, SNES, N64) have no discernible input delay. The only system connected (out of 15 total systems) that has obvious input delay is the PSTV when using a wirelessly connected dualshock pad. It's especially noticeable when playing anything I've grown used to playing on my PSV1000.
    Not saying your TV is worse or mine is better, just that the PSTV (in my experience) has the worst input delay I've experienced on any system in my setup. It's still an absolutely awesome device, but I tend to only play titles on mine that don't require the same precise timing of inputs that things like fighting games do.
    It performs as expected using either my wired Hori Fighting Commader Pro or Madcatz Fightpad (but the fact that they're wired ends up with them dragging the tiny PSTV all over the room) - it's just the dualshocks that have the lag.
     
    dragonz and SuperDan like this.
  20. dragonz

    dragonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    I have not come across any game that is "virtually unplayable on PSTV due to the input delay" , but I also have yet to play that zen pinball game that you are talking about and I don't own an actual vita so I'm pretty sure you are onto something or this could be a subjective truth. For your reference I have the PS4 pro DS4 and a PSvita TV that I bought back in 2017 ( I'm unsure if they made different model or version other than the JP version) And what's the name of the zenpinall game? - I could test it with my set up and see how unplayable it is - lol.

    - But anyhow back on topic I'm really , really hyped for this dreamcast emulator and of course Power Stone 2 - My second favorite game on the dream cast :)
     
    SuperDan and duwen like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Rinnegatamante, Dreamcast, Emulator