Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

Takatoon

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
99
Country
Spain
Is anyone else experiencing slowdowns with turbografx CD games? I had version 1.8.9 and they worked just fine, but after updating to 1.9.9 the audio stutter and the games run slower.

Just tested "castlevania rondo of blood" (PC Engine CD / JAP). Runs OK with Bettle PCE FAST core. Only an inital slowdown because retroachievements are activated on my setup.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tmnr1992

tmnr1992

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
201
Trophies
0
XP
1,117
Country
United States
Just tested "castlevania rondo of blood" (PC Engine CD / JAP). Runs OK with Bettle PCE FAST core. Only an inital slowdown because retroachievements are activated on my setup.

I think I was using the normal core, tried the FAST core and all games run fine, now I'm getting very slow load times when I have 2 HDDs plugged at the same time, but I don't know if that is something that can be fixed other than removing one HDD before loading Retroarch.
 

xva

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
16
Country
Germany
First post states
If using CBHC, make sure to read the thread carefully before installing!
, however CTRL+F'ng for CBHC on the first 20 pages yields nothing, so what is this about pls?
 

20100

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
71
Country
France
First post states , however CTRL+F'ng for CBHC on the first 20 pages yields nothing, so what is this about pls?

Maybe it's just about the "potential danger" of installing CBHC on a WiiU... Nothing to deal with RA.
I use Retroarch on a WiiU with CBHC and it works like a charm
 
  • Like
Reactions: xva

xva

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
16
Country
Germany
Maybe it's just about the "potential danger" of installing CBHC on a WiiU... Nothing to deal with RA.
I use Retroarch on a WiiU with CBHC and it works like a charm
That's a relief, thanks. Totally not interested in digging through 600+ pages if it ain't needed :)
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,081
Trophies
1
XP
5,572
Country
United Kingdom
Hey folks, Gblues has fixed the analog issues with HID Controllers :)
https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/commit/78858a9474eefd49282691286c4f520315b9fd98

== DETAILS

File this one under "I'm not sure how this ever worked."

I mean, it did (in 1.8.8). I'm not sure what changed, but ultimately what I did was
a bunch of comparative testing against 1.8.8:

- I confirmed the packet data was still being read successfully
- I confirmed that the axis value being passed into pad->get_axis() had
not changed
- I confirmed the work done in `gamepad_read_axis_data()` was working the same
between 1.8.8 and master

With the only difference between 1.8.8 and current being the return value from
`gamepad_read_axis_data()`, I just rewrote the method to work properly, and
also fixed up the default axis mapping.

I tested this with a sixaxis controller and GCA, configuring the analog-to-digital
control override to use the right stick.
 

PikalexNL

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
Netherlands
The RetroArch channel forwarder for Wii U doesn't work for me :unsure:
Launching it with CFW (Mocka) enabled results in a black screen. However, launching RetroArch from the Homebrew Launcher works just fine. I tried the channel forwarder from USB-Helper and the download in this thread.. Neither work.
Anyone knows a fix or a suggestion? Thanks.
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,081
Trophies
1
XP
5,572
Country
United Kingdom

XDeltaOne

Have a good time ;)
Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
250
Trophies
0
XP
622
Country
Germany
Sup guys :)
@GaryOderNichts just released an awesome app that allows you to pair Bluetooth Controllers from other Consoles to WiiU :)
I just paired my Switch Controller to WiiU and it works perfectly on Retroarch!!
(just remember if you want to use your new Controller to navigate the RA UI you need to turn off the WiiU Gamepad before launching Retroarch) ;)

https://gbatemp.net/threads/bloopai...-other-consoles-natively.594289/#post-9581653
Hey how can you turn off the gamepad beforehand without the wii u turning off?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is it possible to create autoboot channels for roms and run it with Retroarch?
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,081
Trophies
1
XP
5,572
Country
United Kingdom
Hey how can you turn off the gamepad beforehand without the wii u turning off?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is it possible to create autoboot channels for roms and run it with Retroarch?
I just take the WiiU gamepad out of range from the Console until it loses sync then power off the gamepad :P


About the autoboot Channels for roms.... not yet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XDeltaOne
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah honestly i hate how the only two switch theme options are blinding holy light of god or grey
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    Kill eyes OR bore eyes to death
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker
    Gift
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker