Hacking Revive of the dark mode for the Wii U

V10lator

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
435
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,062
Country
Germany
Last edited by V10lator,
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,562
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,488
Country
Austria

V10lator

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
435
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,062
Country
Germany
This seems to not work correctly on my NTSC-U Wii U console. The moment I applied this, my Wii U froze. Forcing me to unplug the console.
Thanks for the report. I would love to make this work on other regions but for that I need data. So could anyone please use TCPGecko / JGecko U to search for the value 3F800000 between 105D0000 and 10600000, then send me a screenshot of this? Should look like this:
upload_2020-8-6_8-2-42.png


If nobody delivers the data I might try to find some memory pattern to detect the correct address at runtime but that might take some time.

//EDIT: v0.3 tries to find the memory region at runtime. Please try. :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-8-6_8-3-1.png
    upload_2020-8-6_8-3-1.png
    57.3 KB · Views: 188
Last edited by V10lator,
  • Like
Reactions: GABO1423

Lostbhoy

HEY YOU GUYS!
Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
941
Trophies
1
Location
Scotland
XP
2,343
Country
United Kingdom
That would be a question for @FIX94 if he's still active. Probably a good reason why it is not though.
I'd love to have this as standard, it's gorgeous but pretty useless if it's only viewed for a few seconds before launching a game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,696
Trophies
1
XP
12,786
Country
United States
Reviving an old post feels wrong, but has anyone figured this out at all?

afaik, it works for Europe, but not North American consoles. I think that was the point of this thread. I tested it on my system, and the system froze with a loud hum iirc. the idea was/is to have cbhc load it automatically, but it doesn't work correctly as I mentioned.
 

V10lator

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
435
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,062
Country
Germany
afaik, it works for Europe, but not North American consoles.
That's not true, just read the changelog of version 0.3:
  • Search memory region at runtime. This might work on none-EUR consoles but hasn't been tested.
AFAIK It has been tested on EU, US and JAP consoles.

I tested it on my system, and the system froze with a loud hum iirc.
Does that happen when you start it manually or when you try to load it automatically?
If the first: Are you able to grab a debug log?
If the second: How do you try to auto-load it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,185
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,913
Country
United States
okay, I got it to work, but it seems impractical. you'd have to go through the homebrew launcher every time or spoof the plugin manager at every boot to keep it.

View attachment 252865
What I do is I use Flump's version of CBHC that gives you this menu when you boot:
img_20180125_201603-jpg.142784

My homebrew for the last option, the custom .elf is the Wii U Plugin Loader. So any time I'm booting my Wii U and want to have dark mode and/or other various Wii U plugin enabled, I just have to make sure to hold down while I turn on the system. Not perfect, but it definitely works well enough.

Looking to the near future though, Maschell has hinted that when Failst officially launches that there may be an updated plugin loader along with it, that we may optionally be able to have boot automatically when you turn on the system, without having to hold a button, I dunno if we'll have to select each plugin still, or if a config file will allow us to not have to do anything and automatically have those plugins loaded upon every boot. For all I know, I misunderstood what the plan even is, but it sounds like we may be in store for an even more streamlined experience for what you're looking for in the future.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,696
Trophies
1
XP
12,786
Country
United States
@MikaDubbz , does the plugin manager require the gamepad? I was using it when I tested dark mode out, since I went through the homebrew launcher. it might be interesting if patches are applied automatically in the future. as it stands now, I don't think I'll change anything. it's cool, a nice mod, but it requires button presses I'd rather not have to do at every boot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Julie_Pilgrim

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,185
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,913
Country
United States
@MikaDubbz , does the plugin manager require the gamepad? I was using it when I tested dark mode out, since I went through the homebrew launcher. it might be interesting if patches are applied automatically in the future. as it stands now, I don't think I'll change anything. it's cool, a nice mod, but it requires button presses I'd rather not have to do at every boot.

I'm fairly certain that the plugin manage at this time does require the Gamepad. I mean I have to hold down on the Gamepad when I boot the Wii U to get into it anyway. I hear ya though, I hardly ever use it, but it's a nice option to have regardless. I don't typically go into dark mode, but if I'm starting up my Wii U and want other plugins enabled for that play session anyway, like being able to turn off the Game Pad screen with a combo button push or the ability to swap screen displays with a different combo button push, then I'll boot into the plugin loader and enable the dark mode while I'm at it.
 

OneMarvelousNugget

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2020
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
Essonne (91)
Website
mrdoob.com
XP
87
Country
France
I'm gonna try to auto-boot this with Haxchi installer and the settings txt file with default=[path to plugin elf] to see what I get.
I'll modify this post asap.

EDIT #1 : plugin manually and successfully launched via loader on EUR console with the alpha nightly fc703e5 version of loader. Haxchi reinstalled, trying to launch automatically the loader with default=... of Haxchi settings.

EDIT #2 : EPIC WIIN !!! It works like a charm !!! Every Haxchi patch is done, black menu even after reloading the menu (after closing WUP Installer).
Now I know if I'm in a custom firmware by looking at the color of the menu. I imagine you can reinstall CBHC with this kind of settings, but be aware that CBHC is very dangerous, I don't remember if you can overwrite it as Haxchi. If you want a coldboot of this plugin with a custom firmware, uninstall CBHC (with online guides of course) and install Haxchi with a custom settings.txt containing "default=[path to loader]" with your loader's path, mine is "wiiu/apps/wiiupluginloader/wiiupluginloader.elf".
If that's not clear enough just reply here !
 
Last edited by OneMarvelousNugget,
  • Like
Reactions: Julie_Pilgrim

OneMarvelousNugget

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2020
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
Essonne (91)
Website
mrdoob.com
XP
87
Country
France
do you still need to press the button to apply patches with plugin loader. that was my biggest problem, because you had to do two button presses at every boot if using cbhc.
Yes, you still need to do that. I'm downloading the plugin loader to see if I can mod it.

EDIT : ok I overestimated my coding skills... I guess the developer is the only one to be able to do this !
hi @Maschell ! (it's the name of the developper, not sure if that's him on GBATemp)
 
Last edited by OneMarvelousNugget,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/ySCC4Ms.jpg