Reversing the wii disc channel????

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gisel213, May 30, 2010.

May 30, 2010
  1. gisel213
    OP

    Member gisel213 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Delaware
    Country:
    United States
    Is this possible to reverse the disc channel to read dvd-r etc without cioscorp or darkcorp???

    kinda like cfeva on the the 360 makes backups report in as XBOX360 MEDIA???

    If so SNEEK would be a great testing ground b4 flashing it onto the real nand or does
    reversing it contain nintendo code??

    It would be nice for the people with new wii's where the dvd drive exploit is blocked...

    They would have gc games back and wii games would probably read at 6x from disc kinda
    like using a usb-dvd drive on uloader to play disc games without lag or skipping
    which is frickin awesome!!!!

    I have linux where alot of this stuff is devloped/compiled i'd love to give this a shot...
    Think about it flash in a hacked nand with keys counrty specific of course = softmodded
    wii kinda like the old xbox1 days they were the days just a thought.....

    Another reason i could have swore on a hackmii blog awhile ago when wan and
    wiigator got started marcan or one of twizzers said something like ooh crap pirate
    crap if we did something like that it would run from the disc channel also said they
    didn't need a crappy cios this is what they said not me so it has to be possible.....

    What does everyone else think and I've got so much time on my hands for this
    and wanna try it.....
     
  2. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the disc channel doesnt need reversing. this is a function/limitation of the IOS.

    (simplified version)
    you put in a DVD.
    the DVD drive says " there is a DVD in here now"
    the IOS tells the system menu that there is a disc present
    the system menu says "sweet! lets open that disc and see what it has"
    the system menu tells the IOS to find the partition by reading the disc
    if that works, the system menu tells the IOS to open the partition

    the system menu never has anything to do with reading the disc at all. ever. that is the whole "IO" part in IOS... input-output. you must patch the input/output shit.
     
  3. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's very likely that new Wii drives will never be able to read backups. The only way it might be possible is if Nintendo added a different back door to enable it, instead of just blocking it completely. Even then old drives couldn't read backups at 6x, the odds on new drives being able to would be astronomical.

    You'd need cioscorp installed anyway to boot a game from the disc channel.

    The only real hope would be a hardware mod, someone could build a replacement drive controller board that did what you want. I don't see that happening though.
     
  4. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, there was an app by Waninkoko a while back, called MenuPatcher i believe, that allowed booting of backups from disc channel by rebooting the wii with cIOS as the system menu IOS or something like that.
     
  5. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    There is always a backdoor. But its not cost effective for any hardmodders anymore since of USB loaders. There for the teams that makes modchips doesn't care anymore.
    Also if you really want DVD. Use a external DVD-reader with Uloader.
     
  6. gisel213
    OP

    Member gisel213 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Delaware
    Country:
    United States
    Yes i stated that earlier about uloader awesome app..... but more interesting pune's comment about patching input and output
    seems what needs to be done... I got alot of reading and coding to learn this gonna be fun thanks for all the respectful comments
    ontopic chat...

    I got my answer so this topic is basically done [​IMG]
     
  7. rmbell

    Newcomer rmbell Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Canada
    Thats exactly what cioscorp does.
     

Share This Page