RGH3 Chipless Glitching!!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
34,320
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
23,403
Country
United Kingdom
Very shiny. 9.86A supply on slim says I have a corona as my main machine so will probably look at that as I really do miss having a homebrew 360 (USB /HDD loading, region free, cheats, XBLA and DLC is so nice to have. RIP little JTAG), though I also have a 360 that failed the DVD update and have been meaning to RGH for years now so might look at that too. Do also have a Jasper with the NAND reader already wired in (and possibly even some dumps, was set to be JTAG but owing to an unfortunate event in a LAN session about 2 weeks before that dropped for real...) so might have to figure out if I have a machine with a suitable parallel port.
Also I am really not a fan of soldering in NAND bothering options for the 360. So tempted to get a nicer to use setup here even if it is ultimately going to be less than 5 machines I do this on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

Mena

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
90
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
344
Country
United States
question is will rgh 3 work on E since it attacks a different part of the 360 w/o a chip (iirc you had to desolider something to reach the attack point on the E For RGH 2
Corona E's yeah, Winchester no. It's the same exploit but glitches at a different post bit. Still uses the RST line which is still cleaned properly on a winchester
 
  • Like
Reactions: CompSciOrBust

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,249
Trophies
1
XP
5,920
Country
United Kingdom
I decided to get my dead dvd drive Trinity and have a crack at this.. I've Dumped 2 (matching) Nands and soldered the SMC_PLL and SMC_POST1 Points..
Now I'm not sure where to go next..
Do I Flash the "RGH3_Trinity.bin" as a ECC? I have Jtagged and RGH a couple Consoles before but it was so long ago I forgot most of the steps :P

EDIT: Crap just realised I haven't got a 1K-10K Resistor.. Down tools for a few days till I grab some, 2K should be ok..
May as well grab some thermal paste while I'm at it :)
 
Last edited by ploggy,

veggav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
183
Trophies
0
XP
752
Country
Brazil
Is it a 2 wire mod?

I have a RGH with a chip.
Would be interesting to understand what you need to do to go from chip to chipless.
 

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,408
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,535
Country
United States
Is it a 2 wire mod?

I have a RGH with a chip.
Would be interesting to understand what you need to do to go from chip to chipless.
Why would you though? Just for little faster boot times? Not worth the troubles and risk to me, imo. But is def cool for future mods.
Depending on Mobo, some 2 wire, some are more.
 

Armadillo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,169
Trophies
1
XP
4,097
Country
United Kingdom
Nice. Maybe one day I'll redo my trinity. Installed it when rgh first appeared before all the timing files, different installs etc, when it was more install it and pray for good boot times. Not terrible, generally goes within 15s, but a big difference to the more modern stuff.

Just not sure I can be bothered yet, don't really use it. Was a backup for my jtag falcon, but apparently that's immortal and just goes on and on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,408
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,535
Country
United States
I wouldnt call instaboot a little faster boot times. Def worth it for me.
I have a RGH1 chip and it only takes about 10-20 seconds to boot. If people can't wait that long to play, more power to ya! I normally turn on the x360 and go get drink/snacks/go pee, and by time I come back, it's ready.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
219
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
260
Country
United States
I have a RGH1 chip and it only takes about 10-20 seconds to boot. If people can't wait that long to play, more power to ya! I normally turn on the x360 and go get drink/snacks/go pee, and by time I come back, it's ready.
It's not about waiting anymore since boots are like retail. It's about having the best.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,408
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,535
Country
United States
Sad but I gave my 14 year old nephew a RGH xbox couples years ago, w 500gb drive and full of games/ homebrew/etc. I asked him few days ago about it and he said he doesn't touch it anymore at all. (Dumbass Fortnight Fan) So I told him I want it back! I already have 2 of em, but not letting him just throw it away, or let it sit in garage for years!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,886
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,604
Country
United States


Or buy a Devkit 360 and have a "factory" chipless rgh


It's like jtag and Rgh had a baby

What are boot times like compared to a chip, as rgh 1.2 gives instaboot for me, trinity was the only one I had that took a few cycles


If you already have a chip and instaboot just leave be, you still get the same end result

Just makes it easier for those who don't have a modded unit
 
Last edited by ClancyDaEnlightened,
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,503
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,480
Country
Norway
Update!! Falcon RGH3!
Ooh, I'm pretty sure mine's a Falcon. I never bothered doing any mod to it because it's a Lite-On drive and I didn't feel comfortable sticking a metal probe in there to get the key, RGH seemed complicated (some tricky solder points) and the parts for Xbox 360 modding are so overpriced. But this looks easier.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ploggy

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,886
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,604
Country
United States
Ooh, I'm pretty sure mine's a Falcon. I never bothered doing any mod to it because it's a Lite-On drive and I didn't feel comfortable sticking a metal probe in there to get the key, RGH seemed complicated (some tricky solder points) and the parts for Xbox 360 modding are so overpriced. But this looks easier.

$20 for Jr programmer

$5-10 for cpld board

If you have soldering equipment it's not that costly
 

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,886
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,604
Country
United States
It's not about waiting anymore since boots are like retail. It's about having the best.
Buy a xdk instead of hacking together a ghetto xdk, in a nutshell that's what you're doing

efuses don't really matter, you can run any dash you want natively, and some have 1gb of ram instead of 512mb

Don't buy a Devkit if you don't know how to really use it, they operate different from a jtag/rgh/retail

I wonder if it's possible to upgrade a retail unit to 1gb
 
Last edited by ClancyDaEnlightened,

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,249
Trophies
1
XP
5,920
Country
United Kingdom
Bits of advice before I forget:
For me J-runner wouldn't flash the RGH_Trinity.bin says it wasn't a ECC file, so I had to go into "Advanced>Custom Nand/Timing File Functions" Then select.. Command "Write" Size "16" then "Run" it says write failed for all blocks but Xell still booted and displayed my CPU Key :) (saw this tip on Reddit)
Don't boot Xbox with Nand Flasher still attached (I not 100% sure it's necessary, but I wouldn't do it ;)
everything else is in the Readme..
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Huh Betty white was born on mlk day