RGH3 Chipless Glitching!!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
34,924
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
24,352
Country
United Kingdom
Very shiny. 9.86A supply on slim says I have a corona as my main machine so will probably look at that as I really do miss having a homebrew 360 (USB /HDD loading, region free, cheats, XBLA and DLC is so nice to have. RIP little JTAG), though I also have a 360 that failed the DVD update and have been meaning to RGH for years now so might look at that too. Do also have a Jasper with the NAND reader already wired in (and possibly even some dumps, was set to be JTAG but owing to an unfortunate event in a LAN session about 2 weeks before that dropped for real...) so might have to figure out if I have a machine with a suitable parallel port.
Also I am really not a fan of soldering in NAND bothering options for the 360. So tempted to get a nicer to use setup here even if it is ultimately going to be less than 5 machines I do this on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

Mena

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
562
Country
United States
question is will rgh 3 work on E since it attacks a different part of the 360 w/o a chip (iirc you had to desolider something to reach the attack point on the E For RGH 2
Corona E's yeah, Winchester no. It's the same exploit but glitches at a different post bit. Still uses the RST line which is still cleaned properly on a winchester
 
  • Like
Reactions: CompSciOrBust

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,296
Trophies
1
XP
6,147
Country
United Kingdom
I decided to get my dead dvd drive Trinity and have a crack at this.. I've Dumped 2 (matching) Nands and soldered the SMC_PLL and SMC_POST1 Points..
Now I'm not sure where to go next..
Do I Flash the "RGH3_Trinity.bin" as a ECC? I have Jtagged and RGH a couple Consoles before but it was so long ago I forgot most of the steps :P

EDIT: Crap just realised I haven't got a 1K-10K Resistor.. Down tools for a few days till I grab some, 2K should be ok..
May as well grab some thermal paste while I'm at it :)
 
Last edited by ploggy,

veggav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
190
Trophies
0
XP
805
Country
Brazil
Is it a 2 wire mod?

I have a RGH with a chip.
Would be interesting to understand what you need to do to go from chip to chipless.
 

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,422
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,930
Country
United States
Is it a 2 wire mod?

I have a RGH with a chip.
Would be interesting to understand what you need to do to go from chip to chipless.
Why would you though? Just for little faster boot times? Not worth the troubles and risk to me, imo. But is def cool for future mods.
Depending on Mobo, some 2 wire, some are more.
 

Armadillo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,181
Trophies
1
XP
4,239
Country
United Kingdom
Nice. Maybe one day I'll redo my trinity. Installed it when rgh first appeared before all the timing files, different installs etc, when it was more install it and pray for good boot times. Not terrible, generally goes within 15s, but a big difference to the more modern stuff.

Just not sure I can be bothered yet, don't really use it. Was a backup for my jtag falcon, but apparently that's immortal and just goes on and on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,422
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,930
Country
United States
I wouldnt call instaboot a little faster boot times. Def worth it for me.
I have a RGH1 chip and it only takes about 10-20 seconds to boot. If people can't wait that long to play, more power to ya! I normally turn on the x360 and go get drink/snacks/go pee, and by time I come back, it's ready.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
510
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
712
Country
United States
I have a RGH1 chip and it only takes about 10-20 seconds to boot. If people can't wait that long to play, more power to ya! I normally turn on the x360 and go get drink/snacks/go pee, and by time I come back, it's ready.
It's not about waiting anymore since boots are like retail. It's about having the best.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

BigOnYa

A Very-Large Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1,422
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,930
Country
United States
Sad but I gave my 14 year old nephew a RGH xbox couples years ago, w 500gb drive and full of games/ homebrew/etc. I asked him few days ago about it and he said he doesn't touch it anymore at all. (Dumbass Fortnight Fan) So I told him I want it back! I already have 2 of em, but not letting him just throw it away, or let it sit in garage for years!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,875
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,615
Country
United States


Or buy a Devkit 360 and have a "factory" chipless rgh


It's like jtag and Rgh had a baby

What are boot times like compared to a chip, as rgh 1.2 gives instaboot for me, trinity was the only one I had that took a few cycles


If you already have a chip and instaboot just leave be, you still get the same end result

Just makes it easier for those who don't have a modded unit
 
Last edited by ClancyDaEnlightened,
  • Like
Reactions: BigOnYa

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,898
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,059
Country
Norway
Update!! Falcon RGH3!
Ooh, I'm pretty sure mine's a Falcon. I never bothered doing any mod to it because it's a Lite-On drive and I didn't feel comfortable sticking a metal probe in there to get the key, RGH seemed complicated (some tricky solder points) and the parts for Xbox 360 modding are so overpriced. But this looks easier.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ploggy

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,875
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,615
Country
United States
Ooh, I'm pretty sure mine's a Falcon. I never bothered doing any mod to it because it's a Lite-On drive and I didn't feel comfortable sticking a metal probe in there to get the key, RGH seemed complicated (some tricky solder points) and the parts for Xbox 360 modding are so overpriced. But this looks easier.

$20 for Jr programmer

$5-10 for cpld board

If you have soldering equipment it's not that costly
 

ClancyDaEnlightened

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,875
Trophies
1
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,615
Country
United States
It's not about waiting anymore since boots are like retail. It's about having the best.
Buy a xdk instead of hacking together a ghetto xdk, in a nutshell that's what you're doing

efuses don't really matter, you can run any dash you want natively, and some have 1gb of ram instead of 512mb

Don't buy a Devkit if you don't know how to really use it, they operate different from a jtag/rgh/retail

I wonder if it's possible to upgrade a retail unit to 1gb
 
Last edited by ClancyDaEnlightened,

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,296
Trophies
1
XP
6,147
Country
United Kingdom
Bits of advice before I forget:
For me J-runner wouldn't flash the RGH_Trinity.bin says it wasn't a ECC file, so I had to go into "Advanced>Custom Nand/Timing File Functions" Then select.. Command "Write" Size "16" then "Run" it says write failed for all blocks but Xell still booted and displayed my CPU Key :) (saw this tip on Reddit)
Don't boot Xbox with Nand Flasher still attached (I not 100% sure it's necessary, but I wouldn't do it ;)
everything else is in the Readme..
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If I lose 30 more pounds I will be under 200 but at over 6. Feet that's not bad lol
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    no makeup = hot too
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    You may want to lose a bit more, Psionic
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And replace some of the weight with muscle mass
    Gift
  • Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    "you may want to lose some weight" is like the most offensive thing you could say
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Never mind, for your age what you want is appropriate
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    fatty like cake
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    fatty mcbutterpants
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Different ages ask for different strategies
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    And get penis enlargement surgery while you're at it psi :teach:
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Make it touch the ground
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    In some weight measure apps, they show how different ages require different weights and body compositions
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    We want the optimal composition for our body if we're losing weight
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    As long as you can walk right that's really all you should give a shit about
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Little under 200 pounds for a 6ft person with 18 years old is bad, but for a 40+ yo person it's healthy
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    yeah as long as you dont need a hoist
    GOsTJjm.jpeg
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Everyone should be fat once in their life so they can respect the struggle it takes to loose it
    +1
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    People think it's so easy to maintain but have no idea what caused the person to get that way
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Maintain is easy, especially for who was never fat
    Gift
  • NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese:
    i could stand to lose about 7kg but right now ive got my eye on a block of dark almond chocolate
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Maintaining nothing is easy if a person isn't in the right mindset for it
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    The thing about losing weight is that it's a constant moderation. You can't do too little, but you can't do too much either
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And the metabolic rate means that eating the same amount of something makes more impact on a fat person than a regular weight person
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Go buy me McDonald's
    Gift
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Go buy me McDonald's