XP
Country
United States
headerbf7.png

-NOW REVIEWING-
nintendowifiuj7.jpg

The Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection

-INTRODUCTION-
Although this is something of an unorthodox review, I thought that it was about time that someone piped up and spoke out about the Nintendo Wi-Fi connection. (From here on out, referred to as NWC) While I have found it to be enjoyable as a whole, I have found the entire service to be a bit of a hit or miss affair. I'm going to let you know the keys to getting online, and warn you ahead of time on aspects to not expect too much out of.

-EASE OF USE-
As I said earlier, getting online in itself is very hit or miss. Got a Netgear router? Sorry, out of luck! You won't be able to get on. WPA encryption? Turn it off! Even though my old Netgear router worked with my PSP, I couldn't use it with my DS. Ultimately, I decided to buy a D-Link DI-524 router. After a rough setup with my computer, I had it broadcasting and working with my DS in 2 minutes. I'm no networking expert, but is it really that different? Both routers were in mixed mode (B+G wireless standards) with no encryption.

The games themselves are pretty easy to get online with. You do a universal setup for the DS, and then use it for any Wi-Fi game. If you need to upgrade or change DS systems, there is a transfer option. It's also cool to go looking for wireless access points with the sniffing features.

mk2yy1.jpg

-INCORPORATION-

In this section, I'm going to talk about how the system's infrastructure is used in a variety of games.

First of all, Nintendo has this dreadful friend system known as “friend codes”. You have to find people to exchange friend codes with online or with people you know. There is no lobby feature. To me, this is the Achilles' heel of the system. I come from the school of thought that teaches that online game is about community, and finding people to play with and socialize with. If you can't do that, I see the purpose of playing online defeated.