Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

blancedd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
210
Country
Mexico
Gblues has finished his Hid implementation for WIiU and has been merged into Retroarch :) (not the All Users Control Menu) :P
https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/pull/13073


@Chary can this thread be stickied?
I'm having issues now because of this, I updated to the nightly version (7 OCT) and these are bugs I found:

*If you have two HID controllers with the same VID/PID and by accident you disconnect and connect port#2 controller, it will be mapped to port#1 having both controllers mapped to port#1, you have to restart retroarch to "fix" the problem.

*You can't control/play retroarch with a Wii Remote unless you connect a Classic Controller.

*If you launch Retroarch with a Wii Remote and the Gamepad off (My Gamepad is hardmodded with a ON/OFF switch), you can't control/play Retroarchwith the Wii Remote, and if I turn off the Wii Remote and then I connect a HID Controller it will map to port#1 but after selecting a game it will turn off the Wii U.

*PS button on the PS3 controller is not working anymore, to go to the Retroarch menu I have to use a combo button (maybe this has to be with All Users Control Menu but I'm not sure).

*The GameCube adapter is working fine, but L and R buttons are swapped.

Those were my results testing the new HID implementation.
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,253
Trophies
1
XP
5,931
Country
United Kingdom
I'm having issues now because of this, I updated to the nightly version (7 OCT) and these are bugs I found:

*If you have two HID controllers with the same VID/PID and by accident you disconnect and connect port#2 controller, it will be mapped to port#1 having both controllers mapped to port#1, you have to restart retroarch to "fix" the problem.

*You can't control/play retroarch with a Wii Remote unless you connect a Classic Controller.

*If you launch Retroarch with a Wii Remote and the Gamepad off (My Gamepad is hardmodded with a ON/OFF switch), you can't control/play Retroarchwith the Wii Remote, and if I turn off the Wii Remote and then I connect a HID Controller it will map to port#1 but after selecting a game it will turn off the Wii U.

*PS button on the PS3 controller is not working anymore, to go to the Retroarch menu I have to use a combo button (maybe this has to be with All Users Control Menu but I'm not sure).

*The GameCube adapter is working fine, but L and R buttons are swapped.

Those were my results testing the new HID implementation.
You'd be better off reporting this in the Retroarch Discord @gblues hangs out there.
 

YukidaruPunch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
593
Country
Brazil
Very happy to see there's a stable PS1 core and apparently even HID implementation on the Wii U Retroarch. I'm seriously considering buying a small CRT and some Wii AV cables to connect the Wii U as a retro console system. Hope everything turns out fine. (:
 
  • Like
Reactions: asboy

blancedd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
210
Country
Mexico
Very happy to see there's a stable PS1 core and apparently even HID implementation on the Wii U Retroarch. I'm seriously considering buying a small CRT and some Wii AV cables to connect the Wii U as a retro console system. Hope everything turns out fine. (:
The only problem is that the wii u does not display 240p, CRT + Wii is the better option here but the wii version of Retroarch has limited compatibility
 

YukidaruPunch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
246
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
593
Country
Brazil
The only problem is that the wii u does not display 240p, CRT + Wii is the better option here but the wii version of Retroarch has limited compatibility
Problem is, I don't really have a Wii, and surprisingly they aren't as cheap as they should be here in my country and I would need many accessories to boot... I can live without 240p, I guess. But really, thanks for the info!
 

september796

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2015
Messages
232
Trophies
0
XP
774
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
Very happy to see there's a stable PS1 core and apparently even HID implementation on the Wii U Retroarch. I'm seriously considering buying a small CRT and some Wii AV cables to connect the Wii U as a retro console system. Hope everything turns out fine. (:
You mean the same one that was posted here several pages back or an updated one perhaps?
 

N7Kopper

Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
739
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
The only problem is that the wii u does not display 240p, CRT + Wii is the better option here but the wii version of Retroarch has limited compatibility
Meanwhile I'm sitting here actively preferring pixel-perfect (or 4:3 stretch for the few games that actually are designed for it) display on a reasonably modern 1080p TV. Even seeing a fancy PVM with good cables, I still don't get the appeal. Call me a retro heretic, but I love my LCDs.

If you really want 240/288p, SCART/component are the way to go over fuzzy composite or S-Video...

Unless you're doing it for nostalgia, but I have a muggy old portable plasma screen for my GameCube for that 😀
 
  • Like
Reactions: blancedd

gblues

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 18, 2018
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
141
Country
United States
I'm having issues now because of this, I updated to the nightly version (7 OCT) and these are bugs I found:

*If you have two HID controllers with the same VID/PID and by accident you disconnect and connect port#2 controller, it will be mapped to port#1 having both controllers mapped to port#1, you have to restart retroarch to "fix" the problem.

*You can't control/play retroarch with a Wii Remote unless you connect a Classic Controller.

*If you launch Retroarch with a Wii Remote and the Gamepad off (My Gamepad is hardmodded with a ON/OFF switch), you can't control/play Retroarchwith the Wii Remote, and if I turn off the Wii Remote and then I connect a HID Controller it will map to port#1 but after selecting a game it will turn off the Wii U.

*PS button on the PS3 controller is not working anymore, to go to the Retroarch menu I have to use a combo button (maybe this has to be with All Users Control Menu but I'm not sure).

*The GameCube adapter is working fine, but L and R buttons are swapped.

Those were my results testing the new HID implementation.
Thanks for this info.
  • I *think* I've got the first issue fixed with an improved pad deregister algorithm.
  • I've identified the issue with wii remote not connecting and working in games.
  • I don't have the means to do a gamepad-less setup, however I've done a test where the wiimote went to sleep and I connected a DS3 and it didn't crash. so this might be fixed along with the wiimote not working
  • The DS3 playstation button is a known issue that might be tied to the "all users control menu" feature. I haven't investigated this yet
  • I still need to investigate the L/R button swap
Here's the PR. Please keep an eye on it and re-test with a nightly build after it gets merged.

https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/pull/13101
 

Incure

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
60
Trophies
0
XP
708
Country
Netherlands
I've just tried RetroArch again after laying it to rest for over a year. So I started completely blank again and then realized that the initial setup can be a bit harsh. Especially if you want to use all the tweaks & bells with backgrounds, bezels, screenshots and boxart.

But RetroArch has now matured to a level that is very playable and stable (only crashes with some incompatible MAME roms). I love playing SNES en MegaDrive/Genesis games with the official Nintendo SNES controllers (from the mini) connected to a Wii mote. The roms are loading at a nice speed even in the feature rich XMB menu.

The only thing I will be patiently waiting for is the much talked about "all users can control the menu" option. For my kids it is not user friendly enough to shut off the gamepad before loading RetroArch. And I need to try the solution for the 2048 bug that is starting sometimes instead of the game.
 

blancedd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
210
Country
Mexico
Thanks for this info.
  • I *think* I've got the first issue fixed with an improved pad deregister algorithm.
  • I've identified the issue with wii remote not connecting and working in games.
  • I don't have the means to do a gamepad-less setup, however I've done a test where the wiimote went to sleep and I connected a DS3 and it didn't crash. so this might be fixed along with the wiimote not working
  • The DS3 playstation button is a known issue that might be tied to the "all users control menu" feature. I haven't investigated this yet
  • I still need to investigate the L/R button swap
Here's the PR. Please keep an eye on it and re-test with a nightly build after it gets merged.

https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/pull/13101

Hi @gblues

I tested again with nightly build (12-OCT), these are the results:

* If you have two HID controllers with the same VID/PID (DS3 in this case) and by accident you disconnect and connect one controller, it will be mapped to port#3, and if you disconnect that controller again it will be mapped to port#4, it is adding one port when reconnecting the HID controller, and If I keep reconnecting the HID controllers Retroarch crashes.

* Wii Remote works again without extensions.

* I don't use my Gamepad that much, I only use it to play on TV-OFF mode or games that require the Gamepad, that's why I use a Wii Remote to open Retroarch when playing on TV, the problem is still there but if I turn off the Wii remote right after launching Retroarch forwarder having a HID controller connected, the HID controller will be mapped to port#1 and the Wii U does not turn off after selecting a game, I can live with that.

Thank you for your help, I will be making tests if you require.
I'll be keeping an eye on the PR too.
 

blancedd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
210
Country
Mexico
Meanwhile I'm sitting here actively preferring pixel-perfect (or 4:3 stretch for the few games that actually are designed for it) display on a reasonably modern 1080p TV. Even seeing a fancy PVM with good cables, I still don't get the appeal. Call me a retro heretic, but I love my LCDs.

If you really want 240/288p, SCART/component are the way to go over fuzzy composite or S-Video...

Unless you're doing it for nostalgia, but I have a muggy old portable plasma screen for my GameCube for that 😀
I have a Wii connected to a CRT with a component cable and using 224/240/288p on emulators, I play there sometimes for nostalgia but I prefer using the Wii U on a LCD with a CRT shader, all my game saves are on the Wii U, I can play with more controllers and if someone is using the TV I can play with the Gamepad :P
 

september796

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2015
Messages
232
Trophies
0
XP
774
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
the wifi signal/quality just makes a huge difference in load times and there is not an option to bypass it unless you remove the connection itself from the wii u config channel. This is -i think- a key feature to be implemented in RA so lower load times can be consistent.
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,253
Trophies
1
XP
5,931
Country
United Kingdom
@gblues I've had a chance to test out your Hid update :)
My PS4 Controller isn't getting recognised in Retroarch at all, just the slow glowing yellow charge light when plugged in to the WiiU.
My Mayflash Adapter crashes Retroarch if its plugged in :P (because there's no config for it?)
Is your Hid changes specifically for game controller or is it for connecting other hid devices? like Usb mice/keyboards because my Usb Keyboard is recognised and works well (dunno if it did before, I think its the first time I tried plugging in a Usb Keyboard)
My Usb Mouse isn't recognised at all.

Mayflash Adapter Crash...
20211014_004048_001.jpg
 

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2,377
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
2,186
Country
My Mayflash Adapter crashes Retroarch if its plugged in :P (because there's no config for it?)
Is your Hid changes specifically for game controller or is it for connecting other hid devices? like Usb mice/keyboards because my Usb Keyboard is recognised and works well (dunno if it did before, I think its the first time I tried plugging in a Usb Keyboard)
My Usb Mouse isn't recognised at all.

Mayflash Adapter Crash...
View attachment 279665
Keyboards have worked on RetroArch for at least a couple of years, but I'm now seeing the same crash you have there with current nightlies when I launch RetroArch with either my (wireless) USB keyboard, a Logitech K600 TV, or a Switch Pro Controller connected via USB.

As far as I know, mouses (mice?) have never been supported on RetroArch for Wii U.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ploggy

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,253
Trophies
1
XP
5,931
Country
United Kingdom
Keyboards have worked on RetroArch for at least a couple of years, but I'm now seeing the same crash you have there with current nightlies when I launch RetroArch with either my (wireless) USB keyboard, a Logitech K600 TV, or a Switch Pro Controller connected via USB.

As far as I know, mouses (mice?) have never been supported on RetroArch for Wii U.
I'm glad it's not just me then and its not specifically related to the Mayflash Adapter :)

EDIT: ah, ok, So my Usb keyboard is throwing that error too.. It was actually Yesterday (or maybe the day before?) I tried the Usb keyboard and it worked then, something must have been added in the last couple days that messed Keyboard up.

EDIT2: Man the WiiU has some vice-grip Usb ports on the front of the Console :P I very rarely use the front ports so I didn't realise lol almost had to use my foot to brace.
 
Last edited by ploggy,
  • Like
Reactions: Vague Rant

Duxmaster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
22
Country
United Kingdom
Is anyone having issues playing certain games on Scummvm in Retroarch? For some reason Toonstruck doesn't load (black screen) and tried Broken Sword 1 which works but the sound keeping breaking. I have Scummvm on Vwii and both games play fine. I prefer Retroarch as I mainly play on the gamepad and like the touch screen controls. Is there any way to fix this?
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
11,334
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
6,288
Country
Portugal
the one posted several pages back, yes
while it has a "dynarec" it still cant run most games at full speed, its a badly optimized dynarec and emulator overal, that is probably compared to an alpha release at best that was abandoned after like 2 weeks so i dont see anyone ever finishing it sadly.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Man I wanna go to prison there.....