RGH stopped recognizing all discs

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
I don't have a flasher, there's a cool runner board installed in the xbox, but I don't have anything else, someone flashed this for me years ago
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
so if I swap boards in the DVD drive and put in the new drive/old board combo and I still see the same DVD key in XELL, that's good right?
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,782
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
18,330
Country
Antarctica
The drive PCB is what holds the firmware and keys, the rest are just interchangable parts.
Software wise, nothing changed on the 360
Idk why you want to load backups via such an archaic way but I don't particuarly care neither.

anyway, do your DVD backups load fine? Forget the nitpicky dvd movie shit for a moment.
Retail discs work?

If no to both then I do suggest reflashing your drive or stop using outdated ways to load backups and switch to HDD loading or investing in a external HDD..

jungleflasher comes with a manual that's easy to follow.
I do suggest getting a confirmed working SATA PCI card or dedicated flashing hardware.
Just follow the steps and click on the appropriate things when asked.

Again, loading games off off the HDD is far easier and doesn't cost anything other then some reading and perhaps an external HDD.
or you know, upgrade the internal.

Edit: since it's a Slim, flashing might be a little harder.
One thing you can try is POT tweak the laser a little.
Altho I highly recommend going for HDD loading.
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
The drive PCB is what holds the firmware and keys, the rest are just interchangable parts.
Software wise, nothing changed on the 360
Idk why you want to load backups via such an archaic way but I don't particuarly care neither.

anyway, do your DVD backups load fine? Forget the nitpicky dvd movie shit for a moment.
Retail discs work?

If no to both then I do suggest reflashing your drive or stop using outdated ways to load backups and switch to HDD loading or investing in a external HDD..

jungleflasher comes with a manual that's easy to follow.
I do suggest getting a confirmed working SATA PCI card or dedicated flashing hardware.
Just follow the steps and click on the appropriate things when asked.

Again, loading games off off the HDD is far easier and doesn't cost anything other then some reading and perhaps an external HDD.
or you know, upgrade the internal.

Edit: since it's a Slim, flashing might be a little harder.
One thing you can try is POT tweak the laser a little.
Altho I highly recommend going for HDD loading.
My xbox is a slim, but the person that RGHed this jammed a BENQ VAD6038 in there from a phat. THat's why I bought another VAD6038 to swap. Even when I swapped PCBs, it still identifies all discs (backups, retail, movies) as DVD-VIDEO

For the last time, I know games can be played off the HDD. The point of this thread is to get my DVD drive working again. Playing games off disc is only as "archaic" as the console you're playing on. Playing NES games from a cart as apposed to an emulator is also "archaic" but that's not the point. I wish people could look past the WHY and focus on the HOW...
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,782
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
18,330
Country
Antarctica
My xbox is a slim, but the person that RGHed this jammed a BENQ VAD6038 in there from a phat. THat's why I bought another VAD6038 to swap. Even when I swapped PCBs, it still identifies all discs (backups, retail, movies) as DVD-VIDEO

For the last time, I know games can be played off the HDD. The point of this thread is to get my DVD drive working again. Playing games off disc is only as "archaic" as the console you're playing on. Playing NES games from a cart as apposed to an emulator is also "archaic" but that's not the point. I wish people could look past the WHY and focus on the HOW...

It's quite difficult to help someone when details like this aren't given.
Ad for the DVD movie, I can recall something with mismatching OSIG/firmware that would cause that issue, reflashing was always the option.
Is the OSIG in your keyvault edited to accept the Ben-q drive?
I'm afraid you'll have to find a original Hitachi or Liteon if you want to return to to authenticity tho.

As for swapping the boards, as I said, they contain the firmware and keys, swapping the entire assembly for another drive (same assembly ofc) will make it behave like it's the old one, technically nothing changed software wise and the 360 will just continue to work like nothing happened.
Hell you can even remove the entire drive assembly from a retail unit and leave the board in place, the 360 will happily boot up and continue to play games like nothing happened.


Emulators are different from real hardware, NES systems do accept flashcards which could be seen as a form of "storage loading"
Burning discs all the time will just put extra strain on the laser where as a NES with a flashcard wouldn't put constant strain on the 72 pin connector, much like loading games off off the HDD on a 360.

I personally don't care if you continue to load from DVD, I just find it rather silly but hey, each to their own.
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
It's quite difficult to help someone when details like this aren't given.
Ad for the DVD movie, I can recall something with mismatching OSIG/firmware that would cause that issue, reflashing was always the option.
Is the OSIG in your keyvault edited to accept the Ben-q drive?
I'm afraid you'll have to find a original Hitachi or Liteon if you want to return to to authenticity tho.

As for swapping the boards, as I said, they contain the firmware and keys, swapping the entire assembly for another drive (same assembly ofc) will make it behave like it's the old one, technically nothing changed software wise and the 360 will just continue to work like nothing happened.
Hell you can even remove the entire drive assembly from a retail unit and leave the board in place, the 360 will happily boot up and continue to play games like nothing happened.
I didn't find out that the drive wasn't orig to the slim until yesterday when I got the replacement drive and then researched it. I opened the box, saw a VAD6038 so that's what I bought as replacement.

Is OSIG the DVD key? I've had the same drive and same DVD key from XELL for 10 years and a week ago was the first it's gone south. I don't necessarily care about getting an authentic drive for the slim, I'd rahter get the BENQ that I bought working. But after board swap it shows the DVD key is the same as it was before in XELL. Do I still need to flash the new drive with JF? I have a flasher arriving soon, is that what I need to do?

But yes, the 360 works, plays everything from my CONTENT folder still, can still enter XEXmenu, etc.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,782
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
18,330
Country
Antarctica
OSIG is the signature of the drive, it's a stamp in the Keyvault of your NAND that states what drive is to be expected to be connected.
This should be a Liteon or Hitachi originally.
You can check this by opening your NAND in JRunner on your PC.

DVD key is just a key that pairs the drive to the 360, this one can theoretically be zeroed out if you edit the KV to accept zeroed out DVD drives.

I would suggest flashing a new LT firmware to the drive yeh, just to rule it out.
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
OSIG is the signature of the drive, it's a stamp in the Keyvault of your NAND that states what drive is to be expected to be connected.
This should be a Liteon or Hitachi originally.
You can check this by opening your NAND in JRunner on your PC.

DVD key is just a key that pairs the drive to the 360, this one can theoretically be zeroed out if you edit the KV to accept zeroed out DVD drives.

I would suggest flashing a new LT firmware to the drive yeh, just to rule it out.
What if flashing the new drive (old pcb) doesn't do anything? I know the DVD key hasn't changed in years, what else would I try? Buy a new XBOX? haha
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
HDD load....
Seriously, internal HDD loading or external USB loading.

You could edit the keyvault to accept another 360 drive.
I have 157 Xbox 360 games on disc. How long would it take me to rip all of those? Even if I wanted to do that, how would I do it without a working DVD drive?

Is there a tutorial for kv editing?
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
9,447
Trophies
1
XP
11,163
Country
Sweden
with a RGH device you can even dump your DVD key an insert it in to a new unit :3 If you must change the whole dvd part
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,331
Trophies
2
XP
18,289
Country
United States
I have 157 Xbox 360 games on disc. How long would it take me to rip all of those? Even if I wanted to do that, how would I do it without a working DVD drive?

Is there a tutorial for kv editing?
think you can edit the kv with keyvault modder. it will tell you all the information. iirc, you just need a nand dump and the cpu key.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,782
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
18,330
Country
Antarctica
PCB swapping doesn't matter, nothing changed software wise.

You can dump the NAND from Freestyledash/xexmenu/Aurora with Nand flasher 360.
Idk if rawflash (XeLL homebrew) can dump NANDs, I do know it can write.
CPU key can be copied from XeLL, just take a picture of your fusesets and the DVD + CPU key that's displayed below it, if it disappears to fast and write down your CPU key in a text file or type it out in JRunner.

Iirc, JRunner should be able to extract NAND contents, I think 360 nand tool for PC should be able to do so otherwise.
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
No offense, you guys keep giving me suggestions, when I clearly have no clue what I'm doing! I haven't opened the XBOX in 10 years, I'm basically starting from scratch. My flasher arrives today I plan to test it this weekend by flashing an LT firmware to the DVD drive I guess. I hope it's easy.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,331
Trophies
2
XP
18,289
Country
United States
I have at least 100 burned discs for the 360, but there's no way I'd rip all of them. after I lost two hdds, one for the ps3, the other for the 360, I decided to install/download only games I might play or sometimes games to test if someone can't get the game to work on their system. I no longer play the 360 though. my advice is to do the same. you're putting too much work on yourself especially if you're apprehensive that it won't work or something will go wrong.
 

ldeveraux

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
383
Trophies
0
XP
1,544
Country
United States
I have at least 100 burned discs for the 360, but there's no way I'd rip all of them. after I lost two hdds, one for the ps3, the other for the 360, I decided to install/download only games I might play or sometimes games to test if someone can't get the game to work on their system. I no longer play the 360 though. my advice is to do the same. you're putting too much work on yourself especially if you're apprehensive that it won't work or something will go wrong.
Your advice to me to fix my XBOX is to give up? I went to play Rock Band the other day and couldn't because the drive wasn't working. I never said I don't play the system , quite the contrary. I said I haven't opened it in 10 years because it was just always working 100%, there was no need to. Any time I wanted to play a game I could. So now I can't play it but you think I shouldn't play anyway? What kind of advice is that?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,331
Trophies
2
XP
18,289
Country
United States
I said to download only games you want to play. what's the likelihood you'll be playing 100+ games at the same time? I highly doubt that. I mean why do you have an rgh if you're just going to play discs? makes no sense.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: optiplicks