Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

Takatoon

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
99
Country
Spain
Is anyone else experiencing slowdowns with turbografx CD games? I had version 1.8.9 and they worked just fine, but after updating to 1.9.9 the audio stutter and the games run slower.

Just tested "castlevania rondo of blood" (PC Engine CD / JAP). Runs OK with Bettle PCE FAST core. Only an inital slowdown because retroachievements are activated on my setup.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tmnr1992

tmnr1992

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
202
Trophies
0
XP
1,124
Country
United States
Just tested "castlevania rondo of blood" (PC Engine CD / JAP). Runs OK with Bettle PCE FAST core. Only an inital slowdown because retroachievements are activated on my setup.

I think I was using the normal core, tried the FAST core and all games run fine, now I'm getting very slow load times when I have 2 HDDs plugged at the same time, but I don't know if that is something that can be fixed other than removing one HDD before loading Retroarch.
 

xva

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
16
Country
Germany
First post states
If using CBHC, make sure to read the thread carefully before installing!
, however CTRL+F'ng for CBHC on the first 20 pages yields nothing, so what is this about pls?
 

20100

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
71
Country
France
First post states , however CTRL+F'ng for CBHC on the first 20 pages yields nothing, so what is this about pls?

Maybe it's just about the "potential danger" of installing CBHC on a WiiU... Nothing to deal with RA.
I use Retroarch on a WiiU with CBHC and it works like a charm
 
  • Like
Reactions: xva

xva

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
16
Country
Germany
Maybe it's just about the "potential danger" of installing CBHC on a WiiU... Nothing to deal with RA.
I use Retroarch on a WiiU with CBHC and it works like a charm
That's a relief, thanks. Totally not interested in digging through 600+ pages if it ain't needed :)
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,101
Trophies
1
XP
5,601
Country
United Kingdom
Hey folks, Gblues has fixed the analog issues with HID Controllers :)
https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/commit/78858a9474eefd49282691286c4f520315b9fd98

== DETAILS

File this one under "I'm not sure how this ever worked."

I mean, it did (in 1.8.8). I'm not sure what changed, but ultimately what I did was
a bunch of comparative testing against 1.8.8:

- I confirmed the packet data was still being read successfully
- I confirmed that the axis value being passed into pad->get_axis() had
not changed
- I confirmed the work done in `gamepad_read_axis_data()` was working the same
between 1.8.8 and master

With the only difference between 1.8.8 and current being the return value from
`gamepad_read_axis_data()`, I just rewrote the method to work properly, and
also fixed up the default axis mapping.

I tested this with a sixaxis controller and GCA, configuring the analog-to-digital
control override to use the right stick.
 

PikalexNL

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
Netherlands
The RetroArch channel forwarder for Wii U doesn't work for me :unsure:
Launching it with CFW (Mocka) enabled results in a black screen. However, launching RetroArch from the Homebrew Launcher works just fine. I tried the channel forwarder from USB-Helper and the download in this thread.. Neither work.
Anyone knows a fix or a suggestion? Thanks.
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,101
Trophies
1
XP
5,601
Country
United Kingdom

XDeltaOne

Have a good time ;)
Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
250
Trophies
0
XP
622
Country
Germany
Sup guys :)
@GaryOderNichts just released an awesome app that allows you to pair Bluetooth Controllers from other Consoles to WiiU :)
I just paired my Switch Controller to WiiU and it works perfectly on Retroarch!!
(just remember if you want to use your new Controller to navigate the RA UI you need to turn off the WiiU Gamepad before launching Retroarch) ;)

https://gbatemp.net/threads/bloopai...-other-consoles-natively.594289/#post-9581653
Hey how can you turn off the gamepad beforehand without the wii u turning off?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is it possible to create autoboot channels for roms and run it with Retroarch?
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,101
Trophies
1
XP
5,601
Country
United Kingdom
Hey how can you turn off the gamepad beforehand without the wii u turning off?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is it possible to create autoboot channels for roms and run it with Retroarch?
I just take the WiiU gamepad out of range from the Console until it loses sync then power off the gamepad :P


About the autoboot Channels for roms.... not yet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XDeltaOne
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SG854 @ SG854: The comedians are going to have a field day with this